We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatness!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Moro

El Moro
Ranked #14 of 363 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greatness!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Food was great and fair prices. Waiter was awesome. Off the beaten path but worth the time to find. Food is dress and very tasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LESWWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    109
    38
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good service but food not so great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Having read the TA reviews, we headed to El Moro with high hopes. Lovely, friendly and fast service, but let down by the food and drink. Our mojitos tasted non alcoholic (follow up beers were stronger), my wife's 'Mexican' sauce on the shrimp tasted decidedly weird, and whilst my fish was fresh, was heavily over salted. For the price, we've eaten better at other places. I wouldn't advise it as a no go, but equally I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TubsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
609 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Great Place for Great Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place is hard to find but easy to like. The seafood is fresh and the place is lively and fun. There were several fish items at our table, they all were excellent. This would be considered a local tourist place, but not a tourist trap. Prices are reasonable. Service is awesome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and lively place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had some great meals at El Moro. We always went as a big group and they did a great job of getting food and drinks in a timely manner. The selection and quality were great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PlasticmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
182 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“fun evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

After many years of great meals in many of Cozumel's wonderful restaurants we finally made it this year to El Moro, a restaurant we have wanted to try but always had trouble finding. Well that problem is solved, tucked away in a small neighborhood well above the commercial zone we were rewarded with a wicked good meal and great service in this crowded, popular restaurant that is great for families and large parties. Family run it has a warm inviting atmosphere and the clientele appear to be seasoned travelers, or expats who are familiar with the restaurant. We met the owner and his family and were amazed at how they dealt with a pretty full house with only one waiter and the bartender helping out. Our meals were terrific, served quickly and with style and humor and the seemed to be a very positive vibe throughout the restaurant. Even the neighborhood kids get in on the action and they entertained us while we waited for a table, took some wonderful photos and a good time was had by all. Will definitely be on our list to return to. Highly recommend the chicken motelenos and the breaded shrimp.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyeroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Moro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing