We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great way to get wet!”
Review of ScubaTony Cozumel

ScubaTony Cozumel
Ranked #2 of 302 Tours in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ScubaTony offers personalized dive services at reasonable prices. Specializing in small groups and quality service, we make the needs of our guests our focus. Dive trips are 6 divers max on a fast boat with amenities like fresh fruit, fresh water shower and surface intervals on the beach. You can even private charter the boat just for you. No rush, no hassle and no worries. After all, it is vacation!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While Cozumel has far too many choices for diving, as far as I’m concerned there is only one - ScubaTony. My dad had not dived in over 20 years so we hired a private dive master, Ruben. He gave dad a perfect refresher and hosted us through two fantastic dives. The following day Charlie did precisely the same. Each day we were on a comfortable boat captained by Hector, who regaled is between dives with magic tricks. Every aspect was perfect.

For the best dive in Cozumel, go no further than ScubaTony. You’ll be glad you did!

Thank Theron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScubatonyCozumel, Owner at ScubaTony Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. I’m glad your dad got back in the water after 20 years dry. We are lucky that Hector, Ruben and Charlie are part of the ScubaTony team. We have such a solid crew right now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"captain carlos"
in 62 reviews
"dive master"
in 319 reviews
"night dive"
in 75 reviews
"between dives"
in 67 reviews
"dive experience"
in 64 reviews
"these guys"
in 76 reviews
"fresh water shower"
in 15 reviews
"discover scuba"
in 38 reviews
"surface interval"
in 51 reviews
"fresh fruit"
in 48 reviews
"great dive"
in 61 reviews
"small group"
in 44 reviews
"making sure"
in 46 reviews
"private charter"
in 15 reviews
"personal service"
in 27 reviews
"marine life"
in 50 reviews
"two tank"
in 24 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We just got back from a dive trip with Scuba Tony and it was fantastic. Here is why I am giving them a Five Star review:

Service. The level of service is exceptional. The dive masters and captains are incredibly helpful and attentive, and obviously care about your experience. They lug around all the equipment, give you snacks and fruit after the dive, and have your gear ready to go the next day. All you have to do is show up and dive. They gave us a free souvenir water bottle after we finished the last dive.

Small dive groups. They won’t book more than six divers to a boat to ensure the divers have the best possible experience. The other operations on Cozumel make you go with bigger groups, usually eight or more divers! It ends up feeling crowded and hectic, particularly when your dive group sees something exciting (like a turtle) and everyone tries to look at the same time. Other than the high level of service, guaranteeing you a small dive group really sets them apart from the other operations.

Conditions on Cozumel. The water was perfect. We saw eagle rays, turtles, lobsters, crabs, puffer fish, nurse sharks, and a wide variety of reef fish. We did drift diving with a current, so we were able to experience quite a bit during our dives. Dive master Israel was leading our dive. He was incredibly knowledgeable and stayed with us the entire time. Another guy in our group told a story about a dive in another country where the dive master left them alone in the middle of the first dive. That won’t happen with Scuba Tony.

I also appreciated how respectful they are of the reef and environment. They reminded everyone at the beginning not to touch the reef or take anything during the dive.

Everyone on the trip was very impressed with Cozumel and the people at Scuba Tony. Would highly recommend for new or experienced divers.

Thank ZacInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScubatonyCozumel, Owner at ScubaTony Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for leaving such a thoughtful review. Concierge Diving! That’s a great name for what we do. We look after our guest’s needs and do whatever we can to give them great memories of their trip to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from 5 days of diving with ScubaTony and counting down the days until I return! Everything about the operation is top notch, from reservations and communication with Andrea to the dive masters and boat captains. All my dives I dove with Israel and Papo and they are fantastic both in their knowledge and skills, but also in their friendliness and desire to make your dives the best each day.

Israel was spot on with recommendations for dive sites as some of the days the currents were a bit crazy. Each location we went to had manageable currents. He also worked really hard underwater to look for sea life and did a great job with the pre- dive briefings. Papo was always ready for us with a big smile when we surfaced and seamlessly got our gear ready for the next dive. Loved that we didn’t have to worry about gear all week!

On shore Adam was there most mornings to greet us and Tony came by once. Had great conversations about some of the efforts ScubaTony is making with conservation and preserving the reef! Thank you for that!

Looking forward to returning in the spring and diving again with Scuba Tony!

Thank nwwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScubatonyCozumel, Owner at ScubaTony Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a review. I think you’re right about the briefing. Having a solid briefing before the dive makes everyone more comfortable and helps the dive go smoother. Papo is so solid. He’s just lovely character and loves his job and making people happy. We are fortunate that both Papo and Israel are part of the ScubaTony team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second time out with ScubaTony and they are (still) awesome. I'm very impressed by their easy-going nature but with no lack of preparedness. From the moment we arrived at the marina the crew was taking care of us. Great time on the boat with Carlos (Papo) and Israel as our divemaster. They were a lot of fun and Israel was a perfect leader underwater. I especially appreciated the fresh fruit and snacks on the boat between dives. There is no reason to go anywhere else when you're diving on Cozumel.

1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScubatonyCozumel, Owner at ScubaTony Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for coming back to dive with us. I’ll be passing your review along to the guys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I believe and have experienced Scuba Tony twice in the last two years. It is by far the best dive company ever!
We like the small groups of divers. Their supporting crew consists of very knowledgeable, easy to understand dive masters and the boats captains sincerely care for the safety and well-being of everyone!
You’ll be lucky if you have the chance to dive and learn interesting facts from my favorite dive master, “underwater surfing” Rubin! His enthusiasm and energy really “rocks” the boat!

Thank Dephne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScubatonyCozumel, Owner at ScubaTony Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hahaha! Awesome! Thanks a lot for the review. Your review about Ruben is great. I’ll be sure to share it with him. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ScubaTony Cozumel also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to ScubaTony Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing