We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple style, economical and nice retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
“Simple style, economical and nice retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our group visited Chichen Itza ruins and after several hours found ourselves in need of quiet and rest. We "bumped" into this hotel on the road, checked out the rooms and reserved two for the night. The rooms are clean with sturdy wood furniture, decent mattresses, workable toilets and lovely surroundings. The prices are very fair and the staff very friendly and helpful. Check it out next time you're in the jungle!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    196
    124
    43
    25
See reviews for
89
203
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

we arrived very late from Cancun, but they were waited for us! check in was fast. you can pay in cashn or CC. room was nice. clean and confortable. it had Tv A/C and Safe. we did not use any of them. breakfast was really good and tasty, ther just bring it to your table. we had coffee, a plate with fruit, scrambled eggs with ham and bread. really home made. they offer a shuttle service to CHICHENITZA. there is a cenote just in front. they have 2 swimming pool, we did not use. we were there only to sleep and rush to chichen itza ti be the first ones!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krashivaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a cute hotel with nice little rooms that look like bungalows but are attached. The rooms are well decorated and tasteful. Beds are comfy with nice linens. Hot water. We were so happy that the 3 of us had two nights here. The breakfasts were quite adequate and tasty. Dinner was quite adequate. Staff was friendly and helpful. It's a short distance into town where you can get a lovely meal at Las Mestizos. The pools are clean and the limestone formed one is really fun.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms as they are back from the road and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This really was a good deal for what we paid since it includes a good sized breakfast, there are two clean pools, hammocks, and best of all... one of the most beautiful cenotes is literally right in front of the hotel! My only issue is one of the staff members was a little rude. I went with a group of three girls and we were literally the only people at the hotel. So it was a little creepy. There are no nearby shops or stores so you are truly in the middle of the jungle. I would recommend buying food at the nearest town which is Valladolid. The food at this restaurant is not the best quality and overpriced. Pros: Chichen Itza is 5 minutes away and there is a free shuttle to the ruins from the hotel. The cenote is within walking distance. The rooms are clean and safe. Cons: staff is not the friendliest, overpriced food. Beds were a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kderas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for only one night in order to visit both Chichen Itza and Cenote Ik-Kil. It is a bit of a tedious matter to get from the bus depot (the bus depot is literally at Chichen Itza) to Dolores Alba. It is a pretty busy road with fast cars and buses and it is also a bit far to walk with luggage or backpacks (we had backpacks). So, you need to take a taxi. It will cost a bit more because Chichen Itza is such a tourist zone.

That said, once you get to Dolores Alba, you won't regret it. There is a van that takes hotel residents to Chichen Itza for free (score!) and Ik-Kil is just across the street in walking distance.
The hotel, otherwise, is basically in the middle of nowhere. At night all you hear are the sounds of the jungle.

We ate dinner in the restaurant. Again, it was quiet, which was nice. But if you are looking for action, this is not the place! The food was interesting and filling. Good prices. Breakfast is complimentary and was a lot of food. Coffee was included.

There are two pools: one natural and one man-made. We didn't swim because we were quite busy - touring Chichen Itza and swimming in the AMAZING cenote across the street.

The room was one of the nicest we stayed in on our backpacking journey. The bathroom was especially nice. The only caveat is that the WiFi didn't really work in our room. Since we were backpacking, it was a real treat when we found someplace where we could lay in bed and check in with friends and family in the room.

After our stay, we just crossed the street and picked up a colectivo back to Valladolid. Rather than going back to the bus station and paying quite a bit more, we opted for the affordable and convenient option. It was a snap and the gentleman at the front desk advised us well.

The air conditioner and the tv worked well. We felt very safe.

Room Tip: The rooms nearer to the main building are likely to have better WiFi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
151 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Except for the traffic whizzing by on the road out front you really do feel like you are in the Yucatan jungle at this motel-style hotel. The rooms are small but clean. Both pools are very clean. The children on our party enjoyed playing on the spacious grounds. WiFi is only available in the reception/dining area, but works fairly well. The included breakfast is just adequate - nothing special about it. And you must buy water to drink - it is not included in the price of the room. So buy some at a village mini-mart where it is much less expensive than the price the hotel charges. This was the only hotel at this price point where we stayed in our 3 weeks in the Yucatan that did not provide drinking water included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very close to Chichen Itza, opposite cenote Ik-Kil, a second class bus Oriente stop at the hotel if you ask the driver. Room was simple but functional. Breakfast was very good and staff was very friendly. There is no internet in the room, only near the reception desk. This hotel is in a very quiet and relaxing environment, everything works, but it asks for some refreshment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezabel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen

Property: Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen
Address: Km.122 Merida-Cancun, Free Road (180) | between the ruins and Balankanche caves, Chichen Itza, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting hotel in the best location of Chichen Itza. Beautiful bungalows with private terraces, air conditioning, cable tv, safe box, and local handcrafts. Extensive gardens with two swimming pools, one with unique reef formations and spectacular bottom, two palapas with hammocks for relaxation. Large, guarded parking lot. Restaurant Bar overlooking circular pool with the best food for the gods. Walk to Ikil cenote for a refreshing swim or to the Balankanche caves for underground adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Dolores Alba Chichen
Dolores Alba Chichen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing