We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
BAR NONE - "THE BEST DIVE COMPANY IN COZUMEL!!!"

ScubaLuis Dive Shop Cozumel . . . “THE BEST!!!” Luis and Jaime (pronounced hi-me) are the two... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
David G
Hands down best dive company ever

Let me start this off by saying that we are newly certified OW divers. I contacted Luis after he... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
tfrandsen1974
Read all 167 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cozumel
from $60.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
Cozumel Food Tour
378 Reviews
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
167
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surface interval night dive marine life eagle rays the reefs dive master dive experience lionfish hunting lionfish ceviche smallest things provide fresh unlimited water warm towels diving community incredible knowledge concierge diving great snacks
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 167 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2017

We dove with ScubaLuis for six days in December. It was a delightful diving experience. Luis is an experienced and savvy dive master. His knowledge of reefs and the sights on each is unparalleled. Diving on a smaller boat is a good experience but Luis makes it a great experience providing amenities like towels for a comfortable down time between dives. Our night dive was spectacular with the octopi putting on a floor show for us. ScubaLuis is our dive company of choice and we will be back again soon for another exciting dive experience swimming with the eels and eagle rays.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Lake85Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile


ScubaLuis is the BEST dive company that we have ever experienced anywhere! There are many great companies out there, but we choose ScubaLuis for many reasons.

1) Are you looking for a Dive Master who knows the Cozumel Reefs and marine life like the back of their hand?
- ScubaLuis is a second generation dive master, and is currently working with his sons to provide safe, knowledgeable, and fun scuba diving. Our friend Raphael lost his iPhone while scuba diving and didnt realize it until 45 minutes into our surface interval. Luis was able to get the boat back to the exact site we dove, and recovered the iPhone within 5 minutes!!! Ask Luis what he found when he took us all back down for our second dive—he’s amazing!

2) Are you looking for a Scuba shop that offers personalized diving services?
- ScubaLuis specializes in smaller scuba excursions. We had no more than 6 divers over our entire two weeks (28 dives) of diving with Luis! He greeted us with our own water bottle filled with fresh, cold water to enjoy on our ride out to the first dive site. After each day of amazing diving, he offered to hold onto our gear and bring it back to us on the boat the next day (so much better than lugging your stuff back and finding places to hang stuff when you are tired and hungry after a dive!). Speaking of hungry, Luis and his crew bring THE BEST snacks to enjoy during the surface interval. The pineapple is fresher than anything we’ve ever had.

3) Are you looking for flexibility in scheduling?
- ScubaLuis offered to pick us up at the peer at Secrets which was a 2 minute walk from our next door condo
- Diving with another operation required that we drive to their designated departure peer (every morning, having to get dressed and drive to a resort that you have to walk through to access the pier versus walking barefoot from your condo with your dry bag and meeting the awesome crew and cruising out to the dive site)

4) And of course, last but not least…"Safety #1 “
- We ALWAYS felt safe and Luis does an excellent job to select dive locations that meets all divers skills
- Captain Andres was always less than 3 minutes away from us after every drift dive. He did an excellent job of finding and following us. Also, Luis’s son Adrian was so kind and eager to help. We really love diving with these awesome people (btw, Luis’ English is AWESOME…so if language barriers stress you out when diving…you’ll appreciate Luis even more!)


Luis is like family to us after the years of diving with him. He’s a great man, full of passion and knowledge for diving! You’ll be in good hands with Luis and his crew!

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank NimbleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Like the other glowing reviews, we were impressed. We had to wait 4 days to get a spot on his boat but we were not disappointed. We've been diving for 12 years in Cozumel with lots of different dive shops and he's the best. We will let our friends know!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank 72Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

I must admit I am hesitant writing this glowing review because it will be much harder in the future to get a spot on his boat. My 19 year old daughter and I have been diving with Luis for four years. When he started his own business we knew that there was no chance we would dive with anyone else. The reasons are simple: small boat with max 6 divers, awesome fresh fruit snacks and cake during dive intervals, Luis knows the reefs like few others, always drops you in the right spot in the reef, and Luis is one of the kindest people that I have met. If you have an underwater emergency while diving with Luis you can rest assured that he is going to be there to assist. He proved it to me when he saved my daughter from a boat prop when she was newly certified. I owe him more than I can possibly express. Keep up the good work Luis. Hopefully I can still get a booking as your status rises in Trip Advisor.

Date of experience: January 2017
2  Thank mpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Like many others, we first dove with Luis while he was with another dive op and, when he told us he was going out on his own, we didn't hesitate to follow him......and we are very happy we did!
ScubaLuis may be a small operation but Luis and his crew provide excellent service and will meet your every need. He limits his boat to 6 divers and provides personal service that will ensure you get your money's worth. We had input on the dive-sites (depending on weather conditions) and lets you dive your tank.
His boat, the Ranger, is clean, comfortable and well-outfitted and his lunches were delicious.
If you've book multiple days, they will even keep your gear between dives if you prefer and have everything ready for you when you arrive for your next day of diving in paradise!
Luis is an experienced and outstanding Divemaster and possesses that special talent of being able to do everything well. His respect for the reef and love for what he does is obvious and shines through in his entire operation.
Cozumel is a diving mecca with a multitude of dive ops but we've found the one we'll be staying with!
If you are looking for an outstanding diving experience with personalized service, then go with ScubaLuis.......you will NOT be disappointed!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank NovaScotiaNick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews