We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Cozumel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residencias Reef Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great place, very safe , great security, very clean, great views..
Awesome !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    38
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I and our best friends just got back from what I can honestly say was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. Fortunately for my wife and me, we got Laura's corner unit, while our friends got a regular one. Both places far exceeded our expectations, but Laura's livingroom was surrounded by two walls of sliding glass doors. When we opened them all up, we felt like we were living in a tree house. It was larger and sunnier and breezier than the condo our friends had. It also had a much better view. Honestly they kept saying that they wished they had gotten this condo. The bed was extremely comfortable, we slept like babies. Great deck! If you're planning a beach vacation, this unit is the one to get. We absolutely loved it and are coming back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Day one, the unit actually flooded! We awoke in paradise to deal with a this! Apparently, the water heater was in poor condition and since it had not been repaired by the owners, a surge in power in the night had caused it to burst. This happened on a Sunday. We contacted the manager and he told us it was too early to be calling him...and actually suggested that we'd left a faucet on....4 hours later the manager's sister and brother in law appeared to clean up it up. Luckily, we were traveling with friends who had units that we could enjoy a cup of coffee. We were not however able to leave the property as we clearly wanted to see this situation dealt with. It became clear throughout the week that we had rented the ghetto unit of building #1. The bathtub was disgusting and the decor paled in comparison to any other units we saw. We had friends in several different units (about 30 of us traveling...) Unit's 5110 and 5120 were amazing and had fantastic maids who cooked an amazing meal for us. The owners of ours were very intrusive and none of our friends that rented from other owners had such an awful experience. We didn't have any privacy and I was actually told during the middle of my vacation that we would have to pay $150 because of a henna tattoo stain the maid can't get out of the sheets and then tried to convince me that a burn on the $400 comforter would also be my responsibility. I don't smoke and when I asked a maid that cooked for us she said that frequently her guests get henna tattoos and it shouldn't be a problem. It was very upsetting that the manager told us the owners were worried that we were destroying their home. How truly insulting! We travel often and have never had any problems. Rent anywhere else but unit 5140. NO PRIVACY due to paranoid owners.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jlwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent a week in this condo and things went wrong from the second day on...On the second day of our vacation we woke up to 2 inches of water in our condo. Apparently, a power surge during the night made the hot water heater drain all of its water. After a few hours the manager had housekeeping come and mop up the water. Fortunately, our laptop was on top of a dresser so it wasn't ruined but our suitcases were on the floor so all of our clothes needed to washed and dried. Then, the tv didn't work, they finally got it working on our last day in the condo! Our traveling companions, got a henna tattoo and some of the ink came off on the sheets. We were informed that we would be charged $550 to replace the sheets. Really??? Who puts bamboo sheets on the beds of a rental unit? We argued with the manager until he finally relented and we settled on paying the owner's an additional $50. In addition to the stress of all of this, the tubs would not drain and we ran out of toilet paper and kleenex and the maid did not replace them. We will never return to this unit. We traveled with 30 people on this vacation and all of the other units were awesome, their manager was on-site everyday making sure all was ok, the housekeepers were effiecient and kind, and the unit were decorated in a warm and inviting way. Our unit was all white and we were told that if a stain got on the couches we would have to replace them. We didn't dare sit on the furniture for fear that something would happen to them Also, the furniture on the patio are missing screws and are rickety and falling apart. We spent our time in our friends condos. Thank goodness we traveled in a group for if we hadn't we would have changed condos! Do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay in unit 5140. It's awful and the owners are difficult to work with. We suggest staying in 5120 or 5100 or any other unit where Luis is the manager. If you rent a unit where Fulvio is the manager RUN far, far away. You will get screwed!!!! One more thing, Fulvio (manager) came into our unit twice without our permission or acknowledgement.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this unit. You would be better off staying in units 5120 or 5100
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Residencias Reef Condos, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
There are several problems with this review.

The water heater did break but that was completely out of anyone's control and was addressed quickly. Plus we gave the group a gift certificate for dinner at a nice restaurant. They seemed very appreciative at the time but didn't bother to mention that attempt to compensate for the problems.

TV reception on the island is always spotty. We do our best to keep it working.

As for the Henna tattoo, this is only part of the story. First, she was warned by our manager that the ink would stain the sheets. (it's also in the book which they obviously read **) It not only stained one of the sheets it also stained one of the shams that matched the bedspread. Also, we never claimed the sheets cost $550 - they DO cost about $150 because it is a California King bed, nice quality and they have to brought from the states. They did not pay us anything for the damage as she promised to buy us a replacement sheet and send it to us once she was home. We're still waiting for that.

We have many guests in our unit that have never complained about the decor. We have many families with children that stay here without stress. We stock the unit with quality sheets & towels so that people are comfortable. ** the book did used to say that if you stained the sofas with henna you would be responsible for cleaning or replacing them.

No one mentioned the patio furniture. If it had been pointed out, it would be fixed.

We worried and tried to make up for the parts of this stay that were out of our control. Fulvio was really worried about everything that happened and kept us updated and tried to fix everything. These people never tried to work with us - only to deny their responsibility for damage they caused.

This review is especially offensive because of the language & the low rating in areas that are without question perfect, like location, sleep quality & cleanliness.

I will try to get our happy guests to review as well, but I hope everyone takes this review with a bag of salt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is Laura, owner of condo 8200. Last week, I received a call from my renter that the bed was sagging in the middle. The metal frame underneath the mattress had cracked and the mattress had nothing to support it. I had it fixed that day and my renters commented on how comfortable the bed was after the fix. It’s an expensive, pillow-top mattress and sleeps great, now that the frame is no longer broken.

I’m also confused about the “stock” furniture comment. The hand-carved entertainment unit was purchased in a shop in town. I brought the overstuffed chair down from Colorado with me when I drove down four years ago. The stone coffee table was purchased in Cozumel, the sofa at a store in Cancun. So, no stock furniture here.

A gentle reminder to renters. Please let your owner or management company know if you have problems, we can’t fix things that we don’t know about. I give my renters my home phone number, the call is free from the condo, and tell them that if they need ANYTHING, to give me a call. I also tell them that the management office located on-site will help them with anything they need. I’m so very sorry that the previous renter didn’t take advantage of either of these options, he would have had a much nicer vacation if he had, and a much better night’s sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura33514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

What a wonderful relaxing gem! We have been coming to Cozumel for years and were ready to try condo life. Unit 6220 is so beautiful and comfortable! The maintanance and cleaning staff were very helpful and marketing/cooking for ourselves was very fun! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

See dianeg review of January, 2012. Stayed here in early February, and all that Diane describes is right-on. May be crowded during spring break weeks, but otherwise it is indeed quiet and peaceful. It was a pleasure to have a wide open beach with unobstructed view of the water. No vendors, no crowds, and always a beach chair or pool side chair available. 8200 is a great neat place - clean, quiet, with great view, but like other condos, the "stock" furniture is just OK. The bed was the worst - uncomfortable with gravity in full force - rolling to the middle! Met many friendly people. The owner was very accommodating and was available by phone to answer any question. Looking for a place to relax? This is a great spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TS26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#21 of 51 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencias Reef Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencias Reef Condos

Property: Residencias Reef Condos
Address: San Francisco Beach, Cozumel, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly luxurious beachfront condo development combining exclusive tropical living with white sandy beach and Turquoise Caribbean waters. From studios to 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residencias Reef Condos Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing