We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad and the VERY UGLY!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Brampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the VERY UGLY!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Let me start off by saying I am neither spoiled, nor fussy, and tend to find my silver lining in any situation, but this was a tough one!

The good: the beaches were spectacular! the water was warm and clear and it was great to snorkel right off our beach. We saw stingrays, blow fish and many other types right in our swimming area. The dive shop staff were fantastic...very friendly and knowledgeable....they even blew up our tubes for us. The ladies at the front desk were also fantastic, as were most of the staff we encountered. Also excellent was the weather....sunny every day ! Loved the iguanas on the resort.

The Bad: where do I start. Everything about this hotel was half done. Its seems like they really tried to do things right and gave up. Ceilings are half painted, curtains are moldy, no caulking around the lovely sink in our room....just half a#s. No fridges in rooms, Beds were hard..very hard! TV's dont work, phones work only half the time...etc. (Not a huge deal since all you do is sleep in a room) The same applies to the food. Nothing was "Great". Don't get me wrong, none of us starved, but we did leave the resort for a few decent meals ..Try El Moro on 80th..great service, price and food! There was no bacon except for two days, the toaster was broken for two days and mediocre would be putting it mildy when describing the rest of the food. Irwin in the buffet restuarant was sweet and provided lovely service to us. However, one of the hosts actually said "OH MY GAWWD" when we asked to be seated at another table (the one we had was dirty)...speaking of dirty. Check your plates, cutlery and wine glasses before using them. Like I said, I am not fussy, but I am clean and using utensils with lipstick still on it is a bit gross to me!

The Ugly: our adult children had to switch rooms, because, like another review mentioned, there were bugs in their bed. We do not think they were bed bugs but more like fleas.... hundreds of tiny fleas! We think it was because the maid replaced the bed spread with one that was stored in "closet". they switched rooms and they were fine. There is also a very strong smell of sewage thru out the resort. If you ever smelled bad well water (like sulpher and poop) then you know what it is like. It occurs when you use the cold water...or flush your toilets. The smell is so strong it can wake you up from a deep sleep. Also, sound travels...bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

We did have a power outage when we were there. It was ugly ,,,,toiilets did not flush, fridges did not work, BUT...a big BUT...the staff handled it great. They went around with Candles and they still served dinner. Might have been the best meal I had because I couldnt see the dirt on the dishes ...LOL If you have not travelled much this may be acceptable to you. But to me and my family, it was the worst resort we have ever stayed at, but thankfully, we got a great deal and the price made it tolerable. I would consider this like a motel 6 and even for the price, I would never return.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and a good attitude!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RayeRaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    1,355
    745
    424
    323
See reviews for
1,317
1,213
90
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned from a three week stay at the Allegro Cozumel. Yes, I said, three weeks. We have been here before and we now considered it our second home. I sometimes wonder about the people that complain if they are at the same resort as us. Magots, bed bugs etc., really??? I don't think so. We wouldn't keep going back if the Allegro was plagued with these types of things. We talked to several guests and not one had complaints. It was quite the opposite.

The grounds are beautiful and well maiintained. The beach is the best on the island.

The kids water park is fun for the kids and even the adults. It looked like the parents were having just as much fun sliding down the waterslide as their kids. Yes, the whistle does blow but you learn to tune it out. I would never complain about it. I think it is important to the little ones to have a fun and safe section for them. The whistle does turn off late afternoon/early evening so it won't interfere with your night's sleep.

The rooms are definitely dated but who lives in their rooms? We are there for the beach and fresh air. Paint stains on furniture. I don't think that will make or break a vacation for pete's sake. We had plenty of water pressure and hot water for our showers.

We always found something good to eat. I love the new sandwich addition to the lunch buffet. We were happy to see ice cream return to the dinner buffet two nights before we left. Our favorite a la carte this time was the Mexican restaurant. The food was fresh and we loved the variety. We enjoyed watching them make the Mexican coffee right at the table.

The staff was hard working. We never lacked for anything at our meals. They often checked back to see if we needed or wanted refills. I know how important it is for management to read who stood out as great employees. The omelet lady, sorry I don't know her name, works hard and has to put up with a lot from ungrateful and demanding guests. Her eggs are always perfect. Sergio, Jorge, Ana, and Santos were all great and very attentive. Landy, Leonel and Ignacio were the three that really stood out to us as exceptional.

The fireshow on the beach on Monday night is nothing short of spectacular.

I agree with another review that reminded people to tip. These people are hard working and deserve it. And to the person that snapped her fingers and barked "tea" to a waiter......shame on you!!!!! Who in the world do you think you are to treat another fellow human being like that?

We feel it is a great value for the price. We feel it is great for families or just adults. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank CORedtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is my 2nd time at this reasort and will go back next year! Love this place! Food ,beach , staff etc.. Rent a jeep for the day and go to coconut bar and more!! Fun!fun!fun!
P.S. bring your positive attitude and you will love this place!♥

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quiquine40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My expectations were low after reading several negative reviews and we ended up being pleasantly surprised. The resort itself is beautiful and in great shape. The landscaping, beach and pools are well taken care of, and the lounge chairs look new as did the kid's playground. The room was no frills, but clean, and we knew in advance to ask for a foam pad for the bed, which they put on for us, and we slept great. They could do more to provide some extras such as shampoo and lotion, but they were very generous with the bottled water unlike some US hotels. Also our room was in an area that was quiet (3800's), but our friend who was in a "Premium" Superior room (6600's) said one night there was loud music outside her room coming from the hotel, not someone's room, from around midnight until 3:00 a.m. And for the record, we did not see the advantage of the additional price of the Premium Superior versus Superior rooms. The only thing was maybe a robe. All of the staff were pleasant, helpful and professional. Our toilet didn't flush properly a couple of days, but our complaints were answered promptly and they fixed the problems. A couple of times the lines for drinks at the beach bar were long, but we just waited 10 minutes to walk up or went to the pool bar in the restaurant. They also had a few bartenders that took our order and brought drinks to us at the pool. I was really worried about the food and it was fine. The breakfast was especially enjoyable with many selections, quality fresh fruit, and even an omelet bar where they made omelets and eggs to order. The lunch buffet was pretty good too. Every day they had some sort of grilled meat - steak, chicken, pork, or fish, and there was always plenty of fresh guacomole, pico salsa and chips. I will say for dinner we only ate at the specialty restaurants and both were pretty good. We went into town for dinner on 3 ocassions which I also highly recommend. It is a $16 cab ride one way, but definitely worth it. So there are pros and cons about being on the beach or being in town, but we prefer the beach. We did not use the onsite dive shop, Pro Dive, because we found them to be expensive. Instead we chose another dive company that picked us up at the dock every day. We were last on and first off and only 10 minutes from the dive sites which I think is another advantage of the hotel location, and the money we saved on diving we could justify for the cab rides to town! The spa was also very nice and we enjoyed our massage. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Allegro and will come back!

Room Tip: I think it is more quiet down by the beach and closer to the pools. The lobby and main restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our 6th year vacationing in Cozumel. Allegro is by far the best resort we have stayed at. The Resort has the BEST beach on the island and it's big enough not be appear too crowded. The food was great (especially for those of you that do all inclusive). nice pools, nice rooms - they always kept the rooms very clean. The beds are FIRM as others described.
If you're a diver this is a great place to stay. 8 to 20 minutes from most dive sights. 3 very nice boats. Nitrox is free - that's a plus. The Dive Masters are good. Several are not from the island and likely do not know the reefs as well as local Diver Masters, however, there english is much better and easier to understand.

Improvements?
- It was difficult to get an adult beverage at the swim-up bar. Nice idea but no one was ever there.
-We would often be finished with our meal before someone would offer to get you water, soda or whatever you were drinking.
- The line to get a drink at the outside bar sometimes got long. Advise to beer drinkers; bring an insulated mug, you won't regret it.
- No Wi Fi unless you pay $80 a week. seems steep to me for Wi Fi. If you go into town bring you ipad or iphone. Most restaurants have it for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We were also concerned after reading the reviews but were pleasantly surprised! The rooms, water pressure, hot water and beds were all good. We were in the 4500 block and so we're not too close to the disco. The staff were very hard working and friendly .....even more so than some 5 star hotels that I have stayed at. Did not get sick at all even with all the ice in the drinks and salads etc. They might be using purified water for the dishwashing and drinks. We would not hesitate to return!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank caledon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent staff in all areas, friendly, helpful/approachable and extremely hard working; property beautifully maintained; gorgeous beach where you can snorkel; abundance of lounge chairs that were well maintained; food was good - typical buffet but something for everyone as well as two a la carte restaurants; wide variety of activities at main pool, there is a quiet pool for readers and a large shallow separate pool with a big slide and interactive apparatus for small children.
My son and his family go every year for great diving experiences; I was able to try a free scuba lesson in the pool which was great! Travelling there with my sister we felt very safe, we had a great relaxing time and will definitely go back! Thanks Allegro!!!

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are beautifully placed on the grounds which are very well maintained. Possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,713 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Property: Allegro Cozumel
Address: Km 16.5 Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel resort. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo and Travelocity so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing