We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the Whole Place to Ourselves”

La Cabana del Pescador
Ranked #92 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Antioch, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had the Whole Place to Ourselves”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This restaurant was right by our hotel so we visited it on our last night in town. We sat outdoors and had the delicious sangria. Incense was burning all around us which triggered horrible allergies but the waiter was awesome and moved them away from us. We chose our own lobsters and were also served rice and veggies. The bread basket was delicious. The waiter brought over funny props for photo ops which was a nice touch. Very nice waiter and great lobster at an average price!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    20
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've been to Cozumel for the last 20 years. There are great places to eat, but if you are looking for lobster, this is the best! Also the lemon pie is out of this world!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CastelloJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood that melts in your mouth!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate at the Lobster House twice and it was absolutely melt in your mouth divine! We had lobster the 1st night and it was so fantastic, we went back on our last night in Cozumel. I had the red snapper stuffed with prawns this time and was not disappointed! Portions are a perfect size, not to big with just the right amount of veggies and rice. And the key-lime pie is to die for! You have to finish your meal off with the pie for desert. It was so fresh that the meringue was still warm when they brought it out. Now that's homemade folks! Atmosphere is very intimate for 2 or can be fun for a group as well as there is an outside patio (bring your bug spray though). Service was excellent as well. Just remember your cash as they don't take credit cards of any kind. ***Don't get this fantastic Lobster House confused with the one on it's right, when you're looking at the 2. The restaurant on your right also advertises itself as a "lobster house" but also has Italian food and a much larger menu. We never ate in this other restaurant as there was no need to....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Two Restaurants in One”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Looking at the building, the right side is the Lobster House, the left side is the El Guacamayo.
The Lobster House only has lobster, while the El Guacamayo has a complete menu, including lobster. We usually dine at the Lobster House, but this time dined at El Guacamayo. The atmosphere was nice, softly lit, outdoor dining available, but too many mosquitos for that. We ordered two different fish dishes. My husband had the grouper which was very good and very fresh. Nice size portion. I had the red snapper stuffed with shrimp. Also nice size portion. It had a white sauce on top which was very nice. Service was good, very attentive. PS - you donot get the after dinner free drink. Really missed that ( it is very tastey) They donot take credit cards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minong, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Lobster”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This restaurant is north of town near Playa Azul. It is very remote, romantic, small, and quiet place, lit by mostly candles, and scented with what initially smells like sandlewood incense. It ended up being bug coils that were lit to control misquitos and such. It is on the edge of kind of a jungle feeling forest, and although I understand the need for pest control, after a while the coils got a little nausiating.
That being said, you choose your lobster, and it is then weighed to let you know the price. Both the wife and I had lobster, which is the only thing you can get in "The Lobster House", not to be confused with the restaurant next to it called "The Lobster Grill".
The food was good, our 2 medium lobsters cost $54, and we were only 1 of 2 couples there.
We read all of the good reviews of this place and were a little surprised to see how small it was. The food was great, especially the conch soup, and the meal was finished up with a complimentary shot of a banana type liquor. We would probably not come back here. Nothing wrong with the place, and was a nice atmosphere, but just not what we were expecting from the reviews.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabana del Pescador also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Cabana del Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing