We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with integrity; the rest, maybe not”
Review of Pancho's Backyard

Pancho's Backyard
Reserve with OpenTable
Pancho's Backyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 380 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Extraordinary Mexican food and awesome Margaritas are served graciously at the lush patio of one of Cozumel's most beautiful colonial buildings, amidst splashing fountains and tasteful decor. When you visit Pancho's Backyard don't forget to bring your camera! Live Marimba music during lunch.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food with integrity; the rest, maybe not”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

During our low-season visit to Cozumel, we went to Pancho's Backyard right from a late-night ferry. The service was impeccable, our waiter Manual learned our names and gave good suggestions. The food was delicious. It was late at night and there was a nice breeze, so the outside seating was very pleasant (there is no AC in this restaurant -- it is all open to the outdoors). The decorations and ambiance were both really nice.

For a while, we were the only ones in the restaurant. When a new group of people arrived, they seated them right next to us. Normally, this would have been fine, except that they started smoking at their table, even though right on the table is a sign saying the area is 100% tobacco free. The waiter asked them to smoke in the courtyard area, so they moved to our other side (still right next to us) and smoked there. I was upset -- if you are going to proclaim your restaurant a smoke-free zone, then it needs to be one. If you're going to break the rules, at least separate those people from your other customers (the entire restaurant was empty). The smoke blowed in under the overhang and right into our faces and food. It definitely soured the night for me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, January 1, 2016
Thank you for your review!

A visit to Cozumel isn't complete without a visit to Pancho's Backyard. Hands down it's the best place on the island to eat, drink, and have the time of your life.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    303
    112
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very neat atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Food was great, waitstaff was very slow but that seemed normal again. There were tons of mesquitos so bring bug spray. If it wasnt for that it wouldof been a must for everyone. I will go again but with spray.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, January 5, 2016
Thank you for your review!

The atmosphere and the food are only part of what make Pancho's Backyard one if a kind. The smiles on our customers faces are our true success. As we serve you our food in the our beautiful environment makes us so happy!

Can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Cozumel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've been to Cozumel many times on cruises and have usually just gone back to the ship to eat. Food there is free and we are confident it is prepared in clean kitchens. However, this trip we decided to be brave and try eating at the pier. Pancho's Backyard did not disappoint us. The food was excellent and the raspberry margarita was the best one ever! We were seated very quickly (despite 3 ships being in port that day) and the service was outstanding. We even were treated to a little entertainment with an iguana and a bird fighting over a piece of bread just outside the restaurant on the deck.
This restaurant is now on our "must eat here" list whenever we get back to Cozumel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsktdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, January 1, 2016
Thank you for your review!

Pancho's Backyard is honored that you would come to your restaurant. Can't wait until you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I highly recommend this place! The food is delicious! This was our favorite place to eat, so much that we went there twice during our most recent Cozumel vacation. We love to eat out and we love to try new places but this one deserved a second night!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smstensaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the food, friends, and experience at Pancho's Backyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicous food and beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

try the fish, any fish, its all yummy. The drinks are great too, its a hidden gem thats for sure. The wait staff is very attentive and the atmosphere is very relaxing and cool.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Guest Relations Manager at Pancho's Backyard, responded to this review, January 2, 2016
Thank you for your review!

Pancho's Backyard is UNFORGETTABLE!! You will always remember the great tastes, flavors, and feelings here at Pancho's Backyard. Thanks for the recommendation.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Backyard also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pancho's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing