We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cocay

La Cocay
Ranked #41 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: LA COCAY COZUMEL Mediterranean CuisineCreative food, good wine and warm hospitality in a comfortable setting. Our menu is inspired by the variety and flavors of the cuisines of the Mediterranean and Mexico.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have eaten at this place many times and have never been disappointed. We took both my sisters with us last week and they absolutely loved it! My sisters and I had the arrachera beef and it was SO tender and flavorful! We all thoroughly enjoyed it. No meal here is ever complete without the chocolate dessert. Not only is the chocolate fantastic, but the artwork on the plate is always amazing! We plan to eat here every time we are in Cozumel!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jyl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    74
    37
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I remember when La Cocay first opened and it hasn't lost it's charm. Great food and atmosphere. Highly recommend

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debora O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Meal on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to La Cocay after reading about it in a Lonely Planet travel guide.
We were not disappointed. It was very quiet and we ended up being the only customers there. Our waiter was so so friendly and took the time and effort to help us out with learining the local language.
The food was incredible! Perfectly cooked and tasted superb!
We had mentioned that we were celebrating my birthday and after our main meal I was surprised when being presented a cupcake with a candle and a beautiful butterfly design on the plate which was drawn by one of the chefs.
It was not added to the bill and the fact that the staff had made such an effort was touching!
The fairy lit garden, excellent service and beautiful food made it a birthday to remember!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ams186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Upon recommendation from a local business owner of where they go, we found this restaurant tucked behind the town square. I had their seafood pasta and it was excellent. Full of shrimp, calimari, and mussels in a oil, butter and garlic sauce. My wife had the 6 oz Filet and it appeared more like 8 to 10 oz. Cooked to perfection medium rare. Reasonably priced. They also have pizza as I came to learn. Will try that on my next visit!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylanssportsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice presentation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The dishes are very well presented. Beautiful plates but the food not so delicious. They are good but we were expecting more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FabioABrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocay also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Cocay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing