We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Perlita

La Perlita
Ranked #21 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very clean and friendly, lots of English spoken. Prices were reasonable, but the value wasn't great. We'd hoped for more, but found the food a bit bland. The pico de gallo was fine, but the only thing with any heat on offer was insanely hot (and we don't generally have an issue with heat), which left us with few options to dress up our meal. Shrimp tacos were tasty, ceviche portion was generous, garlic fish filet was tender but flavourless. They only had one fish option on offer, which was particularly disappointing. We really wanted to like this place more, but will probably just stick to Pescaderia San Carlos in future, even though they're just open for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cariboujerkyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    137
    38
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood in town... and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a typical Mexican seafood restaurant. Nice décor, very clean but by no means luxurious. Just a simple restaurant where the food is the star. Prices are very reasonable and the food is great. No better value anywhere.
Cozumel has great food, but if you're looking for seafood, this is the place.
I have visited quite a few restaurants and La Perlita is at the very top.
The restaurant is located far from the main drag, in a humble part of town but safe.
Once you try the food you know that the bar was risen very high and few other places would get close to them.
A must visit when in Cozumel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank complexmolecule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best of Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

After several trips and many weeks spent sampling the many restaurants in Cozumel, La Perlita is our new favorite. Dinner last night with friends and the combination of service and quality of food and drinks was tops. Especially if you prefer non tourist, local type of place. We're here for the month and we'll be back more than once on this trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank repplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

As has been noted elsewhere, this restaurant is a bit difficult to find but very worth the trouble! My wife and I had shrimp dishes and bother were outstanding. We will try the lionfish on our next visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolute Favorite of the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We used reviews on here to select our dining choices for our trip to Cozumel. After visiting many great restaurants, both upscale and local joints, we ate at La Perlita. It's a short cab ride from the downtown area and totally worth the trip. This place was hands down our favorite restaurant of the trip. The ambiance is cool and the restaurant was decorated nicely. The food was superb and simply amazing. The lionfish was incredible. Absolutely loved this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perlita also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Perlita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing