We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome relaxing and fun time ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stingray Beach

Stingray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome relaxing and fun time ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We did this tour with Carnival because it was actually cheaper through them then it was on out own. It was close to the port, didn't feel rushed and the kids aging from ages 8-22 had a blast. Truly a unique experience and for those worrisome mothers and fathers the stingrays have the barbs cut so it was perfectly safe. After the encounter with the stingrays your allowed to snorkel in deeper water as the fish and stingrays are fed . Highly recommend this tour!

Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    174
    46
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Easy tour, close to ship, no walking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a very interesting trip. Very close to ship. Well presented lecture on Stingrays. Then into the water to touch and feed them. All very interesting. Then you have plenty of time to swim in deeper water with snorkel and mask, to see dozens of very large stingrays and other tropical fish.

Pleasant bar to relax after, you have showered off. Point to note price us cheaper on the ship than going alone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cmister47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun time with the stingrays!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stingray Beach is a nice little attraction to experience the rays. After the intro and rules are set, the staff starts you out feeding them in shallow water. Be careful of the waves if they are up as you will get pushed around by them because you stand right where they break. The rays know they will be fed at this point and swarm around you. The larger ones may knock you around some as they swim by your legs. You also have to watch out for the many fish and occasional pelican, as they know it's feeding time too and will readily attack the food in your hand. You then move out a little deeper and the handlers tell you more about the rays, which is very educational. At this point you hold them - the larger female and smaller male - for various pictures. You then come back ashore and go out the pier to a little deeper water (the area is fenced in) and snorkel around with the rays and other fish. The stingrays will generally be at the bottom 15-20' down, but you can observe them quite nicely swimming about below you. The guide will probably have some food to attract a few of them up towards the surface. They are fun sea creatures to experience and the place seems to do a good job at assisting the species continue to thrive as they nurture and then release the young back into the wild (before they become used to human feeding). There is food available at the location. There are showers to change into clothes after if you desire. At the beginning, they give you a net bag to gather up all your personal items and place in the bag. You get a matching tag to ID your bag which they secure while your in the water. Overall it's a fun experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank smckowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfortunate Circumstances”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Stingray experience started out good, but a wind storm developed and it got quite rough. My sister and I realize that the weather is unpredictable, and the company is not to blame for it, however, when the wind storm started to get bad, we were not informed that this was a normal occurrence and to not panic, we didn't know is a hurricane was developing or not. As a result, we were forced out of the water early. So our snorkeling was cut short, and when we had to leave the water, we were left to do so on out own. Our guides had disappeared and we were left to find our way off the dock and the beach by ourselves. There was no instruction and what to do or where to go. We were quite scared, as everyone just scattered. When we did find our way to our hostess, she wasn't sure about what to do either. She did get us into a taxi and we when back to our ship. Unfortunately we didn't get to finish our tour or get a chance to view or purchase the pictures that were take of our visit. Again, the storm was not their fault, but we felt alone and neglected - very unprofessional. If not for the storm, I'm sure it would have been a nice experience. P.S. We were able to purchase our pictures online from the company.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Overall enjoyable outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Overall the experience was good but it definitely could have been more comprehensive. I understand they were there to make money but too much of the experience revolved around holding sting rays for them to take bad pictures and sell to us. I have always wanted to swim with sting rays and I definitely enjoyed the opportunity, especially since the string rays had their barbs removed. The staff did a good job explaining things and were very humorous.

The experience took place in a fenced in area of water and was broken into 3 separate parts. The first part was an educational session where we sat around and learned about sting rays. The second part consisted of feeding sting rays and taking pictures with them in shallow water. Too much time was spent on this section without getting much out of it. The third part was snorkeling with sting rays in deeper water which was really cool.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stingray Beach also viewed

 

Been to Stingray Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing