We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reivews”
Review of El Moro

El Moro
Ranked #14 of 380 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Old Fort, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Believe the reivews”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The food was good but with all places we found, be careful of how salty some of the dishes can be. Especially the garlic sauces. Ceviche was as good as we had. not only VERY fresh fish but great job with the shrimp.
Our fish dishes were all very fresh and really enjoyed the Shrimp barcelona style. The thing that makes El Moro Excellant is Ray. After going through the tourist traps it is so nice to find some one truly sincere making this an experience like no other we have had.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    107
    38
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“El Overpriced”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Traveling to Cozumel for over 25 years and have been to El Moro,over several occasions, most recently 3 months ago. A family run establishment, once was excellent. Now exclusively a tourist spot catering to Americans. The ambiance is authentic, food at best is OK. Most definitely well overpriced for what it is.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZflyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, service”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The food is authentic and delicious. The service is amazing! This is a family run business and I think anyone who goes to Cozumel should have a meal at El Moro!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lukhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Yucatan Pork Chop was one of the best meals I had in Cozumel. Smiling Ray made the night memorable - as did our kids playing air hockey with the locals. Thanks!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimT98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Food and Service in Cozumel!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everytime we go to Cozumel, we make a trip to see Ray at El Moro's. This time, we went twice! The food is authentic and delicious. The service is amazing! Ray makes us feel as though we are friends coming to his house for a special meal! His steaks are wonderful and cooked exactly right! Ray takes your order and then goes back and cooks your meal for you. Hardest working guy on the island! This is a family run business and I think anyone who goes to Cozumel should have a meal at El Moro!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Moro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing