We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a broker. Crew and Ship had no info of our plans when we arrived.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cozumel Charters

Cozumel Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cozumel Charters is proud to be the #1 fishing charter in Cozumel and the Riviera Maya. We offer all-inclusive deep sea fishing, bottom fishing, and fly fishing trips in both Cozumel and Playa del Carmen, as well as private snorkeling trips to Cozumel's great coral reefs. We have a full range of boats ranging from economy budget trips to luxurious motor yachts to fit all budgets and group sizes. We welcome cruise passengers as well as hotel guests and local residents on all of our trips. Beer, snacks, lunch (on full day trips), cleaning and filleting, fishing license, all tackle and expert captain and crew are always included, free of charge. Let us show you the customer service that has made us famous during your vacation in Cozumel or the Riviera Maya.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Just a broker. Crew and Ship had no info of our plans when we arrived.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nothing was as promised when we arrived at the dock. The crew and captain had no information as to what we had booked and desired on our trip. Avoid this Broker.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hola Amigo,

If by “just a broker” you mean professional charter company, then I guess that is correct. We do not own many of the boats in our service, they are owned mostly by absentee owners who lease their boats for charter when they are off the island. We provide first-rate professional crews and operate the charters ourselves, the owner is not involved at all, and if contacted directly would only refer you to us to handle your charter. This is no different than any other charter company. Clearly this is intended to be some kind of derogatory remark, but the reasoning behind it is just as confusing as the rest of this review.

You arrived at the marina early that day, before our dock manager had arrived to line out the crew on the day’s activities. Before the scheduled charter time, our dock manager arrived, informed the crew of what your interests were and they promptly loaded and stocked the boat with the proper gear. You left the marina on time, did a full 6 hours of bottom fishing and snorkeling – exactly what you had booked – and returned to the marina on time. This is how a professional charter is run, and you enjoyed your crew’s performance so much that you gave them a whopping $240.00 tip for their efforts. It seems like we did everything right on this day, and clearly from the size of the tip you enjoyed yourself, so we are totally stumped by this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    44
    15
    10
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, MI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cozumel Charters - Good Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went out for "try all 3" Windy day, waters rough. Not good for bottom fishing so we did deep sea fishing. Did a little snorkeling too! Had a great time. We will do it again! Manuel and Jorge were great hosts! Plenty of water, soda, beer and food! We were smiling the entire time. Had one good catch . Mahi Mahi. They took us to Margaritaville and we had one of the best lunches ever! Fresh Mahi Mahi... there is no comparison. THANK YOU Cozumel Charters! If I had to offer one thing that could be done better. It would be better signage at the cozumel pier. No one seemed to know where to tell us to go and we looked and looked for a sign.... finally found the boat and it was nothing but smiles and fun from there! The price was VERY reasonable (Way cheaper and more fun than a "shore excursion" charter from the ship)! When we go back to Cozumel or Cancun we will be hiring this Charter company again! Thank you for the wonderful memories!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello Tish W -

I want to thank you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor. What a great forum and a really easy way to share experiences with other travelers...we appreciate your efforts very much.

Manny (Manuel) told me of your mahi-mahi catch. I believe he was about as happy over that as you because that species is not really in season yet, so unexpected. I agree, there is no better eating than your own fresh caught Dorado (mahi-mahi is called in here is Mexico).

We are pleased to hear you were "smiles" all day; our main objective is to always have happy fishermen. We cannot always guarantee Mother Nature will cooperate and that fish will be caught on every charter, but we work hard for that.

It is too bad that local politics will not allow signage at the marinas, so we generally have a map to a meeting point where you should find a member of your crew waiting for you. Good news is we are about to open the new marina in Cozumel. While I don't expect any change in rules about signage, we will have better receiving facilities and should be easier for everyone to find.

Thank you for choosing Cozumel Charters. If you are in Cancun, we go by the name Cancun Fishing, so be sure to find us. In the Riviera Maya we use the same Cozumel Charters name, so that will be easy for you to remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun for the whole family (as long as the marina is open)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have used this company in the past for our family to go snorkeling in the protected park. It was amazing, everyone had a great time, the stop at the beach was wonderful and I could not say anything negative about the experience.

We booked again for December 21, paid in full when we booked (in october) and were excited for another great day. Unfortunately the ocean did not cooperate and the marina could not open. No marina...no excursion. This would have been fine had we received a refund "promptly" but all we have gotten for the past 3 and a half weeks is excuses as to why we can't be refunded yet.

I understand that it is the "holidays", I understand "people on vacation". I am posting this because I saw another review where they had the same problem and specifically because the response to that reviewer from the company was rude and condescending.

I would NOT have paid in full had I noticed it before. Three weeks is not an unacceptable expectation for a refund, it is not "living a fast life" to expect a company to honor their own commitments in emails to have refunds set by Jan 11.

Based on that users review (check in the "terrible" section) it may be February, but I will get my money back eventually. For that reason I will leave my rating as "very good"...but it would have been excellent had they practiced better customer service...and I recommend you just pay the deposit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank d0ug1ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi folks!

First thank you for a nice post on Trip Advisor about your past experiences and reasons for your choices again. Those comments help new travelers make trip plans and select service providers, so they are valuable input to people who are looking for a new experience in Cozumel.

December 21, 2012 was a commercial disaster for the island. All the cruise terminals were full and our company had about twelve fishing charters scheduled, but Mother Nature stepped on everyone's plans. The weather was pretty bad; dangerous according to our Port Captain so all boats were restricted to staying in their marina berths; nobody got any of the activities they had planned - for that we feel badly because vacation plans get canceled and many travelers are disappointed.

Holidays would of course delay some business operations that normally click along very smoothly, but we had more than just Christmas/New Year's vacations. Our general manager of operations has had some severe medical problems and spent a lot of time in one of our local hospitals. The worst seems to be behind him, but still there will be some long-term therapy. In this case we typically turn financial matters over to the public accountant that audits the company books, but this year he spent the holidays on vacation and when he returned was swamped with end of year reports for a number of companies; further delaying the process.

You should have our company email and our toll free number is listed on the contact page of our web site. I encourage you to make another effort. We do not have a reputation of withholding customer refunds and this is probably something simple to work out. We have changed credit card processing companies (about mid September) so we do not use them for processing refunds, but our Texas bank has a "free" bill pay service, so with the right information we can order a check mailed directly from the bank to your home.

We apologize these things all seemed to have come up at one time and it was a little overwhelming, but not insurmountable. I believe it is a simple oversight coupled with business growth changes and a port closure that came on one of the busiest days of the new high season. It can surely be fixed, as you mention in your post.

We also recommend just paying the deposit on tours. Indeed our site shopping cart will only calculate the deposit and that is the only payment alternative offered the buyer. Some still call asking for instructions to pay in full for their convenience and we try to make conveniene part of our service.

We want to thank you for your kind comments about your previous experiences and apologize for the inconvenience you feel. We do not have an 11day refund schedule but we do have an 11 day limit for clients to cancel and qualify for a refund. We cannot control banks and credit card company policies, so even if we refund a deposit on the same day received at that point the matter is entirely in the hands of banks and credit card companies. Without knowing client name or more information we would be left to simply guessing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“fishingcozumel.net”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went with a local outfitter rather than the cruise line for a day of deep-sea fishing and reef snorkelling. [ Jim WIlson with Cozumel charters ] Its darn easy to get off the cruise boat and get in a taxi and then head out to Marina Caleta. [ cheap and quick ] I thought the price was quite reasonable for what we got. Nice boat with captain and mate to set up the 5 lines and then the mate is also an experienced diver so the snorkelling turned out to be the hi-lite of the trip. [ even though we caught some fish ] A great day out on the water. Would also recommend Carlos and Charlies back in Cozumel before getting back on the boat. If you cant have fun here , you have problems.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi folks! True, you can almost fall off a cruise ship and land in the south marina "Caleta" where about 80% of our service watercraft fleet is based, so the "gettin there" is usually pretty simple.

Mixing up your activities helps break-up the day. A natural part of fishing is moments of a lot of activity and usually followed by some slower action. That's a great point to take up a different activity so everybody gets some of what they want and everybody has a great time.

The underwater world that is "Cozumel" is nothing short of amazing and its a shame we have visitors who have never seen one of these extraordinary and colorful reefs. When you do, you will know that only God could have created this world.

Thank you fine people for taking time to post on Trip Advisor, one of the world's leading travel forums where travelers can advise travelers about their experiences here or there. We appreciate your kind comments. It was a real pleasure to have you folks on one of our charters and we are very pleased to know you had a very good time. Thank you for choosing Cozumel Charters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for ALL ages.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We are visiting Cozumel for a long-term trip and made our reservations directly with the captain at the Cozumel marina. Makaira Cozumel Fishing is manned by Captain Jose Castillo and his mate Luis. The captain demonstrated his capable twenty five years' expertise as he safely guided us around the northern end of Cozumel. Luis, friendly and hard-working, interacted well with our children as he gave us an enjoyable first time deep sea fishing. During our trip we saw dolphins. The captian spotted them and slowed the vessel down while our mate made sure we got a solid view. All of the children were wide-eyed, and pointing and Josiah exclained, "I can not believe we saw dolphins in the wild."
The Captain and Mate showed obvious delight in making sure our brithday boy reeled in fish. He was able to catch not only one 3ft barracuda, but seven barracudda. Josiah insisits that this is 13th birthday was the best one of his whole life. Thanks to a wonderful day given from our Lord, the expertise and family-friendly service of Captian and Mate, I can not imagine how his special day could have been any better. I highly reccomend the Makarina as a wonderful family day at the sea for any family with children who want to experience either deep-sea fishing or just to enjoy the sights and sounds and smell of being in the middle of of Cozumel's aqua blue sea.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank missionarymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post on Trip Advisor about your Cozumel charter fishing experience. We are very pleased with your clear level of satisfaction. Your appreciation of the crew's professional service is obvious and of course that gives us a great deal of pleasure. Our goal is always to have happy fishermen.

Your son's birthday sounds like one he will not soon forget. The wild dolphin bonus must have been delightful; not everyone gets to experience these sightings and they are really a great pleasure - much more so than seeing them caged for entertainment.

Looking forward to you folks returning to Cozumel soon and thank you for choosing our company as your fishing charter provider. Compliments such as yours are what we work hard to earn of course, but mostly it's a pleasure to know our guests went home well pleased.

Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozumel Charters also viewed

 

Been to Cozumel Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing