We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Margarita's ever!!!”
Review of Pancho's Backyard

Pancho's Backyard
Reserve with OpenTable
Pancho's Backyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 404 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Extraordinary Mexican food and awesome Margaritas are served graciously at the lush patio of one of Cozumel's most beautiful colonial buildings, amidst splashing fountains and tasteful decor. When you visit Pancho's Backyard don't forget to bring your camera! Live Marimba music during lunch.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

2 years ago My husband and I went in a cruise to Cozumel and visit for first time Pancho's Backyard. The service is really great, great traditional food. Food is really clean and fresh. We went again on July and still the same great service and margaritas!

Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Thank you for your review!

The margaritas heavenly! The tequila comes straight from the barrel with local flavors made fresh daily they are a work of art. The authentic Mexican food & relaxing environment make the perfect island getaway.

Come drink a margarita with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 813 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Right there in the Puerta Maya Port, 5 minutes walking distance from the international port, great service, great food, try the mango margarita!

Thank lam_morales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Thank you for your review!

The margaritas heavenly! The tequila comes straight from the barrel with local flavors made fresh daily they are a work of art. The authentic Mexican food & relaxing environment make the perfect island getaway.

Come drink a margarita with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were shopping before heading back to the ship when the "men and children" in the group wanted something to drink. They stopped in at Poncho's and before we knew it we had drinks and eats that were FABULOUS!! The atmosphere was SO NICE AND RELAXING. There were 2 musicians playing music and it was like sitting in an outdoor living room. If I could have stayed longer I would!!! Hoping to visit again and yes the food (all appetizers) was yummy!!!

Thank KIM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Thank you for your review!

We believe that Pancho's Backyard is a rare find that leaves the your belly full and your heart happy. With family, friends and your new amigos at Pancho's Backyard and it creates a memory that stands our of the crowd!

Can't wait to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I took some friends that were visiting the island to Pancho's Backyard on July 27th. As we were being given excellent service by Edwin, the thought occurred that I have never weighed in on TripAdvisor about them. Well, having worked in the restaurant business for a number of years, I can recommend them for:

1) Value - Entrees are $10-20 a plate and I never leave hungry. Also, they offer free refills on soft drinks (which is rare in Cozumel, but very appreciated).
2) Service - Edwin was outstanding, going above and beyond to be attentive and anticipate our needs! However, everyone who has taken care of us in the past has been great, and sets themself apart from many of the other waitstaff on this island!
3) Food - I hate to place this 3rd on the list because the flavors are amazing and true to authentic Mexican cuisine. I almost always order the sampler platter with a tasty tamale, sweet spicy chile relleno, and a juicy perfect temp beef medallion that I find nowhere else on the island! Also, as a side note, the Dos XX Ambar draft is ice cold, and their selection of quality tequila is top notch (Their shop Cinco Soles sells 1921 Reserve which is hard to find but the smoothest tquila you will ever taste!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aries B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2016

Thank you for your review!

The atmosphere and the food are only part of what make Pancho's Backyard one if a kind. The smiles on our customers faces are our true success. As we serve you our food in the our beautiful environment it makes us so happy!

Can't wait to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

It could use some fans to make the dining more comfortable but that is the only bad thing I can say about this place. Fish tacos are good.

Thank Connie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2016

Thank you for your review!

We are so happy that you could enhance your visit to Cozumel with a visit to the best place on the island. Pancho's Backyard is the perfect place to create memories. Thanks for your visit.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Backyard also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pancho's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing