We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, convenient location”
Review of Casa Denis

Casa Denis
Ranked #45 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, convenient location”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went to Cozumel for the first time (one week in February). We went to Casa Denis for lunch one day, and both had the lime soup and fish with garlic. Both were so good that we went back a couple of days later for supper. The soups (cream of avocado with supper) were spectacular, and the food was consistently good as well ... especially that fish with garlic. Nice atmosphere (a long time family-run restaurant) ... if we go back to Cozumel, we'll definetly return to Casa Denis!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    185
    61
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service but average food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

After reading all the reviews, I was super excited to try Casa Denis. It has a great location downtown for people watching and the service was great. However, I found the food to be mediocre at best. The food at the local taquerias tasted better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Cuisine”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a delicious lunch at Casa Denis during Carnival 2013. The shared platter had plenty of food, allowed us to sample different Mexican dishes. The service was friendly and atmosphere relaxing. We highly recommend this restaurant for a great lunch, just steps from the main plaza in Cozumel.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JazzLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just What We Were Looking For!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a few hours in Cozumel on Saturday as it was a stop on our cruise. I knew it was going to be mega-touristy there, but also wanted to try to get a lunch that I felt was somewhat authentic. I had read about Casa Denis online - it's supposedly Cozumel's oldest restaurant - and it was an easy find right off the main square. The staff was very friendly and spoke English. It was very relaxing to sit outside and people-watch.

All of the Yucatecan food we had was homemade and delicious. Complimentary chips and fresh salsa were brought out first. Then I had the Fish Filet with Mayan Spinach Sauce and my husband had the Grilled Octopus. We also shared some Guacamole. Really, there were no complaints about anything we had and I thought $35 for the food plus two sodas was a fair price. If you want something other than a burrito while in Cozumel, eat here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJC1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant by far!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family stayed on the island for 10 days, and this was by far our favorite restaurant! Wonderful food and the location right on the square was perfect for people watching. We made sure to eat here a couple of times during our stay. Great margaritas, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Denis also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Casa Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing