We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local, local, local: Superb fresh fish, great character”
Review of La Perlita

La Perlita
Ranked #28 of 369 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local, local, local: Superb fresh fish, great character”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Do you want to get away from the tourists and experience great local, FRESH food? This is the place. Please try La Perlita, even if you have to call a taxi or drive there. Just ask for the fresh fish of the day: whatever you get, you'll be happy. The lion fish (grilled with garlic) was superb, the grouper lightly grilled and in abundant portion. The side veggies were a little bland, but who cares? Great finish for dessert: key lime pie. I live in South Florida, and La Perlita's homemade key lime pie rivals our best. Very friendly waiters and charming decor, atmosphere. Check it out!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank YoginiDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    141
    41
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious seafood”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went to La Perlita with a group of 8 friends, the captain greeted us and brought out a 4kg pargo "catch of the day". While we waited we had Pez Leon ceviche, shrimp tacos, everything was excellent! We ate the whole 4kg pargo and kept ordering because we wanted to try everything it was that good. Great service! And the lemon pie is to die for!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Javier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mexican Seafood one of the best I ever tried. Don't miss it it you like fresh well cooked food'”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had ceviche "scorpion fish" known as Pez Leon very good. Then we tried boquinete fish by far the best fish ever comparing with sea bass and red snapper really outstanding! This is not a fancy place. This a restaurant where local go. Do try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R2ro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very outstanding food and drinks”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went to this restaurant 6-09-2013 with a group of family and friends. This is my second time visiting this place. I got the idea of going to the mercado (market) to purchase fresh fish, shrimp and octopus. I bought 2 big pargos, a kilo of jumbo shrimp and an octopus. Took to Perlita. Talked to chef and waiter. They cooked fish and shrimp and fish half fried and half grilled. Served up up on platters family style. Vegetables, rice and black beans. Wow what a feast. Overkill on the fish 7 of us could not finish fish so we took the rest home. Tasted good next day. a few days later we went in for breakfast. It was ok. Went again for a dinner and ordered a grilled platter with fish, shrimp, lobster, pulpo, and conch. It was very good. The liquor on the drinks is poured not measured so the drinks are nice and strong. The owner has a social conscience and gives food and drink to the poor that would come by asking for help.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Huge portions of great food !”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent variety of cheviche and cooked seafood. We had an enormous portion of mixed ceviche which 4 of us shared. Al of the main dishes were great which included seafood stuffed peppers, octopus with garlic, baked fish ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michel_myMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perlita also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Perlita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing