We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, next to the ruins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, next to the ruins”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a great hotel to stay in for visiting Chichen Itza. The hotel is set in lovely grounds next to the Chichen Itza site. Great for getting into the site early. We stayed in a standard room in the main lodge building. The room was large with two queen size beds, flat screen TV, coffee machine and good sized bathroom. The room was comfortable, however there was a slight dampness in the room, but not that it caused any problem to us. The shower was hot and powerful, over the bath. The bathroom was a bit tired looking, but as this is an old historical hotel, it was what was expected and not a problem. The room was nice and clean. Breakfast wasn't included however we did have it on the first day, but the choices were poor for uk tastes. The food in the restaurants in the evening was good,especially in the grill where there was self service accompaniments to the BBQ food and very good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for your review! Nice comments, although you only posted 3 stars... The room you stayed in is about to be completely remodeled. Maybe that is the reason. We all hope to have you return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    430
    127
    66
    29
See reviews for
369
575
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This place is amazing! My daughter and I came here to spend four nights and I was worried there might now be enough to do in the area, and boy was I wrong! Upon arrival, we were kindly greeted with cold, refreshing drinks and a lot of smiles! Our room was very large, clean, and well stocked with goodies. The room was a corner unit overlooking the Mayan Observatory! What a view to wake to each morning! The grounds were immaculate and impressive with three pools, restaurants, shops and of course Chitzen itza was only a short walk away up the path! The restaurant and the lunch buffet were both very delicious!! The staff is so friendly and the manager, Miguel, is exceptional!! I chose to spend my birthday at Mayaland and on that day I received a knock at our door with a song wishing me happy birthday by the staff and a birthday cake!! Now, how sweet is that!! This is how wonderful the people are at Mayaland Hotel and Bungalows. The hallways have pictures of well known personalities (e.g. Jennifer Lopez & many others) who chose to stay at the property and it is obvious why this place was chosen by them! They make your stay fantastic and make you feel special!!!

The area has so much to offer that it would take me too long to tell you about all the great local things to do, but I will share one activity which is about 2 km away from the property: Ikkil Cenote. It is so close to the hotel and so much fun! It is an amazing swimming hole not to be missed. But all-in-all, it is the staff and the accommodations as to why I will be going back to Mayaland. Had such a wonderful time and all thanks to the wonderful people.

Gracias!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Informative,objective, comprehensive and thorough review,
CONGRATULATIONS AND THANK YOU!!
All our collaborators, my family and I look forward to welcoming you and your daughter to our beloved Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows again. Until then, safe travels. Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
327 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We came here on a weekday for the sole purpose of having a quiet night and 3 peaceful hours in Chichen Itza before the buses arrive (like clockwork at 11 am). Our young child had a blast running around discovering all of the cool places on the lovely grounds of this historic place. Having traveled quite a bit in Mexico: it is really, really beautiful.

We often travel to Mexico, and have never measured our visits by other standards. If you do that, you will always be disappointed...not clean enough, not air conditioned enough, the food not good enough...ok, then stay home.

Couple of useful logistics:
- we had a double room and it was air conditioned very well
- there are 3 pools
- meals are not provided (but our room had a small fridge so if you are on a budget make a sandwich or go into town; coffee is provided free in the room with a coffee maker)
- restaurants on site are reasonable (4 people around $100 not including tip) and the food was very good; excellent margherita; excellent coffee bar
- bring money to tip the staff starting with your arrival which is by golf cart from the parking lot to the hotel (otherwise don't stay there; 20-50 pesos per person depending on the task; not including restaurant tips)
- this is an eco place...there are bugs sometimes, since showers do happen, no big deal!

We had a really amazing experience here...would come back anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pannipannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
No wonder you have had 74 Useful Reviews out of the 146 reviews you have made on TripAdvisor!
Yours is indeed an objective, very useful review, and we all thank you for it.
We look forward to having you enjoy our facilities again soon !
Until then, enjoy traveling with your family and be safe.
Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We (2 adults + 2 kids) stayed here for one night in Dec 2013. Our room in the main building was charming with dark wood finishes, stained glass windows, cabinetry, nice lighting and comfortable furniture, with a great view of the Chichen Itza Observatory. The lobby, restaurant and corridors in the main building are also charming, with exposed wood beams and grounds are beautiful. The room doesn't have a safe or ironing board, but you can borrow an iron from the front desk. There was a stained glass window next to our room entrance, so the hall way light shone into the room, but we just opened a closet door next to the window to solve that. There are no elevators in the main building, so you may be dependent on the hotel porter to lug big bags to the upper floors.

We had breakfast in the hotel, which has a buffet and a la carte. The menu prices were quite reasonable, if you don't want to spend the money for the buffet, and the food was good. For example, a plate of pancakes or waffles, with a bit of fruit is about 60 pesos. Cereal or oatmeal is about 30 pesos.

If you want supplies like bottled water, cookies, sandwiches, fruit etc., and you have a car, there is an Oxxo convenience store about 5 km away in Piste, next to the Best Western hotel.

The hotel has its own entrance into Chichen Itza, which opens at 8:00 AM, so is very convenient. Guides are available at this entrance for about 750 pesos for 2 hours or about 500 pesos for 1 hour.

Note that the Chichen Itza Sound and Light show is currently cancelled, and we found that some Piste restaurants close around 6 or 7 PM. We are not sure why, but are guessing that that this early closure is because there are fewer tourists in the evening after the cancellation. For example, Las Mestizas was closed by 6 PM, so get an early start if you plan to eat dinner in Piste during the cancellation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VnCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your objective, thorough review of the Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows.
We will be honored to host you again in the near future. New and exiting things are happening this year all around us. The NEW Light and Sound Spectacle in Chichen Itza is due to re open as a world class venue in about 60 days. The New Cacao Museum is making progress on all required permits to continue it's building process. So come back soon. We'd love to be your hosts you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I booked Mayaland Explorer Deluxe trip and were Very pleased. We were picked up at airport and transported by Mercedes Van to Chichen Itza. Grounds, accomodations just beautiful We had one clich as we sat on terrace to have an arrival drink, where in, the bartender wanted to know if we were paying cash or having drinks put on our room. I told him we were on deluxe trip ...all inclusive. He said no. I went to front desk with my paperwork in hand. Phone calls were made ,copy of my paperwork faxed and then Manager, Miguel came out..few more phone calls and Miguel told me everything was taken care of ..Yes .. From then on our table was reserved each night, Miguel came to us several times during our stay to make sure all was well. Only one thing bothered my husband and I . We were told one night at a barbeque dinner ..we could have anything being grilled accept lobster or steak.. Really, we are on deluxe and we couldn't have these 2 items Strange!!
If you are interested in learning the history & culture of the Mayan ...reguest Victor Gonzalas as your guide. Supurb guide..personable and goes over the top to make sure you are getting everything you want He was prompt everyday,a walking talking teacher of the Mayan culture all for you. My husband wanted to try some Mexican brandy so Victor make sure we stopped so he could buy a bottle. Our companions who joined us the second day( 2 ladies from Britain) were also very happy with our guide and driver.The Mayaland Explorer Trip was 3 days in Chichen Itza then 4 in Uxmal. All the sites we were able to visit, all the small towns to explore a visit to a home to see panama hats being made, Musems with our guide,a trip in boat to see the flamingos on the flats, made the trip a fun and educational experience. Uxmal proved to be superior to Chichen Itza in accomodations and cuisine. At dinner in Uxmal, first night,there was a buffet. It was a good buffet with many entres, but I spoke with manager of resturant and asked if there was anyway I would be able to try real Mayan cuisne. He was very pleased I asked and from that moment on we were thrilled to try different dishes at each meal. I was even served Mayan tamales Christmas morning. To top off the really fantastic servise and friendliness of the staff, William , in charge of dining room ,asked if we could be at the dining room early our last day for a surprise. We were taken to typical Mayan thatched roof hut on the grounds and I got a hands on experience learning to make tortillas on an open fire. Have you ever seen the small tortillas puff up , then a raw egg slipped in and returned to fire for a moment. served with several sauces.. Our Mayan breakfast with many fruits, sipping fresh juice from a gourd, making tortillas was really a wonderful ending to a memorable trip.

If you vist be sure to ask for Victor our guide, Our driver Estushio Ramon..friendly ever so helpful and William in dining room of Uxmal really will take care of you...and I don't want to forget Francisco Dzib Santiago in dining room of ChichenItza He went out of his way to purchase a combo lighter/flashlight that we admired. On his day off no less. Super trip...Super people..Super food and accomodations.. Thank you Mayland

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottojana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows as well !
I just answered your review of our Hacienda Uxmal. Very nice.

Your point on the lighting is the most welcomed, for it took a lot of arm bending with my family to get the funding needed to really light up all of our surroundings! New, quiet generators have just been installed to allow us to do that. Within ten days, we should see our gardens as none of the five generations of Barbachano family members that have devoted their lives to this venerable hotel ever saw them ! We hope you come back soon and witness what promises to be an awesome sight.

We look forward to your next visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of the Thomson Yucatan Explorer Tour which is provided by Mayaland Tours. Even though Thomson state that they run this tour for a minimum of 6 persons, my husband and I were the only 2 on it and Mayaland gave us a free upgrade to this hotel (we should have been in the Best Western in town).

The Mayaland is comprised of the main hotel building which is an old estate house with a very dodgy 70’s style extension and several thatched bungalows in the grounds. We stayed in the main house extension which is best described as shabby chic. The main house itself, which houses the reception, bar and restaurant is stunning with beautiful stained glass windows and dark wood carvings everywhere.

The food and service in the restaurant were good (full board are expected to order from the table d’hôte menu and not a la carte but we still had a reasonably good choice). The bar staff are excellent and the drinks prices very reasonable. The hotel is within the archaeological area and has its own private entrance to Chichen Itza which is really good as we got in well before the crowds arrived and even better, before the hawkers had even set up their stalls.

We passed the Best Western during out tour and it looked pretty sad, so we were really glad that we had got upgraded to this much better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruise_kitty_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We just began remodeling all our rooms in the area of the hotel you stayed in as a complementary up-grade from the hotel you were reserved at in nearby Piste. The newly remodeled rooms will feature local stone and marble bathrooms, new fixtures throughout, including showers and Jacuzzis,
new appointments, furnishings.... basically an all new experience. We hope to have the honor of your visit again soon. You will enjoy new experiences as well, like our up coming Museum, NEW LIGH AND SOUND SPECTACLE IN THE TEMPLES AT CHICHEN ITZA (due to open in less than 80 days). Exiting things are happening all around us and we want to share them with you!
Muchas Gracias por su visita !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

While a bit pricier by Mexican standards, this property is quite affordable by American standards. Moderately priced food for a somewhat isolated location. Great location next to the ruins for an early start on the day. We enjoyed our stay. Be sure to buy water ahead of time as there are no garrafones (filtered water pitchers) and they charge $3USD for a 1L water bottle. Also, the wifi does not extend to the rooms, only the reception/lobby area.

Room Tip: Be advised that you and your luggage will have to be transported from the parking lot via golf cart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share it with the world's traveling community!
We are delighted that you enjoyed our Mayaland Hotel and we look forward to being of service to you and your family in the future. Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
23.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland

Property: Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Bungalows Mayaland
Mayaland Hotel Chichén Itzá
Hotel Mayaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing