We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of dreamy, in more than one sense.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oka'an

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oka'an
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kind of dreamy, in more than one sense.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent for visiting Chichen Itza. We were able to arrange an early breakfast and get there when they opened the gates (you should definitely do the same).
On arrival we were shown to our bungalow (actually a two level, adorable, circular house split into two apartments) and had the restaurant and pool pointed out. That's pretty much the only information we got. It was a little unusual for the hotel to have zero information on how best to enjoy the nearby attractions but we got some pointers from our excellent waiter, Luis, at dinner.
Valladolid is a short drive away and Chichen Itza is virtually across the road.

Room Tip: Bungalows farthest from the restaurant were completely silent and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmaladesandwiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    44
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
90
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay. A great peaceful spot, across from the cenote. Nice staff, good drinks, lovely breakfast. They need to work on their dinner food though. A gorgeous restaurant with below moderate food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurieatthecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel - its true you need a car and its a long old drive down a bumpy road to get there, but that makes it all the better. Its about a million miles from the hugely touristy/coach load package tours vibe around Chichen Itza. Our rooms were huge, clean and comfortable. The kids adored the tiered pool - like something out of Temple Run! The whole place has been really well designed, from the restaurant to the grounds, to blend into the forest setting. When we were there there was a big group of Mexicans on a yoga/spiritual retreat (absolutely the best people to share a hotel with - very quiet and very smiley!) and I can see why. Its a really calm and magical spot - the view from the top of the Mirador was beautiful, especially at sunset. The staff were very friendly as was the owner. Ulises, the manager, was fantastic and arranged all our car rental for us, which really made a huge difference to our stay as he found the only place in Valladolid that rents cars and arranged for a very unconventional drop off/pick up. Its really convenient to visit not only Chichen Itza but also Valladolid and surrounding cenotes/ruins. My only comment would be that they could expand their menu a bit, and perhaps bigger portions/more local dishes, though the food we had was excellent. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorwatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A small hotel complex in the forest with lovely small houses and a great pool. Very tranquil and in the nature. I wish we would have stayed here longer.

Rooms were very nicely done with a great bathroom with a natural fell. The beds are not very long so in case you are very tall you may have some problems. Amazingly not a single bug in the room although hour cottage was in the middle of the forest.

The hotel restaurant was very good and service friendly. I had the avocado soup and a Portobello burger. My husband tried the guacamole, it was to die for.

From the top of the main hotel building you have a great view over the whole area and can get very nice pictures in the sunset.

Room Tip: The round cottages they have are really nice. I would choose one of these over a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuikku84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you intend to stay at this place make sure you have your own car as its a long way from nowhere, (2km down a dirt road ,off the main road)while the rooms and settings are very nice there is no wifi no tv in the rooms and very poor service. in terms of value for money you don't get water in your room like every other hotel in Mexico (you have to buy it from the mini bar) the breakfast was small. While trying to find a staff member from reception (so they could ring a taxi for me as there is no mobil phone reception )I was chased by a pack of dogs that hang around the reception area and then when I told the staff they thought it was funny, I was not impressed. I had diner in the restaurant and thought the quality and portions were average . I summing up I would not stay here again, when you pay extra you expect better quality across the board and I definitely didn't get it.

Room Tip: The room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Review of Accommodation: we stayed in one of the 2-story buildings, specifically on the second floor. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated, the bed very comfortable, AC worked well (extremely important given how hot & humid the area was even in December), and the hotel grounds were very quiet.

Review of Food: breakfast was simple but nice: two pieces of toast, fruit, and coffee. You can order eggs for extra charge if you wish. We ate lunch once in the hotel restaurant and the food was very good.

However! When we checked out the receptionist informed us that we would be charged for every item that was in the room fridge. We were confused since we did not consume anything... we told the receptionist that although we did take the cans out of the fridge so that we could refrigerate our own food (a couple of yoghurts and fruit) we did not actually consume anything. The fridge was very simple and did not have the sensor-base technology you sometimes see in hotels. We offered that we would wait in case they wanted to send someone from the housekeeping into our room to verify that all the items were back in the fridge. The receptionist rudely answered us that it was the hotel policy to charge for any item that had been taken out of the fridge since "the cans were now spoiled and could be no longer used." We said this was ridiculous - nothing could have happened to a coke/sprite/beer can that was out of the fridge, sitting in an air conditioned room. But the receptionist kept on saying that it was the hotel policy and that we were going to be charged about $60 dollars in total.
We replied that if this was indeed the hotel policy we should have been informed about it clearly when we were checking in or there should have been a sign on the fridge (or in the room) warning their guests. The receptionist disregarded our objection and simply repeated that we were going to be charged. Although we kept saying that the hotel failed to inform us about their policy, the receptionist would not even acknowledge that it might have been the hotel's fault. We even agreed that we would pay for the beer (!!!) but not for the sodas...
The biggest insult was that after I finally got to speak to the hotel manager, who ended our conversation by saying we would not be charged, our credit card was charged! Now, we don't care about the money per say but the unclear and unusual hotel policy, the fact that they charged us even though the manager promised they wouldn't & that they treated us so rudely made us upset.

Would I recommend this hotel to our friends? NO. Although the hotel grounds & our room were nice, I would rather stay in a slightly less attractive hotel with clear hotel policies and polite staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel Oka'an is a good base for visiting Chichen Itza. It's not located near the ruins so if you don't have a car you'll be dependent on taxis which after a few trips isn't cheap. The staff were nice, the room was clean, and meals were good. There's a pool which was very refreshing. After the crowds of Chichen Itza, this place made for a peaceful retreat. To be honest, if you're only visiting the ruins, you may not even need to stay a night at Chichen Itza. And finally go to the ruins first thing the morning to avoid the bus loads of tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhnmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
21.9 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oka'an

Property: Hotel Oka'an
Address: Km. 122 Carretera Merida - Pto Juarez., Chichen Itza 97757, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oka'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oka'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing