We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you don't love seafood..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chen Rio

Ranked #106 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Soda Springs, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“If you don't love seafood..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Don't go to Chen Rio. The only non seafood option was chicken fajitas, and mine were over the top with lime. My husband on the other hand loved this place and their delicious fish and shrimp. Great feel and views-great for the seafood lover.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    69
    36
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
224 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Spendy food for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stopped at Chen Rio for lunch and had the fish, which was fine, but overpriced and not as good as the fish at Secrets Aura. We skipped going to coconuts as we had locals tell us the food at Chen Rio was better. Beach there was nice, good view, soft sand, volleyball net. Kite-boarders where out in the bay,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Koalatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely view, enjoyed the ceviche, fried fish and margaritas! I know some reviewers were not that happy with pricing and they may have a point. That said we had a lovely couple of hours here and would gladly have spent longer if the water was not so rough on the day. Beach is only a few feet from the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Expensive, food ok. Great view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had shrimp fajitas this week at our 4th and last trip to Chen Rio. Very very expensive and food not as good as previous years. Our bill was $40 for 1 order of shrimp fajitas, 2 beers and 1 coke lite. Someone's gonna be out of business! Too bad because the view is beautiful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank soho204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ka-Ching Chen Rio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Chen Rio is a great spot, but you'll go broke in a hurry if you want to eat or drink much. The setting is beautiful on the east side of the island. The food was only ok on the day we visited. I was here two years ago and I will say a lot has changed in terms of quality in that time. I had the grilled shrimp with butter and my parents had the conch salad. The Conch salad was served with chips and was a generous portion and was pretty tasty. The shrimp was served at room temperature, which worried me, had no flavor, and was dry, not dripping in butter as I imagined. The guacamole and pico that we had as appetizers were both very good, but beware, they're 'sold separately' and you need to check the menu prices. I think chips and pico were around $7 and the guac was another $9. For those 'two' appetizers, two 'meals,' 4 beers ($4.50 each), and 2 margaritas our tab came to just over $100 before the tip. For the quality of the food and service, this was way overpriced. Chen Rio was busy and the waiters were few and far between. A nice place to stop and see the ocean, but pass on the mediocre food, and only buy a drink if you're feeling extra generous that day!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank citygirlstuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chen Rio also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Chen Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing