We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun! Fun! Fun!”
Review of El Moro

El Moro
Ranked #13 of 370 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Byron, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun! Fun! Fun!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A truly neighborhood restaurant. We were greeted with shy smiles by the little boys playing in the street. Our waiter sported the biggest, warmest smile on the island. The fish is fresh and delicious! The Mayan coffee performance was spectacular! We felt like family and even received a kiss on the cheek when we left! I could eat here every night. It is an adventure trying to find it, too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vaughnarkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    109
    38
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome food, noisy atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We visited El Moro based on reviews here. Arrived with reservations for 6:30 on a Saturday night in mid-Feb. Didn't need them that early but by about 7:30 it was pretty crowded.
Our waiter was a whirling dervish but great at handling all orders quickly and with a big smile.
I'd say it was a blend of about 2/3 tourists or possibly expats, 1/3 local families. Which says to me it's been around long enough to have a great reputation that appeals to all.
The food was some of the best we've had-perfect mojitos, big fat shrimp in papillotte with scrumptious sauce, fresh fish, fried plantains OMG, chunky guacamole...
Oh yes had to get the special coffee. Superb show/presentation including a princess legend, flames, the works. Coffee was a little less flavorful than I expected even with all the booze & other ingredients but who cares it was the show that mesmerized the room.
All in all, SO glad we went. If we return it'll be early on a week night. Just a little too crowded & noisey for me

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonPhotoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic and Not Touristy”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Yucatan authentic. The real deal. Terrific food and service. Family run. A gem not to be missed. Shrimp in papillotte was our favorite. Queso fundido also yummy. Fresh, homemade tortillas.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CGUESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss El Moros”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I remember the first time we "hunted" this place down! Now each time I visit Cozumel, it is on the list of places to visit. The food and the atmosphere is the best on the island. Leave the resorts behind and venture out for some real Mexican food. You truly will become a life long fan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lead, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind, local family restaurant !!! 5 Stars !!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

El Moro is a fabulous local family restaurant! We have eaten there many times and the Mexican food, service, and drinks were all outstanding ! Ray is the Greatest of Hosts!! (and the rest the family is very genuine,also) Our favorite is the grilled garlic shrimp, grilled grouper, strong favorful margaritas, and the coffee is a MUST special treat ...is out of this world!
We love this place! :-)) p.s. take a cab, it is a little hard to find.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazznT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Moro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing