We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We spent our honeymoon here!”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
calgary, alberta
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We spent our honeymoon here!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had an amazing time. We loved that the setup was villas as opposed to apartments. The hot tub close to the beach was a dream. Lots of honeymooning couples there. the entertainment was so much fun, felt like we were in the movie "dirty dancing". We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_observer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    1,486
    826
    456
    358
See reviews for
1,556
1,340
109
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Let me first start off by staying I was a little concerned about all of the reviews, but there is always those people that hard to please. Me and my wife are very easy going and can usually get past the little things. However from our first 15 min in this hotel we were not happy. When we first arrived front desk was very rude. We got there at noon and had to wait 3 hours to check in even though we were the only people in the lobby. Upon getting to our room the first thing I noticed was not clock( who cares your on vacation you don't need one). Second thing was more hard for me to overlook is there are no fridges in the room unless you upgrade to a suite. Hello its 90 degrees I like cold water. Our bed was just a mattress on top of a cement slab it was very hard. I went up to the front desk to ask for an eggshell mattress and the lady rolled her eyes at me. The food is absolutely the worst iv had in any hotel iv stayed at in mexico. The maids are very good at there job a dollar goes a long way at this hotel. Alex in the disco bar is great. Ivan in the event staff is probably the best at his job. The beach is good and has a lot of marine life on it. The first day I went snorkeling I saw a sting ray which was really cool. The rooms are really outdated. The restaurants you have to wait in line for a minimum of 20 min before you can be seated. If you want a beer or a drink get 4 because it takes 20 min to get served. all in all I would of rather gone to a different hotel and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed Feb 20th through Feb 27th, 2012

Room Tip: Only stay if you can afford the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina I, Assistant Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Sean N
We are very concerned by your review, and saddened that we did not meet your complete satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the delay at check-in. Please note that our normal check-in time is 3:00pm. We inform all guests about this, as well as tour operators. If we do have rooms available and ready before that time of course we are happy to accommodate an early check in.
I am sorry that this was not that case and that our staff did not meet your expectations during the registration process. I will talk about this with the rooms division manager in order to verify, and will work with the front desk staff.
Our rooms do not include clocks, and standard rooms do not have mini fridges. Superior premium rooms and suites have mini fridges and the upgrade also includes other amenities and room location near to the beach (or ocean view).
I am also concerned by your comments about our food offerings, and I will address this with the chef. We are always making improvements and we are very sorry to know that we failed with you.
Our goal is to help you enjoy your vacation and we know that waiting for things is no fun on vacation. The line for the restaurant is done as a courtesy to provide a comfortable service to all guests, and typically does not take more than five minutes. We are adding more personnel at the beach bar where we noticed our guests are waiting in line.
Thank you for your feedback about housekeeping, I will congratulate them for their efforts. Also, I thank you for your comments on the beach location.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience.
Sincerely
Carolina Interian
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cozumel hotels

Stroud ont. Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We 3 couples Booked for 2weeKs Feb.4th/17th arrived late at night & were met on our arrival by Friendly & efficient hotel staff check in was a Breeze,& management kept the Restaurant open for our late arrival.(Nice touch) We found our rooms with no diffiiculty, Luggage at the door.Two couples on ground Floor,one on upper level. We had a Monsoon that night & there was a small leak in the upper level.a bath towel fixed that. Upper level units have thatched roofs (Unique). The next 2 weeks were sunny&hot..The Restauants are Good. Main dinning room can get hot, go to the Air conditioned section seperate from main. Staff are friendly & work hard A small tip goes a long way. We tried both specialty restaurants, Oriental Ok. wait Staff great, Mexiacan Rest. Great ,good food Flamming after dinner Drinks,Very good..Lunches at this Restaurant couldn't find any Fault except Burgers & pizza could be ...hotter...
The Beach is spectacular, clean &water is clear, Never once could we not find a Lounge chair on the beach or Pools (no getting up at 6am to secure a spot.....).There are plenty of fish you can feed right at the Beach(they like bits of bananna & bread... Service for drinks at your lounge chair is faster than the beach bar. We were going to rent a car to tour the Island & found accross the street a Cab stand & made a deal for a cab /driver for the day,cheaper so we had a guided tour for the Day.. If you have Children,the kiddie pool is like a theme park.
The grounds at this hotel are well kept, and it's fun to see the odd eguannas running around...Entertainment for both Children & Adults Ok. Good Value for both couples & Family...Find Egnassias(IGGY) & Alexandro wait Staff..They will make your stay enjoyable..

Room Tip: The bottom Units are easy to get to , the upper units have two flights of stairs & a vaulted cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great location and staff
Facilities were excellent - beds were hard as rock
Travelling as a group of 13, there were activities and excursions to meet everyone's needs and desires.
Carnival was on while we were there - well worth attending parade and lots of shopping in Cozumel market
Felt very secure on resort and no issues in Cozumel either.
Staff overall at the resort was excellent (a couple of issues reserving specialty restaurants and at check out)
Guest Services Manager - Restaurant Manager and Pool Area Staff were excellent in making sure our needs were met.
Fire show was great - could use more shows on the beach like that which did not conflict with dining times.
Overall best vacation we have ever had south at what we consider very resonable pricing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BigDaddy2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

me and my girlfriend had a great time at this resort.the place was very clean and confortable.the beach was awsome.we went on the nemo bus tour of the island i would recomend this for all.the tour guide was very knowledgeable of the island and fun.this is a great hotel,lots of activitys and the staff are all happy and helpfull.i wish we had stayed a little bit longer.we were there for 5 days and did not get bored with hotel at all.this place is paradise !!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have no complaints. I have been to Allegro before and have upgraded them from a four to a five star as they are making the effort in every way to make your vacation a great one. From maintaining the grounds to the incredible customer service. The beach here is fantastic and the water is the most incredible blue that I have ever seen. Crystal clear. Great reefs, great diving. Book the diving online at Pro Dive site and save 10%

Room Tip: As for a room near the Ocean and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CozumelDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I'd been to Cozumel several years ago and really had no desire to return. But it was on my husband's bucket list, so I agreed to return for his sake. We spent two weeks at the Occidental Allegro resort (Jan. 25-Feb.10/12) and were a bit apprehensive after having read some of the reviews prior to going. Once again, we've come to the conclusion that some people expect the Ritz even when they choose an all-inclusive resort.

When we first arrived, we were greeted by the Nolitours private check-in desk, with cocktails. Unfortunately our travel agent had not extended our request for a King-sized bed and we spent the first night in a room with 2 double beds and a promise to move us in the morning, which they did. The villas are double-storey with thatched roofs on the upper levels. The only thing I would suggest is that if reading the reviews before booking, make sure you ask for a lower room. The upper rooms have vaulted ceilings and the sound carries from adjoining rooms. Our room had a bit of rain on the inside on one of the nights when we had a heavy rainstorm, but the rest of the time we had no leaks or issues. Even the neighbours who had a party one night quieted down at a reasonable time, so we did not complain. The rooms were always clean and well stocked with fresh towels, soaps and bottled water. The cleaning staff was friendly and greeted everyone throughout the day.

My husband is an avid scuba diver and was very happy that the dive shop is on-site AND run by some of the best people he's ever dived with, in the world. He's already looking to go back, having been so impressed with the dive sites, as well. I've never known him to be as enthused or excited upon coming back from any one of his dives. It was a joy to see him so excited. And, I must add, he doesn't usually ask to return to a place, knowing there are so many other dive sites he's yet to discover. But, he wants to go back very soon!

The staff is excellent and would be the main reason that I personally would go back. I'm not a diver and would be much happier being closer to town, but some of the staff made our stay most enjoyable. In particular, we really liked Raul, who is one of the managers. Raul seemed to be everywhere, constantly looking after us, sometimes after a very long day's shift. And, from what I read in some of the other reviews, Raul gives the same personal touch to most guests. He went out of his way to ensure we were comfortable and was a wealth of information on "where can I find...?". We also really liked some of the bartenders/servers at the pool and the upstairs lounge, particularly Armando and Alejandro... or even Raul... all of whom often made us "special" drinks if we wanted to try something new.

The Activities staff were fun, too, encouraging guests to exercise or play pool volleyball or whatever was going on. I noticed that children, in particular, were well entertained. I wished I'd found such a place to take our children when they were younger. I enjoyed the hour long morning stretch exercises at a quiet spot behind the trees and away from the noise of the activity pool. And the water aerobics were fun, although they could have been longer than a half hour. The best instructor was Rafael, but he left to work at another resort. I found him to have the best exercise and stretch repertoire.

The day staff at the front desk wasn't overly helpful and often seemed overwhelmed even if there were only a few other people at the desk. I suppose if I had one complaint it would be that they NEVER were able to break large bills for me. If we exchanged US or Canadian dollars, they always gave us $50 or $100 Peso bills, which are very difficult to use when tipping and cab drivers often claim they don't have change, which is a pain. I got to the point where I thought it was me and that these women just didn't like me, but then, I'd go to the bar and someone would make change for me and all would be well. Nevertheless, there were two female staff, in particular, at the front desk who seem they might be happier working elsewhere rather than in hospitality.

The beach is excellent. Well maintained, clean and safe. The dive boats are kept on the opposite side of the pier so that swimmers are not affected by pollution or safety issues. I snorkelled right off the beach and saw lots of pretty fish.

I've read a lot of complaints about the food and was mind-boggled when we got there. The buffet provided plenty of fresh fruit every morning as well as stewed fruit, pre-made breakfast items, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses as well as a custom-grill where omelettes or easy-over eggs could be had. Lunch and dinner at the buffet always included a choice of meats, fish and veggies, salad fixings, soup, desserts, etc. I think that people forget that (1) they are in Mexico, not France, and (2) they're not at the Ritz. Sometimes there were a few things I didn't like... but there were ALWAYS foods I did like. I get the sense that those who complain about food at a resort are the kind of people who like to mound their plates with everything and expect to like everything, as if they have to eat as much as they possibly can to make the all-inclusive a bargain. I've not been to a resort on any island where ALL the food was excellent every meal. I have no complaints. In particular, I loved the fresh grilled shrimps they served on Friday nights... amazing! And, I enjoyed the chef who cooked the eggs in the morning... I loved her smile whenever I would order huevos rancheros... I always asked her to take the eggs off within a moment after she'd turned them over because I like them nice and soft... and, if she broke an egg, it would be rejected without being asked. Most mornings, the bacon tray would have slim pickings, but I noticed that on the mornings that I went for breakfast earlier or slightly later than the masses (busiest between 8:30-9:00), there was always plenty of bacon. But, even if I couldn't get all the fattening foods, the fresh fruit alone was impressive, with papaya, pineapple, bananas, guavas and many other healthy choices. The one thing we didn't like was the wine (other than the bottled wine served at the Oriental restaurant). Both the red and white wines were not good at all.

I loved that there were plenty of geckos and iguanas around the property, as well as birds. I noticed that some people were afraid of the iguanas and I wish the resort would post signs or information to advise that they are harmless, if left alone. Like all creatures, they will defend themselves if they feel threatened. But, generally, they are not animals known to be aggressive.

I should mention that my husband required medical services for a sinus infection and the doctor was very quick to arrive, excellent in his diagnosis and prescribed the appropriate medication, which he also was able to provide on-site immediately. We were most impressed.

If I had one wish, it would be that Cozumel would get a bus running from San Miguel to the south end of the island so that staff and visitors alike could travel back and forth to town without the hefty taxi costs. I think that's about the only thing that was an expensive and big disappointment for me. The hotel would do well to invest in a shuttle bus, especially considering their sister resort is next door.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank TorontoOceanBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,059 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
6.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
7.7 mi away
Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort
12.9 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Property: Allegro Cozumel
Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing