We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mission

La Mission
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: entre calle 5 y avenida Rafael E. Melgas (malecon)
SugarLand, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stumbled across La Mission on January 18, 2013, a cold, windy day in Cozumel. We were shopping and decided to try somewhere other than Panchos Backyard or Las Palmeras for lunch. Our main concern was to eat inside since it was so windy. We found La Mission about 11:45am. There was one other table occupied. Within 15 minutes the entire front section was full. Service was excellent. Our waiter quickly arrived and took the drink order and then another server brought the chips and Pico de Gallo. A third server came by with the complimentary chicken tortilla soup, which was very good. It had lots of vegetables and pieces of chicken and the tortilla strips were still crunchy. I ordered the Mexican Combination platter which was a chicken tamale, cheese quesadilla, chicken enchilada with green sauce, some beef fajita meat and rice and beans for $13.00. Everything on the platter was delicious. My husband had the enchiladas and he enjoyed them very much. The margaritas were excellent. The total bill for the 2 drinks and 2 entrees was $40.00. We will definitely go back to La Mission to eat when we are in Cozumel for a week later in the year. We also enjoyed the Mariachi music very much.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    399
    131
    63
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minong, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best "Bang for your Buck", and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We ate here the last two nights, and have found the food and service to be exceptional! It might be a little hard to see, as it is located at the end of a hallway of of the main square, but is worth looking for.
The lobster was great and cost only $21, meal came with complimentary chicken tortilla soup, and as always chip - salsa - guacamole. The waiters were very attentive, constantly taking empty dishes and such off of tables. They obviously shared tips it seems, as it didn't matter who your waiter was, if it needed to be taken off of your table someone took it.
We would definitely eat here again, and would suggest it to anyone!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishicot WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lack of flavor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had the grilled fish and it was okay but not very flavorful. The baked potato must have been kept hot for a long time ... seemed steamed and was disappointing in flavor as well. The lime soup was quite tasty. Based on reviews of others we tried them but it was not worth the effort and was more expensive than I feel it was worth. My daughter had the ribeye which was okay but not great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WIgirlMishicotWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“La Mission is a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff.

This place was as inviting as the staff was friendly. My wife and I got some queso and a couple of appetizers, and split the Mexican Combination Platter. This was probably the most authentic meal we had the entire time on the island, and that's saying something. The don't skimp on the drinks either. We talked with all the staff that assisted us (everyone helps everyone there) and each person made us feel at home. The funniest thing is, it was their sister restaurant Casa Mission that was recommended to us, but we mistook it for La Mission. If La Mission is this good, we have to visit Casa Mission next time we're there. Located on a side street near the main drag in San Miguel, this is a must visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best part of our snorkeling Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Thank goodness for La Mission. We had lunch there as a part of our Aquaworld snorkeling trip and although the trip was a bomb the lunch was nice. We opted to pay extra and have margaritas and guacamole which was great. The staff was friendly attentive and the entertainment was authentic and fun. We even opted to back there rather than use the ridiculous amount of wasted "shopping:" time that was allotted for the horrible snorkeling trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgray733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mission also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing