We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Cuban-Mexican Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Candela

La Candela
Ranked #70 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American, Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuban-Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

4th time to Cozumel and we try different restaurants every time. La Candela was suggested to us by one of the cab drivers. If you are looking for some truly authentic foods. You must go and try La Candela. Its a block off the main beach road. The most amazing hot pepper dip was first served (wish I could find a recipe for it). Great, great food. Wonderful friendly staff, clean and affordable. They only do breakfast and lunch, but well worth going. Going back again when we return next year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireland0137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    52
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett Tx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I had fish tacos and my husband had pork tacos they brought him something with spaghetti .... And the beans were like water .. Not fit for a dog and it was very expensive

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ONEWINGNUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An "OMGoodness Taco"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

First day in Cozumel I woke up craving an authentic mexican taco and margarita and La Candela totally hit the spot!! Not only was it delicious but it was served with this amazing hot pepper-onion sauce that elevated the taste of my chicken taco trio to another level. It's not right on the beach, wasn't busy, and not surrounded by the most beautiful scenery but worth it. If you are taking a cruise in don't bother getting a taxi. Waiter was nice and the chef even came out and made sure my food and drink was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTravelinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“PERFECT FOR YOUR VACATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Even though this restaurant is not on the main strip, this was the perfect place for the most delectable meal we had off our cruise! The staff was very friendly and helpful, our lunch was so yummy! My 4 year old ate all his meal till his plate was clean........my husband would have gone back for dinner if our cruise ship wasn't leaving that day! Everything was home-made and so tasty. The restaurant was clean and quiet! I would definitely recommend this to anyone that is heading to Cozumel! I am so happy a local man suggested this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tremendous fish tacos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent fresh fish tacos. Good mango margaritas. Great fresh food. Quaint location, located right aroudn the road from Blue Magic Scuba. Highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SPLONNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Candela also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Candela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing