We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent food & value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrilla Mission

Parrilla Mission
Reserve with OpenTable
Parrilla Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 329 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Covington, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food & value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was told about this well known secret place by Steve at Villa Aldora. In fact he offered to drive us there as it's a few blocks too far to comfortably walk but cab fare was just 50 pesos. The Flan & margaritas were exceptional. we had the rellenos, mole chicken & filet mignon and total bill for 3 of us was what one of us would have incurred at any other restaurant on the square. Service made us feel at home and alltogether exceptional. After dinner walked two blocks north to the local grocery and picked up a few things before heading back to the hotel including some great pastries!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    76
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great food, nice people, terrific margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having traveled to Cozumel 12 times we knew Parrilla Mission was great. So good in fact that on our recent 8 night trip we ate dinner at this restaurant 4 times. At 6:30 pm they set up a "topping" bar so you can dress up your meal. It's a great way to try things you might not otherwise taste. Don't miss their chili rellanos - they are WONDERFUL! Our waiter, Chabelo was very friendly and a good server and was up to the challenge of letting us experiment with different styles of habenero chili salsas - NOT for the faint of heart!! This family run restaurant is quite a ways off the main drag but should not be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overall- Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My dad and I went to this restaurant with a couple from the hotel we were staying at (Casita de Maya). This is a fairly easy place to find, with it being on one of the main roads. All the waiters speak english and ordering is simple. In the evening a taco bar opens up that is very delicious. I, myself, ordered the chic hen fajitas. They were really good. The food is reasonably priced also. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a cheap and amazing meal!! After eating, we talked for a while.

Definitely come here on your vacation!! It's worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local Mexican Place in Cozumel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you are tired of expensive gringo restaurants in Cozumel, this place is for you! That is by far the one we enjoyed the most on the island. The grilled shrimps are excellent, so is the caramel custard for desert and you will get a buffet of vegetables which is very rare in Mexico! The restaurant is always full with a lively atmosphere at night and the staff is very friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 639sarahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Casual, cheap, and awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Open air ambiance, waitstaff that will help you practice your Spanish, and comida deliciosa y barata! Margaritas are killer and the size of those carnival goldfish bowls. The special queka chilanga (like a quesadilla made with a stone ground corn tortilla and queso blanco) costs literally 1 USD. We had 3 apps, 2 margaritas each, 2 grill entrees (including filet mignon), soft drinks and dessert and the bill was about $40. Love, love, love!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KR_bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parrilla Mission also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Parrilla Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing