We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I love old hotels. This one is up there! So here's the deal, If you are going to charge American prices, you should provide the same services. Wifi that works everywhere not just in the lobby, and staff the speak any foreign language, and included breakfast would be a good start. I speak English French and German, most of the staff could speak none of it.

What the staff lacked in language they made up for in enthusiasm to help. They were super awesome as soon as you got across what you wanted.

The private entrance to the ruins is great. Don't bother with a room that looks over the observatory for more money. The gardens are really cool too look at at night. The AC was great, bed comfortable, and it was super easy to get to the ruins. This is important, because you want to get there as soon as they open to avoid the crowds, heat, and annoying vendors.

If you're into photography get a shot of the observatory with the sunset in the background. There is a place you access from the stairwell near the office and gift shop that has a stunning view of it. The staff know where!


There are lots of tours and families.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Real_Colorado_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We share your love for Grand Hotels. And by definition, Grand comes with maturity, uniqueness and a deep impression on the people and surroundings that engulf it.

Our collaborators are ALL Mayan. Truly GREAT people. We learn from them every day. Most have devoted the endeavors of their lifetime working with us. Most understand at least 3 languages; Some are able to speak in 7 different languages. I challenge you to find a single establishment in Colorado that has that gift within it's staff. Yes, even in one of my favorite resorts in the USA, The Broadmore in Colorado Springs.... which by the way rents bungalows for upwards of $5,000 USD a night for a three bedroom facility (They are exquisite and appropriate for their environment), as are ours, of Mayan inspiration in their design, literally all hand made, unique and rent for under $170 per night. That world-class resort does not enjoy a staff as multilingual as ours (they have over 2,000 collaborators; we have less than 200). Perhaps you did not spend enough time with us to realize how blessed we are.

So come back soon, with more time to learn and enjoy about our people and their customs and abilities.
Until then, may you enjoy safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Place is a little pricey and dated. Get to the ruin early and avoid the bus crowds from cancun which arrive as you are headed back to the hotel.
Restautant is overpriced. i orderd steak with prosciutto and another on our party order steak with shrimp. we each got the steak-no shrimo or prosciutto and his was 4.00 more expensive.

Room Tip: eat in the small town nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thanks for your visit!

We are remodeling all rooms in the south wing, where you stayed. Quietly; One at a time, so as to not disturb even the birds around us.

We look forward to having the honor of your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile


Excellent location, bungalow rooms are great, the service is good and food is great. Highly recommend it for a couple nights while exploring Chichen itza. Very peaceful and relaxing. Romantic place for couples, lots of trees, birds and iguanas. Two swimming pools that were great.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank arjetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for your visit and your "Highly Recommended" commentary.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The place is wonderful -from the outside. Colonial architecture and very nice decoration, an amazing breakfast (not included in price and kin of expensive), but terrible and weak Wi-Fi working only at specific public spots, not in the rooms.

Toilet was broken and they took some 45 minutes to fix it. As in other places in Mexico, hotel prices are US- or Europe-level, but not the service and the quality of the premises.

Special: all night hearing the sounds of the florest: insects and wild birds.

Room Tip: Do not choose "view over the Observatory". It is much more expensive though not worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We pride ourselves in meeting the high expectations of our guests; it's hard to do so with clients that are wired rather than open to the very experiences you sited.

We thank you for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed one night in order to see Chichen Itza; the food, the service, all was perfect. Just one thing, When we arrived to the hotel, the receptionist gave us a note about the wireless, the WIFI is only in some places (lobby), what's is the problem? none, my objective was to see chichen Itza. Also I took the spa service and was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your visit and your objective comments!

Yes, you came to see Chichen Itza, and not necessarily to continue in our wired world, for which I congratulate you. The magic and meaning of the temples is the experience that is enhanced by complementing your visit with a stay at the Mayaland.

We hope to have the honor of your visit again. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the good reviews and the promise of a room with a view of the Observatory. We weren't disappointed. Everything was perfect, from our collection by golf cart from the car park, then a cold drink and towel at reception, through to the lovely spacious room with a beautiful view of the observatory, as promised. The food was top quality and the staff very friendly. We entered the archeological site at 8.00am as advised and had the site to ourselves for the first hour. The standard late check out allowed us to freshen up before we headed back to Cancun. Again, perfect.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and your thorough, wonderful review!

We strive to be 100% accurate on all our descriptions, and your review shows just that; In a world of deceiving advertising comments like yours are very valuable. Thank you for sharing your views with the world's traveling community.

All of us at The Mayaland hope to have the honor of your visit again. Until then, may you enjoy safe and interesting experiences in your world travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in a bungalow for one night expressly for the purpose of seeing Chichen Itza because our first choice, Hacienda Chichen Itza was full. We had Percival bungalow 2A. The site is attractively laid out over a wide area and seems to have the sole purpose of catering for overnight and day trip visitors to the Mayan site, as a result the hotel itself can be exceptionally busy during the day. The beauty of the place is that residents can gain immediate access on foot to the Mayan city before the crowds arrive from the coast. The room was pleasantly sited near a swimming pool but a few minutes walk from the restaurant. Some aspects of the room were a little tired especially the sanitary fittings, wobbly taps and a bath plug which did not work. There was also the occasional whiff of sewage outside . We did not fancy the buffet dinner so we ate at the much classier Hacienda, a short walk away. This hotel, which was our preferred original choice was much quieter, more dignified and generally classier option.

The staff at Mayaland were delightfully friendly at our decent breakfast and handled our luggage on departure swiftly and efficiently. Overall ok, the best feature being the quick early access to the Mayan city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your visit,

We are surprised your individual ratings, which are excellent , were not reflect on you final score.
Muchas Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
313 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
476 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
362 reviews
24.5 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97752, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range: $104 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing