We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ceviche!”
Review of Palmeras

Palmeras
Ranked #28 of 404 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went to this restaurant because it was directly across from the ferry to Playa del Carmen. We had the ceviche Mixto. It was the best I have tasted in a long time. Service was fast and efficient. Enjoyed the view and people watching from the open air restaurant. When they offer a margarita "fuerte"' make sure you have someone who can wheelbarrow you home! Strong but delicious. Would definitely go again to try other offerings on the menu.

Thank trvellinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerasrestaurante, manejo de redes sociales / Social Media Manager at Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for visit and eat diferents options in our menu. We try all the time that have fresh see food and the good quality... In the next visit to Cozumel, will be great see yo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 696 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had 1 conch ceviche,1 shrimp,1 beer and 1 water. The price for everything was $50.00 dollars.One shrimp ceviche bigger than the one I had at Palmeras inHouston Tx cost $9.99. We were robbed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank iliolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have dined here a few times while we are in Cozumel. I tend to get very ill on the ferry over from Playa and this restaurant is right across from the San Miguel Pier. The food is very good and they make very tasty lime margarita's on the rocks. The bathrooms are very clean and the staff is happy and helpful. I looks forward to sitting once again drinking a margarita and eating some fish tacos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Princesstamtam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerasrestaurante, manejo de redes sociales / Social Media Manager at Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks for your comments... the restaurant open daily from 7 am to 10 pm and always we are ready for offer the best service... this year Palmeras will have 34 year in the same place with the same owners... welcome againt to the island... you have a seat at the tables of our restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The TripAdvisor map location is misleading. Palm eras is located directly across from the ferry dock in the heart the town. Beyond that the service is quick, the food is OK (we have only eaten lunches there) and the prices are moderate. They have a pretty large seating capacity. Nothing special about Palmeras but we visit for lunches only.

Thank BC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerasrestaurante, manejo de redes sociales / Social Media Manager at Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

thanks for your comments and visit us... we hope that one day you can enjoy the breakfast or more about the menu... we have a great variety of the options..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

in town for a week. stopped here by chance. had a burger for the kids. I tried flautas. Nothing to write home about. inside was nice looking. bathrooms clean. But over all food just average. Seemed like they were catering to the ships where people don't really want mexican food. Had it been a nice day or night the open air would have been great for people watching. Please faces one of the piers and along the main drag. Side entrance takes you into the plaza.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thebutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerasrestaurante, manejo de redes sociales / Social Media Manager at Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Always is very important for us the opinion of the visitors... we hope you can get back to Palmeras and have a better experience, our service has stood for over 30 years to be one of the best on the island. Happy New Year and thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmeras also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing