We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Resort”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
A TripAdvisor Member
Conroe, Texas
13
Reviewed July 19, 2004

We were there 7/12-7/15/04. Aside from the afternoon thunderstorms had a great time. Most every review I read had accurate and useful information. If you get there early on check in day don't expect your room to be ready, unless you give the desk clerk a twenty - then they'll be able to find you something. The staff were great and don't miss the shows every night. The reservation policy and dress code is a royal pain - no one who stays there is happy with it. Rent a jeep and drive around the island. If you've never visited the ruins then consider doing that but don't expect a whole lot. Best places we like to eat in town - Pepe's Grill (get a window table for the sunset), Lobster House and Casa Mission (located at Benito Juarez and 55th). They have some really pretty grounds and an interesting menagerie to visit while you wait for your food.
We wouldn't rule out staying at Allegro again but will probably look for something different next time. If you are planning to fish I'd use the hotel service for this. Had a bad experience with an independent I booked online, never showed up.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,638 - 3,644 of 4,827 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Pearland, TX
12
Reviewed July 18, 2004

I was there 7/12/04 thru 7/16/04. Most of the reviews I've read (after I booked the trip) here were correct. Therefore; I came not expecting much, and that was good. Lets start from the beginning. We got there at about 11:00 am. Check in time was 3:00 pm, but they gave us our room keys and towel cards (you got to trade in the cards to get the towel and vice versa). The keys had the room number engraved on it, and on a shoestring to hang on your neck. Interesting time warp to the past, but I didn't mind. I wear my keys in the water, and look at it when I forgot the room number. I actually prefered this over the newer card entry. Now the rest of the story.

The Hotel Grounds: Well kept, okay, nothing too spectecular or "Kodak" moments.

The Smell: Yes, the smell of raw sewage is more pronounced near the reception building (open air, no A/C), it fades as you move toward the far end which is the beach. We were orinally assigned the 1xxx series room, but asked for 5xxx series later and that was good. The smell is noticeable, but not pungent.

The Room: One of these reviews said it looked like Motel 6. I agreed. It does look like Motel 6, well used but they kept it clean if that will help you. The mattress was hard, and someone had mentioned that also. The room and bathroom were small. We stayed on the 2nd floor, and yes you can hear people coughing, but luckily, our neighbors weren't noisy or partiers so we were okay. The room had cheap horizontal blinds, not draperies.

The Food: The food was okay buffet style. We didn't reserve (24 hours needed) for restaurant style. I wish they had A/C while eating. I didn't like eating and sweating at the same time. The ice machine seems to never work. It takes forever to spit out an ice cube.

The Pool: Old and worn out, the top coat can be seen coming off in patches.

The Beach: Best on the island!!! Beatiful clear water with very little waves.

THE VERDICT: I wouldn't go back there again. If I want to dive and snorkel, I would just stay in the Playa del Carmen area and ferry over (9 bucks).

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
1
Reviewed July 17, 2004

Beach was GREAT-- crystal clear water, lots of fish. We went on a snorkeling excursion with Dive Palancar, which was fun. Rooms are nice for a third world country, depending on where you stay (get a remodelled room if your can). Numbers 4000-5000 are away from septic tank. We had a nice room- AC worked well, but wasn't able to keep the room any less humid-- our stuff stayed damp all week. We tipped the waiters/bartenders the first four days, but it didn't seem to make much difference in the service we got. Buffet waiters hardly ever came to our table, but we didn't really need them anyway. Tip the maid $5-- it's worth it to see what she does with the towel art. Buffet was fine, Mexican restaraunt was fine, but the Italian place is the best (just make sure you bring long pants to wear, guys-- there's a dress code for men). Book at least two days in advance for a decent time-- we had to eat at 8 pm.

We weren't aware that this was a "family" resort until after we booked-- lots of kids, and there was always one or two throwing tantrums (not what you want to hear while enjoying your drink by the beach). If you have kids, you're probably used to that, though. There's lots of kids-oriented stuff.

Juan Angel at Club Guest Services (we came with RCI) was completely useless. We tipped him $20 when we checked in, and he never lifted a finger all week. He didn't even remember us. The rest of the staff, however, was great.

Just FYI-- whenever you see the word "seafood" on a menu or on the buffet, it basically means "diced octopus mixed with other stuff."

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
13
Reviewed July 15, 2004

Loved the hotel, programs & staff were great.
Dive Palancar was a *dreadful* operation. All experienced divers in the know were picked up by different dive operations from the hotel's dock. Save yourself the grief of overcrowded dive sites, and uninterested dive masters - find another operator!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
11
Reviewed July 15, 2004

Our trip was July 2nd thru July 5th. I thought it was a great place! We were there with two 14 year olds, and they had a great time. I read some of the reviews before we left and was kind of worried. I took air freshener and bug spray and didn't need either of them. The staff was great and always trying to please the guests, we tipped upon arrival at the front desk and got a room on the bottom floor near the pool. We always tipped the wait staff and the maid, these people are very poor and they do a great job - show your gratitude. There was always plenty of good food and drinks. The pork chops and kabobs that are grilled near the pool bar are excellent!
The hotel grounds and beach are beautiful.
The rooms are small, but I wasn't there to stay in my room, so it wasn't a problem. The only complaint I have is that the bed was hard, it is a mattress on a brick platform.
I am looking forward to returning to Cozumel and I will definatley book the Allegro again.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
CA
19
Reviewed July 14, 2004

We just returned yesterday from my 11th visit over the past 19 years to various beach destinations in Mexico. It was the first visit to an all inclusive. It was also the first time with our kids, ages 2, 5, and 7. We chose all inclusive for the sake of the kids. We made the right decision. My husband and I do not think any "family" vacation can get any better than this one. Each of us had a terrific vacation!
Rooms:
The rooms, even for Mexico were very well worn- lamp shades rusted, entertainment cabinet varnish flaking off, grout in bathrooms regrouted and regrounted with out removing the old first. The humidity plays a huge role in wear and tear and that is understandable, but it is time to refurbish. Bedspreads were new. We did not feel the rooms were too small. They were typical size for Mexico. Of most importance to us is cleaniness and they were clean. As a recommendation from others on this website, we tipped $40 upon check in and received ground level right by the pool- perfect- my husband felt the tip made a big difference in location of our room. I rate rooms at a 2 star.

Staff:
I love the natural culture of Mexico. It is slow, relaxed, pleasant and patient. The all inclusive has succombed to the expectations and demands of Americans who want things done perfect and in an instant. The staff must be unculturally at full attention at all times to wait on our every need and this has caused a very tiny number of staff to become discontent with touristis. I felt that overall, staff was very kind, but stressed and I felt ashamed that we have brought this upon them.

Grounds:
Beautiful, spectacular. Wonderful pools and beach. This is where we spent our time so the rooms became secondary. If I rated the resort on Grounds it would be 5 star.

Food:
What a huge variety. We could not complain. There was American fare at every meal which was perfect for the kids. My husband and I missed traditional and spicy mexican food, but we understood this is how they have to do it for the clientele they are geared towards. Good part about this is no one was sick or having to stay near a potty.

Entertainment:
Fabulous and Fun. As others have said, the staff works VERY hard! We didn't miss a night of it. (5 nights)

Time share offerings:
Due to the condition of the rooms, my husband went to the see the Grand Allegro. He did not go with time share staff. He taxied in (they are gated at entry) for $5. He bypassed time share staff who didn't really like him doing that, one commented that he would be unable to tour the grounds alone. However, he walked to the front desk and asked to see the rooms and tour the grounds on his own. They were more than happy to do this for him, gave him a pass and a key. He wondered alone and he said the rooms are absolutely georgeous, but the layout makes it a long walk to the beach. The beach is very narrow...maybe 30 feet deep. He said he would not stay there due to the small sized pools and narrowness of the beach. He felt is was great for honeymooners.

Misc Comments:
My daughter got her hair braided for $14 in town. It was $40 at the hotel for what my daughter had done and $60 for a full head. Partial head was enough as removal of the braids is very time consuming.
I took Glade oil plug ins since I read of the smell on this webiste before the trip. We did not need them, but they made the room very refreshing to walk into. I haver never made a trip to Mexico and not smelled sulfer and sewage. It's not that bad...nor that great, but it's not worth mention in my opinion. For the sake of wonderment, it is worse on the right side of the resort than the left (if you are facing the ocean).
The toilets are the same there as anywhere in Mexico. There is a sticker on the lids that request not flushing paper down them. They back up easily and we honored the request. I had packed stick ups air freshners for the trash cans.
I was concerned about mosquitos since the flood a month ago. We took Deep Woods Off for our bodies/clothes and 100% Deet for our ankles and shoes. I had 1 bite, my daughter 2, my sons and husband had none. It was due to using the repellent though. I had also sprayed our chairs and concrete around us during the shows. I saw some well bitten feet and legs around.
We tipped many individuals including maids, juice bar attendant, pasta server, waiters and bar tenders. They are ever so appreciative. In regards to the bar you will never wait in line for a drink and will never go empty once they learn you tip to be kind- not with expectations attached. Service will be good even if you do not tip, but we have so much as Americans...why not share a little?
If we go as a family to Cozumel again we would stay at the Occidental Allegro, but as a couple we'd chose the Fiesta Americana or El Presidente- due to location and previous stays with Fiesta Americana. We viewed many hotels on the shuttle stops from the airport to the hotel. The El Presidente looked very nice.
The shuttle from the airport to the hotel is mandatory and expensive. The drivers are paid based on number of people delivered so they fit as many as possible into the van. You will be very cozy! Sit back and relax though. It's nice to see other hotels and you don't have a choice. Non governement taxis are not allowed to transport tourists from the airport. You can take one back though.
Also, when looking to board the shuttle, you can bypass the sales people and go straight to the window on the left side of the room after departing baggage claim area to purchase your shuttle ride. You'll be off in a jiffy. However if you have never been to Mexico the sales/what to do presentations might interest you.
Least expensive place to purchase alcohol is the large grocery store near the movie theatre on the strip leaving town to beach front hotels. I don't recall the exact name, but it was something like Chapule. If you are brave enough to rent a buggy, it's worth stopping at this store for your snacks- very inexpensive but local so don't expect them to speak much english.
Have a wonderful trip!

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Paul, MN
16
Reviewed July 6, 2004

We've seen bad reviews on foreign hotels so we weren't too concerned and we were not too surprised to find that the resort is more than acceptable. Sure the rooms are a bit small, but unless you're unhealthily obese, you shouldn't have any complaints. Do tip - all-inclusive doesn't mean that gratuities are included. Staff ARE courteous but a tip here and there helps speedier service. Besides, people in service industry depend on tips! We did notice mild sewage smell here and there on the grounds but not so much to make a complaint. Beach is wonderful. Time-share recruiters ARE deceitful - they tell you that they work for Allegro and just want to take you over to Occidental, a sister hotel, so you can check it out, have breakfast, get free t-shirts, discounted car rental. We didn't even know we were on a time-share sales pitch until our guide told us that we'd be talking to her boss about pricing. (We had been interested before so we did end up buying BUT didn't appreciate the deception.) So if you're not interested, don't follow these "guides" to the hotel next door! Food wasn't the best but it wasn't the worst. It's about what you'd expect for the price. We ate at the Mexican restaurant - excellent! We didn't eat at the Italian restaurant since our hometown has plenty of outstanding Italian restaurants so why bother? Allegro, we're told, will be upgraded to a five star resort soon as Occidental is now the owner of Allegros. One difference we noticed between Occidental and Allegro is the quality of guests - apparently June is the cheap month for Texans to visit Mexico. No offense to all the nice Texans out there, but a majority of people staying at Allegro while we were there (6/2-6/8) were very loud, rude, and obnoxious Texans. I heard one drunk Texan woman boast, "When I'm drunk, I drive like these people" while pointing at the local servers. Then I heard another Texan yell out, "Speak American" to one of the staff entertainers when she was explaining the show in both English and Spanish. How did we know they're Texans? They were pretty proud of being Texans and let others know. Another Texan and his wife were emulating --------- to the evening entertainment music, thinking they were being witty. So, Allegro was quite acceptable - we're going to avoid the cheap months only to avoid trashy Texans. Apologies to the decent folks in Texas - it's just that your state's not-so desirable residents happened to be at the resort. Hopefully the majority of Texans are not like them!
Allegro (and Occidental) is far away from downtown. So it's more ideal for people with children, who're there mostly for the beach and are willing to rent a car to visit other parts of the island. If you're looking to walk around downtown at night, shop, find parties, etc.., then you may want to pick a hotel closer to downtown. Oh, and make sure you bring plenty of cash and/or traveler's checks. We figured some places will accept credit card so we brought moderate amount of cash - ran out because all our transactions were cash only. There is an ATM in Allegro.
All in all, we don't regret having booked at Allegro.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
9 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 53 in Cozumel
5,162 reviews
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
13.2 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $147 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing