We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
tyngsboro, Ma.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2004

we stayed from 3-1-04 -3-6-04.with a 3 year old food was good buffett each night also breakfast buffett never went away hungry grounds clean & scenic staff always polite plenty to drink even for kids we will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakotanate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    1,392
    756
    427
    326
See reviews for
1,361
1,242
96
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2004

Just came back from Allegro Occ Cozumel. Had a fantastic time. If your
looking to be pampered and waited on hand and foot, this is not for
you. If you are looking to be active, soak up the sun. snorkel, fish,
scuba dive and meet great people then this is it. The food was great. A
variety every evening, the entertainment was fun. The games around the
pool were a hoot. I recommend you rent a jeep for the day and tour the
Island. Cost with insurance is about $86 for 24 hours. Lots to see and
do. Had lunch at the Naked Iquana (excellent). Went into town to shop.
No great deals but lots to choose from. The rooms are clean but not
fancy. If you complain about your room your not outside enjoying
yourself.

The staff were friendly and tried hard to accomadate you. You will definitely enjoy yourself at this resort.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2004

March 2003 we were staying at a sister resort in Playa Del Carmen and came over to Cozumel for a day. We rented a moped and parked at the resort where we were instructed. We left our helmets with our machine as the other moped riders had done.The hotel was ok though they lost electricity for most of our visit. HOWEVER when we got back to our moped, our helmets were gone. The staff was INCREDIBLY RUDE and claimed it was our fault the helmets were stolen. They refused to compensate us in any way.We ended up paying $60 to the rental agency for the helmets. When I forwarded a complaint to Allegro & Four Seasons, they blew me off. They were supposedly checking into it but last I heard from them was 5 months ago.Though our stay at the Occidental in Playa was fine, we won't be staying at another Allegro facility again as we now know that bottom line is more important than happy customers.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2004

In reading reviews for the Occidental I was pleased to find that more than 50% of them were good. I've read reviews for the past several trips we've taken and found that if the reviews were at least half good - we ended up having a great time.No dissapointment this time. We had a wonderful time at the Allegro. Group of 5 (1 being a 4 year old). I tend to be the pickiest eater and I gained a few pounds. We did not try any of the specialty restaurants as we didn't want to bring any dressy clothes, this was strictly casual for us. We ate most of our meals in the main dining room and enjoyed them all with the exception of "Carribean Night" which was mostly fish. Thankfully they have a Pasta Bar in the dining room each night and we had more than enought to eat. Nobody in our group got any stomach ailments, they give you plenty of bottled water to drink and brush your teeth with.The specialty drinks at the Pool Bar were fantastic. The staff members were all very friendly. The grounds, pools, rooms were all kept neat and clean. Loved the hammock outside our room. The rooms did have a slight must\mold smell but I'd brought an air freshener and it worked fine.Snorkeled with the dive shop on site and they were great. If you have kids, take a box of cornflakes after your breakfast and head for the boat dock by the dive shop. We sat each morning at the end of the dock and let the 4 year old feed them to the fish. He got a kick out of it. He also loved the iguana's that were plentiful around the grounds.We also did the Jeep tour offered through Olympus at the resort. It was great but be prepared for a long, bumpy day.Rented scooters from the resort as well even though we read how dangerous they were. We stuck to the side street and had no problems. We didn't venture too far, just to Chakanaab park and El Cedral with were both pretty close. Chakanaab was beautiful but they really charge you for everything. It cost $12 to get in, then they charged if you wanted to watch the dolphin or sea lion show! I didn't bother at that point. Just snorkeled and enjoyed the "free" grounds and beach.We went to town two evening to shop but I found the bartering to be stressful and time consuming. Also, make sure you ask the price before getting in. The fares were posted outside the hotel and our first trip in was a surprise when the driver said we didn't give him enough. It was posted as $17 and he said it went up to $22. Of course, the ride back with a different driver was $17. The hotel asks you to be mindful of the taxi number and let them know if it happens.In town if you ask a price and get a response of $30, by the time you're walking down the street they are calling after you that it's now $15. I found it easier to hold an item and tell them what I'd pay. My friend used this approach and though still time consuming it usually was the price they'd take. Senior Frogs, Carlo's and Charlies and the Hard Rock were all great places to eat or get a drink. Very lively.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jana_wolf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2004

we were there for 10 days and loved it. the weather was beautiful,the
beach is gorgeous. yes theres sewer smell but its an island so what do
you expect? you only got the smell when the wind is in certain
directions.
some people cant be pleased no matter what.
if you let petty things ruin your trip then you better stay home.
yes they over book, thats the biggest complaint we had. we were short 1 room when we arrived, after our persistance we finally got all our rooms after about 2 hours of sitting there.
food was good for the first few days then it gets old, how many sauces
can you put on chicken? by the last day we couldnt gag down any more of
their food. we still had a great time though.
will definately go back.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2004

I cannot tell you how much my husband and I agree with the reviewers from Mahopec and Carmel New York (ditto and ditto). We went with a group of 13 and most seem to have one problem or another with there room. If it wasn't the stench it was water backing up in the drain that was located in the middle of the bathroom floor everytime you took a shower. Our room was a remodeled time share. Sounds good except for the fact we didn't have a bed to sleep in. Yes that right!! They gave us the living room portion of a time share. We had the option of sleeping either on a twin bed or a very uncomfortable pull out couch. When we went up to complain, we were told there was nothing they could do because there were no other rooms available. Apparently they seem to have a problem with overbooking the hotel. Everyday we heard of some horror story of groups of people being put up at different hotels because they didn't have enough rooms available. I guess we were lucky to have a room. One day we didn't have cold water, which meant you could not flush the toilet or take a shower. One of the couples in our group was awaken at 2:00 in the morning to 3 diesels trucks outside their pumping sewage. When they called up to the front desk to complain, they were told it had nothing to do with hotel and there was nothing they could do about it. We found most of the food disgusting!!! It was a common theme in our group to hear "if I find something I can eat, then I just fill up on that". There were two nights that we went up to Topaz (the buffet restaraunt) that I left hungry. The only decent place to eat was the Italian restaurant. My suggestion would be if you are in a group, is to have each room make reservations for everyone in the group. That way you at least get a couple of decent dinners. As far as the liquor, they must be watering it down. Most of us were shocked how many drinks we had with out any effects. The pools are very nice, except for the constant blaring of music and tequila volleyball. I've never felt sooooo ripped off.The good things were the weather and the water. We had 6 absolutely beautiful days. We could not have asked for better weather. The ocean on most days was a gorgeous blue color. But they problem with that, is those are free things.If you care anything about where you sleep or what you will eat don't bother with Occidental Allegro. It was my worst travel experience. My recommadation would be the check out the Occidental Grand which is next door to the Allegro. My friend and I took a took a tour of the property the day before left. Luckily for us didn't do it any early or it would have ruined my vacation. The rooms and the property were everything we were looking for. I cannot speak as to the restaruants as we didn't eat there, but they did look clean and you have more variety.Yes, Carmel New York There is no place like home!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2004

please don't let some of the reviews about the allegro scare you. no it wasn't one of the best hotels we have stayed at, but we are firm believers in , you get what you pay for. the grounds were great, neat clean, fun for families the beach, clean, always chairs, great bar service the food, breakfast, was terrific fruit, bacon omlets, breads lunch, great as well burger and fries at the snack bar to salads and roast beef at the buffet supper, there were theme nights for the evening meals, we could always find something to eat, most of the meat is fried & for us that wasn't so great the sewer smell, was there especially at night, depending on the wind but most islands we have stayed on have this problem & this is the !st time we have stayed at a hotel that was not a 5star. renting a car not a problem, driving was easy, there is only one main road, you can not get lost, taxi was 15 usd to downtown one way 2 people only. try the snorkle & snuba tour it was great room was always clean, fresh towels, in room safe, air cond & ceiling fan the room we were in was not the newest but it was fine nightly entertainment was always good comedy & shows we met a lot of people who had been staying at the resort for there 4th & 5th time, we did not meet or hear of anyone getting ill from the food or water the families we met were having a great time the staff were fun, they made the effort, we always had friendly service (tipping helps) we really enjoyed the atmosphere, relaxed, casual, family & fun oriented. it rained for five days straight, and we still had a blast. we are going back next year with friends. ladies --- you should only pay 60 to 65 % of the retail price on silver. look for the stamp 925, for quality. enjoy

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
12.9 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Property: Allegro Cozumel
Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Barcelo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing