We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best lobster place in Cozumel”

Fernando Junior's Lobster House
Ranked #40 of 363 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A romantic place in which lobster is the only main dish served, we have been doing it for 33 years to serve you the best in town! We also have daily appetizers and dessert
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best lobster place in Cozumel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Its a small romantic place with great Lobster beware its a cash only venue and its not cheap. My only suggestion for the restaurant is if you are going to acompany your lobster with butter it should be a great quality of butter. Lets just say I had higher expectatios for the butter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sanve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    81
    18
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If you want lobster, and ONLY lobster, this is the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Us, "I'll have a beer. What type do you have?" Waiter," We have Sol." Ok....well "Ill have a tea." Watier, "We have Sangria." Great....Ill take a Sangria! Not a lot of choice here, and that's ok. The quality of the lobster is fantastic. You choose your tail, they weigh it, tell you the cost and cook it up for you. Not inexpensive, this restaurant was our choice for a birthday supper. It was the most expensive meal we ate the whole trip at over $150 per couple after drinks and desert. We chose pretty big tails and I believe they were over $50 each. We were asked if we would like an appetizer. Sure! "What do you have?" "We have shrimp wrapped with bacon." And...? Just shrimp wrapped in bacon. They were great, as were the veggies and bread served with the meal.

The key lime pie is served in a small casserole, baked individually, not a slice of pie. It is plenty to share. Excellent margaritas, top quality lobster and good service. We were the only people in the restaurant and we enjoyed the chirping geckos, but not the copious incense burning around us. I had to go home and wash my hair! This restaurant is not on the water, and it has a typical, quirky local type of decor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aljameela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My beautiful bride of 26 years try and make this place our anniversary dinner.Made it another year with friends from BWI.Very rustic and no frills,walk up,pick out lobster,weigh it and then priced.Veggies are pressure cooked maybe?Not sure how but are delicious along with the bread and butter.We have eaten a lot of lobster in our travels but none better than at The Lobster House.Make sure you visit the Right one on the right.Jimi is an excellent and friendly waiter always wearing a big smile.Enjoy your stay and Lobster. P.S. the banana drink after dinner alone will bring you back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Key Lime Pie Ever!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The lobster was delicious, quite pricy at 48$ for a tail but good. My husbands steak however was ordered medium rare and came to us well done. The second steak came still totally raw, still cold, when they retired it was edible. But the key Lime Pie is to die for. We have been back a couple times just for dessert.

I would suggest waiting to use the bathroom however. It is very unstable to get to and then very dirty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckosoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

When you travel to Cozumel, you really should visit this restaurant. The owners are very gracious and the food is fantastic! You get to choose your own lobster so you get the amount you want. The portions are perfect. The ambiance is very romantic but is also suitable for families and friends. I have dined at this restaurant multiple times and always make sure I make time for it when I travel to Cozumel. There is no A/C but they utilize fans to keep you cool.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank divergirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernando Junior's Lobster House also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Fernando Junior's Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing