We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

A very good travel experience was the hotel Allegro. Nice Clean rooms with spatios beds.
Good restaurants with a varaity of Foods. Friendly staff who would go the extra mile tom fullfill our needs. The distance to cozumel city was compensated with the great number of taxis which transported you for a reasonble price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    1,392
    756
    427
    326
See reviews for
1,361
1,242
96
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Two Rivers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just returned from Allegro Cozumel and we had a wonderful time. There was always something going on. Yoga classes, pool exercise, pool and beach volleyball, free snorkling lessons, movies at night and that just names a few of the events. The staff was exceptional and friendly. I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just returned tonight from Allegro Cozumel. Couldn't wait to get home and review this resort because I went there worried after all the negative reviews I read and agree with most of them. This resort is at the most a 3 star resort. We chose it for a family vacation because we got a great deal on it from a Groupon Getaway and stayed 3 years ago at the Occidental Grand next door. We knew what we were getting into when we booked it but decided who cares the beach is the best on the island and we love the quiet south end of the island and we love Cozumel. We were a family of 4 (kid's: 18 and 12). We booked 2 rooms to share. The rooms are very small and I don't know how a family with small kids or more than 2 could stand being in that room together. The beds are so hard and uncomfortable even for me who sleeps in a hard bed at home. The pillows are worse than the mattresses. Our room was on the upper level which we liked for the view of pool and ocean but I would never again stay in a resort with rooms that have a "thatched roof" for a ceiling. It had a smell, allowed every noise into the room from the outside and felt unsanitary in a creepy way. You don't spend a lot of time in your room at these resorts but the time you do spend sleeping should feel comfortable and these rooms are far from comfortable. My other huge negative on this resort is the food. It is terrible! They cater to quantity and not quality. They want you to eat at the buffet and limit the availability to the "reservation only" restaurants because it's cheaper for them to feed everyone at a buffet and it shows. You can only eat at the "nice" restaurants 2 times in a 7 night stay which doesn't matter because the food is so bad you don't look forward to dinner or lunch or breakfast. We ate out at night for dinner 5 out of 7 nights and lunch 5 out of 7 days. We had fabulous meals out in town and at local beach bars. The staff is great in every area and Antonio is the nicest, hardest working greeter/bellman you will ever find anywhere. My husband and 12 year old son both developed ear problems as a result of scuba diving and had to see the resort doctor Franscisco who was the nicest man and went out of his way to help my husband and son recover so they could continue their diving and fly home comfortably. He was attentive to their every need and it didn't cost a fortune. The grounds are maintained well but the entire resort is in dire need of updating. Wifi in the resort is spotty and you are required to pay for it (which I expected) however, you can't get it in your room. Wifi only works in lobby and main snack bar at the activity pool. So, if you are in need of wifi while on vacation you can only access it in those common area's or if you get a room near the activity pool. Fortunately we had a room right next to the activity pool so we were able to get it on our balcony. The beach here is beautiful and we enjoyed it every day. The island is awesome and we continue to go back again for the scuba diving but will never stay at Allegro Cozumel again because of the beds, food, and wifi

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room and don't mind the noise from the activity pool bar/restaurant sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place was fantastic. They had different activites daily, a show every evening. They food was good. I only was able to eat at one of the two a la cartes, which was the oriental, and was surprisingly really tasty. The staff are fantastic fun and helpful. Great beach, great for families as they have a daycare. They have three pools and one is adults only, with the swim up bar. I loved it and will go back. I never go anywhere twice...:)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaphneTorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Pros:
The staff work hard and are always happy to help you any way they can.
Grounds are well maintained.
Bartenders are good at what they do, but there's always a line.
Food is good. Not stellar, but good.
This is a great resort for families or divers (or any combination thereof). There aren't really any people who have come just to party.
Rooms are cleaned very well. Great service.
The beach is amazing. Could use a few more umbrellas.
The pools. There is a great splash park for the kids, as well as (at least) three other pools.
Cons:
The beds. Like sleeping on a slab of granite. Ask for the mattress pad when you check in. Don't even waste the trip to your room to check it out.
The cost of the internet. $80 USD for a week, no access in rooms.
The sewage smell. Sometimes it was there, sometimes it wasn't. For a couple of days it was in the tap water in the rooms.
Musty smell in rooms. They are old rooms. They are NOT soundproof. Not even a little bit. If you want to hear every activity or conversation your neighbors have (or want them to hear yours), this is the place. If not, you're not going to be happy. Make sure you stay far from the disco, though it does shut down pretty early.
The hot tub. It wasn't hot. Ever. (though this is Cozumel, hot tub not necessary).
The on site dive shop. Cattle boat operator, not sure how they're a PADI 5 star. Find another operator, they will pick you up on the dock at the hotel. Solves that problem in a hurry.

The bottom line: Pay attention to what you're getting. I don't know what you're paying for your vacation, but we felt we did well for the money we spent.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the disco. The closer to the beach, the better you will sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Allegro Cozumel is a great location, amazing white sand and beach. I found some of the front desk staff terrible to deal with. we had little biting fire ants in our bed for 3 days, I told staff and was told they weren't ants and that it was coming from the roof since it was made from some sort of leaf. after being bitten and kept up most of the night for 3 nights I finally caught them to show staff exactly what I was dealing with, she dismissed them as ants n said it was dirt, I pointed out they were crawling in the bottle and it was ants and not dirt. I had another staff member look and he immediately said they were ants and had our room sprayed keeping the ants away for the remaining of our stay. the drink service was good depending on what time of day you were eating. the food is not great but edible, if you don't like different types of food there was some limited American types of food available. we did some extra activities and were not informed of the extra fees after we had already paid for the activities such as the tequila tour we paid 100$ for the tour but still had to pay an additional 20$ a person for entrance fees, we paid for snorkling and had an additional fee added on after we paid 45$ a person to get on the boat. if you want to do anything extra inquire about extra fees on top of your said fee. other than that the resort was great, the location was amazing, and the people were very friendly

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanessa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here the last week of February with another couple and came home happy and relaxed! What more could you ask from a vacation.....

Check-In was painfully slow, but none the less, we both had rooms, one in a lower unit, the other in the upper unit. DEFINITELY the upper unit was more desirable. The thached roof with the hammock swingning under it, the raised ceiling inside the room, made for a more private and spacious environment. When we would meet up for a drink before dinner we would do so on the upper unit balcony. Also you could hang your wet clothes and towels on the railing of the uper units. Since there is no clothesline within the rooms, this was a plus for those with the upper units. Note: There is no insulating values on which this units were designed or built. You can actually hear everyone else around you in your room. I could hear people brushing their teeth. Seriously. Not sure how the resort could address this issue, just be warned if you are a light sleeper to bring ear plugs.

Front desk staff was awesome and always willing to help with any questions. Booking our a la cartes was ok, the standard wait in line to schedule your dinners, but resort must have been full since we only were able to get into 2 of the 3 that were allotted. Both nights we ate at the Mexican restaurant - since we ate there twice and the 4 of us tried different things (and we shared to taste test) I feel that I can say with complete certainity that the Breaded Mexican Fish and the Beef Alambre were top shelf. OUTSTANDING SERVICE from LANDY! She was awesome, and feel that she shoudl be commended for her excellant customer service and tequila suggestions!
We cannot comment on the Japenese since we did not eat here. Buffet was ok, tasted better than it looked most times, which is a plus. Food was good, but selection was minimal with high repetition. 2 of us lost weight, and 2 of us gained weight, so take that for what it is worth. Lunch buffet at the beach/pool area was probably the best of the buffet food by far.

Bar service - great, once you got to the bar. The beach bar is in desparate need of another bartendar. Suggestion to Allegro Cozumel - Install a self serve cerveza tap. This would decrease your line-up substantially. The bartendar at the beach bar worked NON-STOP. I have no idea when he even took a break....if he ever did. As for the rest of the bars - each one of them could have used one additional bartendar, but none as desparately as the beach bar. I truly hope that they take this advice into consideration. I thought the bartendar there would pass out from how hard he had to work in the heat.

The disco (using this word for it) was more of a lounge with incredibly powerful speakers. We went 3 nights, had fun none the less, but we always did tequila shots after dinner, so feel that this played a part in our "disco" fun. There was food available late night at the disco, was always cold, but we knew this so we were prepared with Pringles!

Beach was great - sand/shell mixture, and water was warm and inviting. The colors of blue changing from the shore to the horizion. Not much for snorkelling within resort boundaries. Would recommend a tour if snorkelling is on your to do list. We walked down to Planacar beach club and had a 2.5 hr snorkel back to resort following the current, not too much to see, a few angel fish, barracuda, trigger fish, sargent majors and chubs. But was nice to see the other resorts along the walk. Allegro Cozumel definitley has the nicest beach in my opinion.

We took a cab into town a few times, had some great food and drinks, along with some entertainment, we went on the ferry over to Playa and went south to Tulum area. We also rented a car across the street at Alamo for a day trip - was a great way to see the whole island and swim on the east side. Beautiful waves to play in on that side.

Think this resort would make a perfect family vacation as it appeared as though it catered to children under the age of 6 or 7. They had plenty of areas for kids, and think this would be a great spot for younger families.

Good points - Staff worked really hard to accomodate its guests
Great upper level units and their balconies
Mexican Restaurant service and food

Improvements - Requires additional bar staff
Provide more selection at breakfast and dinner buffet
Figure out how to make the "disco" a real disco
Soundproof buildings (not sure how this would be possible, but is a problem)

So all in all I would rate the Allegro Cozumel a 6.8/10
For a great deal, it is definitely worth the trip - go enjoy yourself on the Isle of Mexico

Room Tip: Upper Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
12.9 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Property: Allegro Cozumel
Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Barcelo, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing