We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood!”
Review of La Perlita

La Perlita
Ranked #30 of 374 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Lodi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

As has been noted elsewhere, this restaurant is a bit difficult to find but very worth the trouble! My wife and I had shrimp dishes and bother were outstanding. We will try the lionfish on our next visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    141
    41
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolute Favorite of the Trip”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We used reviews on here to select our dining choices for our trip to Cozumel. After visiting many great restaurants, both upscale and local joints, we ate at La Perlita. It's a short cab ride from the downtown area and totally worth the trip. This place was hands down our favorite restaurant of the trip. The ambiance is cool and the restaurant was decorated nicely. The food was superb and simply amazing. The lionfish was incredible. Absolutely loved this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Finally got to eat Lionfish ... revenge is sweet!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We made a special trip out to the north east of Cozumel to eat here. They serve a large menu, but we went specifically for Lionfish. Diving in the Caribbean you see these invasive, nasty (although admittedly lovely) fish in great numbers around the Bahamas. They haven't embraced the culinary possibilities of it there as yet. Had they eaten the two dishes we had the Lionfish population would be in trouble! It was some of the best fish we have eaten- no joke. We are both from the Pacific Northwest (WA and AK) and are authorities on seafood (to say-so myself:)) - but the fish was very well prepared, white meat, firm, tasty stuff. Better than some cod or halibut we've had - absolutely not BS-ing about it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nosh1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do you want to eat REAL local (and delicious!) seafood?”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We asked around for an off the beaten path seafood restaurant where we could have great lobster and found this gem! They had warm, welcoming service like you eating in their house, huge lobster tails at a great price and one of the best Cazuela de Mariscos (Seafood stew) I've ever had.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stopped here for dinner one evening after asking locals where to go for the best seafood. It is off the beaten path, but only a short cab ride. Well worth the trip! The waiter showed us the lobster tails and fish before we ordered. We could even watch them prepare it! Amazing dinner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tulve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perlita also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Perlita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing