We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and laid back”
Review of Toro's Place

Toro's Place
Ranked #303 of 374 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and laid back”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hmm lets see....19.00 for a beef burrito at Senor Frogs or 8.00 here....My wife and I came here after being pestered by every vendor in Cozumel. Place was empty , but food was great, beer was cheap and server and staff were friendly....Looking forward to going again next time we are there!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    17
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent bu inconsistent”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The first time we ate here, we were delighted with excellent service, and the best Banana Daiquiri I have ever had in my life. The view was great, and looked over the water. The food was average. The next day we went for drinks hoping to get the same experience. However, the drinks were just average, and we were overcharged.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liv2trl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must Eat Here”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Toro's is a great way to experience Cozumel. On the ocean front down town San Miguel. Head downtown for dinner and while sitting upstairs, taking in the Cruise Ships, Pirate Ship, and downtown activity, you will enjoy a great dinner and drink, while having the perfect view for the sunset.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank StephenieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks Toro!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great food (especially Toro's shrimp, best we have ever had!), great service and wonderful view of the Cozumel nightlife.

Helpful?
Thank TimEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We've been going to Cozumel for many years and had enjoyed Toro's Place in the past. Last year we tried it twice and were disappointed both times with bland guacamole and food that was only luke warm. Because it has a nice view, we decided to try it again this year, but we had the same disappointing experience. At least this year the waiter didn't try to overcharge us for our meal. Note that you will not receive a "bill" at Toro's, but a number written on a piece of paper, so unless you've been keeping track of your costs, or you ask to check the menu, you might very well be over-charged.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro's Place also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Toro's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing