We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten path, but worth the trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Moro

El Moro
Ranked #14 of 363 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Black Lick, PA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but worth the trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had a fantastic meal here in last week. I had the Chicken Fajitas and they were awesome. It is a bit out of town but worth the trip. We took a local friend and he also enjoyed it. The five of us ate for about 500p. Pretty cheap in my opinion for great food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    109
    38
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some of the best food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Each year for the past 4 years I have eaten at El Moro. They are like family! Awesome food and always a great place to eat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank H2O_Education
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozumel
1 review
“happy fathers day to all !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

gracias muchas gracias for one more year!

as a father to anothers!
happy fathers days!
especially to mike and donna !
blessings to all and gracias muchas gracias again from :
ray!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ray rodolfo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I am amazed that this place gets as many positive reviews as it does. First, EVERY place in Cozumel should be able to make a decent frozen margarita. El Moro served me crushed ice (not slush) with only a hint of tequila. Second, my fish dish was covered with an indistinct gelatinous goo which ruined what could have been a palatable dish. Others in my party had better luck with chicken kebabs, but I'm not sure El Moro is much better - and could be worse - than other places MUCH closer to the seafront.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic food and away from the bustle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had chicken mole, pineapple water and finished it off with a shot of their anise. It was a very nice meal and a great way to experience authentic food from the island. It is definitely worth the trek across town.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeanP329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Moro also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing