We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit to Allegro”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful. They are there to make sure you have a relaxing vacation. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. This was our second trip to this resort and we look forward to our return. The setting is clean and tropical. The beach is beautiful, can't wait to return with my grandchildren someday or even schedule a family reunion at this location.

Room Tip: Try a massage or reflexology at the Spa, Yaderi has a wonderful touch. A great activity to do while...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,570)
There are newer reviews for Allegro Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 4,571 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

A friend and I decided to take a quick girls weekend trip and stayed at the Allegro in Cozumel. We had a fantastic time. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We went with the all inclusive option, which I would definitly reccomend to anyone who stays here. The hotel is right on the beach, which was perfect. They have a dedicated swimming/snorkel area for hotel guests. It wasn't terribly overrun with children, but they did have family activities as well. It's not like staying at the Hyatt, so if this is what your used to you may not enjoy the resort, but it is still a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cassandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The resort was beautiful! It was very clean, everywheres at all times and the landscaping was very well kept! The layout of the resort is PERFECT! The food was excellent, especially the Oriental A la carte! The staff was very friendly! The drinks were the best we've ever had; so much variety and quality! Try the Pink Lady, Bahama Mama and Splash at the beach bar! The only bad thing I will say about the resort is all the children that were in the hottub. Kids under 16 should not be allowed (as mentionned on the sign just in front of it). However, it was mostly children in it at all times even if there was a huge pool (waterpark) for them. I was even tempted to go to that pool and go on the waterslides :) Other than that, I would return in a second! Don't hesitate to book at the Allegro Cozumel! We had an awesome week!

Room Tip: Join the First Club
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I were at this resort in Jan, 2013 for a week. I have to say our room, which was a First Club room was just awsome. It was a 2 bedroom each with it's own bathroom, dbl sink, flat screen TV, air, iron board with iron and a safe. The room was cleaned daily with a special different touch done each time. The room also had a larger dinning room and a kitchen. The frig was stocked every other day and plenty of bottled water was brought each day. Next to it was a very nice TV room with a large flat screen TV with a DVD player. The rooms are set up like huts with the straw roofs and everything, which was very nice. A little noisy at times but for the most sake was perfect. The First Club lounge had to be one of my favorite places. The staff, and i mean everyone one of them were as nice and willing to help in anyway as a person could be. The drinks were amazing and the breakfast buffett was always fresh at tyhe First Club. A special thanks I want to go to the two people in charge of the First Club and that's Madilynn and Danny!!! These are two of the nicest people I've met and made sure any troubles or issues we had were taken care of!!!
As for the rest of the resort the pool areas were very nice and always seemed clean. Getting a chair didnt seem hard to do at this time of the year. That went for all the pools we saw there. The beach was absolutly beautiful and everything we expected. The food was good in the most part. Buffett food did tend to get old after awhile but it was good. The staff was very friendly in all the dinning areas we ate at so we had no complaints there.
I would definatly plan another get away for my wife and I here again in the future!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a First Club room that was basicly Ocean Front. I'd highly recommend those. Didnt s...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This review was from a trip taken Jan 8-18 2013. If you like this resort or not will depend on the type of traveler you are. If dust on the top of the ceiling fan blades are important to you, you'd better skip this and most other resorts in the carribean. If you are on vacation and a main point of importance to you is 5 star food, this is probably not the place for you. If you view eating as just part of your day so you can get on with other activities, you'll have no problem here. We always found something to eat and even put on a little weight while we were there. It's not mentioned often, but the ice cream at the evening meal is 5 star! A different flavor every night and was always great.

Rooms: Very clean, bed was "firm" some might say even hard, but we didn't have a problem sleeping.

Grounds: Beautiful. Staff was always at work keeping everything looking good.

Beach: This was the selling point for us on this resort and we were not disappointed. Soft sand out as far as you want to walk. Calm sea and plenty of sun or shade for all. Beach bar is steps away. Sometimes there is a line, but what else have you got to do? One thing not mentioned often is the guy who has the pottery hut set up on the beach. He is quite an artist. You can buy his pottery or paint your own. It was really fun to set at his stand and paint your choice of pottery. After you are done he "touches it up", puts a glaze on it and returns it to you the next day. It was interesting to set there and visit with other guests. We had some lively conversations on health care and gun control. It made for a fun afternoon.

Snorkling: snorkling from the beach is not great, but there is some things to see. The better snorkling is closer to the pier. If you go out along the rope along the pier side there is some large concrete pieces that are on the bottom. Some small coral is forming on them and there are a few fish around them. During my stay there I did see 2 rays resting on the bottom and several different fish including 2 trunk fish. People were feeding the fish bread close to the shore and there was always a large group of fish there to eat. We did go out on a snorkling tour booked from the hotel and it was very good.

Car Rental: There is alot of talk and nervousness about renting a car on the island. We rented from Fiesta inside the lobby and had no problem. They put $100 on our CC for a hold but that was reversed when we returned. The car was a compact and cold AC, all we really needed. We traveled to the East side and stopped for lunch at Chin Rio and Coconuts. We then drove the middle island road back to town. There is not much traffic at all. By the way the Salsa at Chin Rio is too hot for anyone I know. No way could we eat it., rest of the food was good.

We ate in town 2 times. La Mission and Cassa Mission. Both were excellent. It's true, you can get outstanding surf and turf for $21.

All in all we had a good time, remember vacation is what you make it. Let me know if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank jwalton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The atmosphere of this resort has been fantastic since I started coming here in 1993. It is welcoming and the people who work here are friendly and glad you are there. Anthony, Dio, Jennifer, Madeleine, Danny and Jose are just some of the stazff there that make staying here a joy and like they say when you arrive...welcome home.

Maintenance has gone up and down during that period of time, it was never terrible, but I would say with the recent investment of several million by Occidental it is at the best level I have seen. The First Club whirlpool was warm but we understand an severe leak is the cuase and a new infinity pool is enroute. We come down at least twice a year and will be looking forward ot another trip down very soon. This resort is a bargain for the price and way worth it. We love it there it is a great place to bring family or friends.

Room Tip: IF you like the resort and come more than once a year which we do consider buying in the vacation cl...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed 10 days with another couple and a friend for the first time at this resort from January 9, 2013 to January 19, 2013. This was an excellent experience for all of us. The food is a lot better than Dominican Republic and Cuba. The water was perfect for snorkeling and Scuba diving. Anyone looking for a nice resort with rooms spaced throughout the entire resort. This is for you. I will be returning to this resort later this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room. No stairs for the vacation.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,100 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.4 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4,780 reviews
7.7 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $127 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing