We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast”
Review of La Candela

La Candela
Ranked #67 of 380 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious breakfast”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't decide between this or another place on our last day-we hated to pick between the two as they both were to be good this was open so we stopped. Amazing breakfast taste was fab and papaya juice delicious. Service was good And I would say this is a must for traditional mexican breakfast at decent price. They did have some American food for breakfast too if you have a crowd that wants some mexican and some not. Enjoy. Thank you la candela

Helpful?
Thank squirreltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    54
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were told about La Candela by a local artist and we walked down and greeted by a very friendly staff. Food and service were great, could not ask for better. We went back 3 days later and our waiter recognized us and took us right back to the same table and knew drinks we liked. Everyone that we came in to contact with both visits were very friendly and created a great experience. We all smiled the whole time and the food was great. Still want to know what is in that sauce they bring with the chips, loved it. Can't wait to go back next year and see them again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherrintxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“We enjoy this place for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We've eaten here on previous trips and had 2 meals there this trip. The service is good, the menu is varied, the food is served hot. Try the mamay pie or the mamay/mango pie made by the restaurant owner's wife - cool and delicious but not too sweet. You can get an american style breakfast that would be hard to beat in many american restaurants for a very reasonable price - pancakes, omeletes, good coffee, etc.. This has definitely become one of our favorite places in Cozumel!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican food, fresh, not expensive, with great service.”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Been there 3 times with my vegetarian girlfriend during our trip. They changed the menu for her every time so she will be satisfied, and she were. They have a lunch set in 75 mxp, including drink (local ice tea- great!), nachos with sauce, soup, and one of 3 main course with 2 side dishes.
The food was fresh and tasted delicious like was homemade. Also the service was fast and good and they speak English.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Udibental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Wandered into this nice place one morning for breakfast. The food was fresh and hot, the service was excellent, and the prices were very fair. They had a great menu all around and will definitely visit here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Candela also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Candela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing