We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican Food Cozumel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pancho's Backyard

Pancho's Backyard
Reserve with OpenTable
Pancho's Backyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 363 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Extraordinary Mexican food and awesome Margaritas are served graciously at the lush patio of one of Cozumel's most beautiful colonial buildings, amidst splashing fountains and tasteful decor. When you visit Pancho's Backyard don't forget to bring your camera! Live Marimba music during lunch.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican Food Cozumel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Every time we visit Cozumel, Mexico, we have lunch at Pancho's Backyard downtown. You enter it through the Los Cinco Sole store. Besides having great atmosphere and entertainment, the wait staff is friendly and the food is really good. They have the best guacamole sauce I've tasted. We always go back for more and take our friends!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, January 1, 2016
Thank you for your review!

A visit to Cozumel isn't complete without a visit to Pancho's Backyard. Hands down it's the best place on the island to eat, drink, and have the time of your life.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    295
    108
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant, and beautiful views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was a hot day of shopping and we decided to stop here for a break and some lunch. It was not air conditioned, be we were given a table under a fan with a beautiful view of the ocean. Had a great Margarita and sandwich. Service was pretty good and chairs were very comfortable. The sandwiches were well prepared and when an error in our order was discovered, it was quickly corrected. Definitely would stop again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, January 5, 2016
Thank you for your comments!

We are fortune that Pancho still comes by daily and checks on the food quality and taste to make sure that it remains true to the authentic Mexican roots that he established years ago. With his help Pancho's Backyard has become a great place to create life-long memories.

Thanks again and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance, Food, and Shopping!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Dinner was fantastic! We always make sure to eat here on our stays on the island. We had a little of everything at our table. I had th delicious shrimp skewers that came with a small grill to my table. Very fun! The fried ice cream wasgreat also. But they put something strange on the fruit which we found out was a tamerin margarita.

The fountains were nice. And very nice clean bathrooms. The best thing is that it is in the best store on the whole island, Cinco Soles.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckosoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
You can never go wrong at Pancho's Backyard. It is something you need to visit every time your in Cozumel! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
238 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Our favorite Cozumel Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were on a Carnival cruise and docked in Cozumel. This is our third time at this restaurant. You must try the chicken enchiladas - best we ever had.
We were walking towards the restaurant and a waiter said we could sit right by the water in the sand and he would serve us. Can't get any better than that! We were there for 2.5 hours, drinking margarites, having chips and guacamole, chicken enchiladas and ice cream for dessert. All of the waiters are so friendly and professional. There are two guys who play music - be sure to give them a tip - they do a great job in the hot weather. We know you get meals onboard but don't miss this great restaurant and food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PLan977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, December 30, 2015
Thank you for your review!

We believe that Pancho's Backyard is a rare find that leaves the your belly full and your heart happy. With family, friends and your new amigos at Pancho's Backyard and it creates a memory that stands our of the crowd!

Can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped here on a cruise recently. We rented a Jeep and explored the island and ended up here for a cold drink and something light to eat. The atmosphere is great. They had a two piece band playing and they were really good. The server was engaging and nice. We shared a plate of chicken nachos and they were delicious! The margritas were perfect! Would love to come back and eat an entire meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PinKLindsayGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, January 5, 2016
Thank you for your review!

The atmosphere and the food are only part of what make Pancho's Backyard one if a kind. The smiles on our customers faces are our true success. As we serve you our food in the our beautiful environment makes us so happy!

Can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Backyard also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pancho's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing