We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check out their salsas & the avocado pie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Choza Cozumel

La Choza Cozumel
Ranked #19 of 359 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Iowa
Level Contributor
363 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Check out their salsas & the avocado pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We hopped a mid-morning ferry from Playa for a day trip to Coz. There were only 2 cruise ships scheduled in port that day so we hoped the tourist traffic wouldn't be nearly as 'crazy busy' as it can get. A couple blocks from the Square off the beaten path we found La Choza. It was around 2PM so the place was not jammed with the cruise ship lunch crowd.

La Choza's tortilla chips were fresh and came with 2 different salsas. One a thin creamy avocado base and the other was a creamy spicy orange-colored sauce. Tasted like it contained garlic, oil and maybe yellow & red chili peppers? Was different but good. Our bottled cerveza's were cold. Their lime soup is a chicken veggie soup with a tang of lime. The bean soup was the pureed variety. The plate of nachos we ordered came covered with melted queso blanco(white cheese) and a big dolop of chunky avocado w/chopped tomatos in the center. Very tasty. Since I'd never had it before, I had to try a slice of their frozen avocado pie, very dense filling with a hint of cinnamon?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    878
    374
    108
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
B.C
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Adults and children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

we were a group of 6 adults and 5 children. The service was very good and they accomodated our group with no problem. The food was very good. Excellent value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annma27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundurn, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

First dinner out in Cozumel and we chose to go to La Choza. A little bit off the beaten path but well worth the trip. We were warmly welcomed by our waiter, served tacos with two dipping sauces, drinks ordered and menus handed out. Wide selection of appetizers and main courses as well as a smallish selection of desserts. Our group (seven in total) ordered the fish dish (catch of the day), fajitas for another, pork stew for one more, mole chicken and 3 orders of chile rellenos (with cheese). Everything was cooked to perfection, good sized portions and plenty of flavour. Great ambiance including some travelling musicians that played a couple of "happy songs" for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Pyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to try Yucatan food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad place to try authentic Yucatan cuisine. My companions had been before and complained the salsa was not as good as previously. I good pace to go if you want an alternative to tourist restaurants on the coast (however this is not a local hangout)

Helpful?
Thank Klyk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very nice place in Cozumel to experience great Mexican food. The folks there speak enough English to make it work. Our group of 4 all had different types of plates and we all walked away, very full and very satisfied. My tacos de carne asada were amazing. My daughter's Chile Rellano she loved, and my wife's vegetable enchilada was very tasty. There were a lot of American's eating here because of it's reputation. In a town with lot's of good restaurants, this is certainly one of them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza Cozumel also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Choza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing