We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food we've had in Cozumel. Repeat trips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Moro

El Moro
Ranked #14 of 363 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best food we've had in Cozumel. Repeat trips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've been to El Moro in both 2008 and recently in 2014. The food is outstanding. I highly recommend the shrimp. The fried shrimp are the largest I've ever seen. We had a few different varieties at the table and they are clean, fresh, and delicious. Everything we ordered was just top notch. Their service is excellent, and make sure to check out the picture of Steve Buscemi on the back wall. I recommend that you ask taxi drivers about their favorite places to eat, mention El Moro and ask their opinion. As other reviewer stated, this place is off the beaten path, well worth the trip. It was my wife's birthday and they made her a special dessert with a festive show as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    109
    38
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Had dinner here twice this trip. Excellent, as always.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Took a Mahi filet that my wife caught there to be prepared for dinner one evening. They cooked it two different ways, and both were awesome. They thanked us for trusting them(to cook the fish we brought)! How thoughtful. It's like going home to family when you dine there. Hugs and everything!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good local places are disappearing in Cozumel. The Carlos and Charley crowd have pushed most of the real ones out of the center. This was among the best 20 years ago and still is. The menu hasn't changed and holds almost 300 local and Mayan dishes. My favorite is a Mayan fish dish cooked in foil, probably a leaf earlier, with a wonderful sauce, I think its called Papilotte. Two of them and 3 Dos Eqies cost $31. The building is what you expect in coastal Mexico, open along the front and cooled with fans, and not fancy. The waiters, led by Ray, will make you want to come back often. It is located inland from the square near 80th Street. We take a cab out for $4-5 and walk back to the square to see more of the local people. You can't beat the El Moro experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docfrank2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good authentic Mexican food. In a very obscure area. Great prices...not the tourist mark up. Service was a little slow.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppyintmedfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best In Cozumel...PERIOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

If you travel to Cozumel and don't visit El Moro, you have really missed a big highlight of your trip. The food and family atmosphere here is incredible. It's hard to find this quality of service in the US and Ray and his family consistently go above and beyond. From the kids who are looking for a few pesos for opening your car doors to the entire experience, this place is incredible. You will see allot of locals and return travelers in this restaurant and for good reason. Try the Steak Tampico! We will be back to visit our new family at El Moro soon.....can't wait. Mike & LeighAnn S. Loveland, CO

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank protrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Moro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing