We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great outdoor garden restaurant”
Review of Pancho's Backyard

Pancho's Backyard
Reserve with OpenTable
Pancho's Backyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 400 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Extraordinary Mexican food and awesome Margaritas are served graciously at the lush patio of one of Cozumel's most beautiful colonial buildings, amidst splashing fountains and tasteful decor. When you visit Pancho's Backyard don't forget to bring your camera! Live Marimba music during lunch.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we were visiting Cozumel for one day while our cruise ship was docked, there. We shopped at a cool store for jewelry and clothing. Attached to this great store is Pancho's Backyard. We walked into a green filled garden and with lovely tile and lots of tables. The music was live and the service was excellent. Looking around, I knew I was in an authentic Mexican restaurant. I ordered chips and then a chicken quesadilla, that was delicious. My brother had a fish taco and loved it. The drinks were good, as well.

Please try this place if youu are hungry and want a true Mexican experience.

Linda Gross

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zydecolover852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2015

Thank you for your review!

We believe that Pancho's Backyard is a rare find that leaves the your belly full and your heart happy. With family, friends and your new amigos at Pancho's Backyard and it creates a memory that stands our of the crowd!

Can't wait to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 971 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family and friends love this restaurant. The ambiance is authentic and the food is delicious and very affordable. Would highly recommend this restaurant. The service is awesome as well!

Thank kimnart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Thank you for your review!

We believe that Pancho's Backyard is a rare find that leaves the your belly full and your heart happy. With family, friends and your new amigos at Pancho's Backyard and it creates a memory that stands our of the crowd!

Can't wait to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My sister wanted us to experience Pancho's Backyard, as she had been there 4 times before. She raved about the food and drinks, so our expectations were very high.

The food was fine, but very bland and we at first were wondering why we were there.

After having had an awesome time, with our family of 11, including kids 8-12, I can say, go for the people, the experience and the fun. We really enjoyed our time at Pancho's and can not say enough about the atmosphere and the wonderful staff.

First, our waiter Fernando was amazing! He was so warm, so patient and so much fun. We were disorganized in ordering but he took us in stride, and I would return, just to have him as my waiter again.

Second, there is a couple who play the xylophone in the courtyard. All of us parents and kids enjoyed listening to them and singing along, it was fun!

Third, the atmosphere is very nice. You walk through Los Cinco Soles gift shop, which is nice in it's own right, into a cool, pretty courtyard restaurant. It's comfortable, but upscale, we loved it!

Beware of the drinks. Other people warned us that they were stronger than we would realize: Other people were right. One margarita was enough to make me feel quite tipsy! The drinks are extremely strong; tasty, but they pack a big punch.

All in all, I would go back to Pancho's, it was a fun time and a nice place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 52marv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Thank you for your wonderful comments. The Pancho's Backyard experience is one to none. You and your family will want to come back again and again. Can't wait for you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've been here many times over the years and have never been disappointed. We went into town to go to the original location rather than the one at Puerta Maya where our cruise ship docked. It's so worth the trip! The original location is in the open air courtyard of Los Cinco Soles. It's like you're in a lush patio garden, very cool in the heat of the day!
We arrived there about 30 min before dinner service and requested the dinner menu. (Much better than the lunch menu!!) The waiter was very accommodating, and after checking with the kitchen, let us know that there were a couple of items not available just yet, but aside from those items, we were able to order from the dinner menu. The sangria is wonderful and the food was as good as I remembered. Grilled shrimp doesn't sound like much, but the way they season it and present it (your skewer comes on it's own little charcoal grill) is fantastic! And the black bean soup is to die for!!!!
The atmosphere, the staff and of course the food are the reasons this has and will probably always be in my top 10 places to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gpisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2016

Thank you for your review!

Pancho's Backyard is UNFORGETTABLE!! You will always remember the great tastes, flavors, and feelings here at Pancho's Backyard. Thanks for the recommendation.

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Ate here after reading reviews here. It's so-so Mexican food. Location is convenient, service is friendly but place was dead and as I said food was just average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danny_BoyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2016

Thank you for your review! Pancho's Backyard has been an icon in Cozumel for 20 years and counting. We are happy that you could enjoy your experience in the wonderful atmosphere with amazing food and drinks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Backyard also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pancho's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing