We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've been coming here for years...”

Mezcalitos Restaurant & Beach Bar Cozumel
Ranked #79 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I've been coming here for years...”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've been coming to Cozumel for almost 20 years and basically spent every summer of my life here..... and MEZCALITOS is absolutely one of my favorite places to visit. The quality of the people who serve you along with the food and view makes for a pretty fantastic day at the beach. I'm happy the trip advisor is so popular that I am finally able to recommend some of my favorite island places. ENJOY!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    73
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

i went today to mezcalitos and that was a wonderful experience they have the best service ever and the prices are very friendly the food is delicious and they have special drinks that are very fresh and good,. the view its unique and they have the perfect spots to enjoy it, definitely i will return to this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank osmarenho25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Margaritas in Paradise”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A trip to Cozumel is incomplete without visiting Mezcalito´s. The food is AWESOME, the shrimp nachos, pico de gallo and the cheese burger in paradise are my favorites. I was told that they use a secret marinade to cook so that everything tastes delicious. I wasn´t a Margarita drinker until I tried the Mezcalito´s Margarita, it´s great. You can relax with a cold beer in the hammocks after a night of partying or you can hang out at the bar and party even more. I met girls from Brazil, Denmark and England that came in cruises, and families that have been going there for years. Eating, drinking and partying right next to the beach is a experience I will definitely repeat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfonso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel
2 reviews
“Mezcalito's--the original Cozumel beach bar”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Mezcalito's is amazing because it is what it is: funky, charming, no-frills, by the sea. We have been coming here again and again because it was the first beach bar on Cozumel's East side--since 1979! The staff are cool and not at all pushy, which is such a nice break from downtown Cozumel's super intense salespeople. Mezcalito's has hammocks, swings, great beach, palapas, and I haven't even started on the food and drinks...Their margaritas are the best I have ever tasted. For sure. So fresh, no mix, delicious. The food is incredible, whether you want Mexican or more American style. I usually get breaded fish tacos and ask them to make me a special off-the-menu tartara sauce that's like a chunky chipotle mayo, sooooo good.
Okay, I'm rambling, but you should go to Mezcalito's and see what the fuss is about! It's THAT good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've been to this restaurant/bar several times through the years. Eating, drinking or just laying around in one of their hammocks, listening to the ocean, is reason enough to come back. This is one of the top places that I've ever been, that makes me feel at home, in such a peaceful setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezcalitos Restaurant & Beach Bar Cozumel also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Mezcalitos Restaurant & Beach Bar Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing