We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ran out of lion fish but our meal was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Perlita

La Perlita
Ranked #27 of 363 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ran out of lion fish but our meal was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We came here for the lion fish but they had run out unfortunately. I was bummed cause I really wanted to try lion fish. But our meal here was good. The service was good, although it helps if you know a little Spanish. Our waiter didn't understand a few things we asked for but we rolled with it. We're in HIS country after all. When I'm back in Coz in July, I'll try again for the lion fish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkpowerofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    140
    40
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed twice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The managers of our small hotel were keen on La Perlita, best seafood in town, they declared. So we headed for it the first night. We had Shrimp ceviche and what a bummer. I am only guessing but the shrimp were straight from Thailand. Just those little small shrimp you buy at the market in a bag. Nothing special.

Another night we told our taxi we wanted to go to La Cabana del Pescado. He groaned, and said well they only have crab and lobster on the menu. Because the restaurant has no website we could not have known, but the TA reviews were good. So we paused and asked what would he recommend. Oh, La Perlita. OK, we will give it a 2nd chance. He let us out at La Perlita, then followed us in and went right to the cashier, I'm guessing for his referral fee. This time I took a hard look at the fresh seafood choices. I'm a vegan who will eat fresh fish when I'm on the ocean. The ONLY presentation was the fresh fish, grouper, with garlic and butter. No fruit salsa, no blackened, no creativity. The fresh fish, just plain, was great. John ordered the shrimp fajitas, and unlike the shrimp in the ceviche we had at this restaurant previously, the shrimp were large, and obviously fresh. He loved it.

Personally I would not bother with this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EEBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lionfish and more lionfish!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

La Perlita, the little pearl, has the best lionsfish I have ever had. Lionfish are that invasive species that is devistating reefs from the US through South America. On the bright side, they are very tasty. And in a world where we are made to feel guilty about eating the wrong unsustainable fish, eating lionfish is like earning a merit badge. Every lionfish you eat is saving countless grouper and other reef fish. And it is SO good, especially Xkalacoco which is the coconut breaded with just a touch of sweet. Bring a group and get it several ways and share though. I hear the rest of their menu is great too, but I always go for the lionfish, which is NOW on the main menu. We went in December the first time and they were hosting a posada for the neighbor hood and someone ate all the lionfish. Came back the next day and the fisherman were not back yet. (Now that is how you tell it is FRESH!) We took the option of waiting 20 minutes for it to come in. They treated us very well while we waiting. Every trip should include one stop at La Perlita to do some reef saving!! AND Thursdays are TWO for ONE on the lionfish!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CVChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
175 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Food at a Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Off the beaten tourist path but worth finding for fresh seafood. Deliciously prepared and served hot. This seems to be a local restaurant that tourists have discovered. A little rustic (no glass offered for water or beer) and on the minimalist side but the food and price makes up where it lacks in other areas. We will be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrific Lionfish Dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Last time we were in Cozumel we did not have the pleasure of eating at this restaurant. This time around we ate here twice because we love seafood and we support the culling of Lionfish in the reefs around Cozumel. We tried the coconut lionfish and the grilled lionfish and both were delicious. You get a very large amount of fish for each serving. Lionfish is now one of my favorite dishes to eat thanks to La Perlita. Service is prompt, they take credit cards, and of course most importantly the food is delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perlita also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Perlita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing