We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular place”
Review of Hotel Oka'an

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oka'an
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
214 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Spectacular place”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A hidden jewel away from the bus tours.
This place exudes health and rest. The grounds are gorgeous and spotless. The owner is friendly and knowledgable. All staff were super nice and professional.
Our room was just lovely. And such a reasonable price!
The food at the restaurant was very good, with fresh fruit and everything home made.
I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Cabanas are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariaortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    46
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
97
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

as someone wrote before, you DO need a car to find this hotel set in lush tropical forest. It's about 3 - 4 kms Northof town , by the 122 Kms post from cancun. Check out the cool pool in the jungle

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merrymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place is gorgeous. It looks like it should be a lot more expensive than the £45 I paid for my room. It is beautifully set in the woods, along perfectly manicured garden paths. It has a beautifully set restaurant, infinity pool, and when you first get there, you are greeted at a reception that would be worthy of a five star resort.

The whole place feels very posh and calm.

The rooms are massive, bathroom gorgeous. Can't really fault it in any way possible.

The restaurant was not that great, and a bit pricey for what it was.

Staff were extremely polite and helpful.

Get there quick!

To get there, you need to drive along a dirt-track for about a mile or so, which is OK as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElkeintheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Hotel Oka'an is a very beautiful and remote resort located accross from Cenote Zaci and a few minutes away from the ruins in Chichen Itza. If you go on vacation for a little peace and quiet, relaxation, and a good book, then this is the place! You have to travel 1.5 km down a very rocky and pothole-filled road to get to the resort, but the inconvenience is worth it.

The beds were very comfortable, in my opinion, and the room was updated and beautiful. I was a fan of the semi-private shower but my travel buddy was not. No one outside of your room can see you in the shower, but everyone in your room can when they walk by. So I waited on the opposite side of the room so my buddy was more comfortable.

The entire property, minus the lagoon, is kept impeccably neat, trimmed, and clean. There is always someone cleaning, sweeping, or landscaping. The staff is very friendly and their ability to speak English is a little better than my ability to speak Spanish so its all manageable. The pool tiles need replacing as some of them have faded to a unwelcoming color and it takes away from its beauty, but the pool is actually a nice place to lay in the sun.

There were a few negative things about our stay that explains my 3/5 point rating. My travel buddy and myself like to explore and are not keen on sitting around in the sun or the shade all day. We used the resort as a homebase as we traveled to several cenotes, the ruins, and several nearby towns but the road to and from the resort was a huge time-consumer to navigate. Some of the staffs landscaping duties should extend to smoothing out the 1.5 km rocky path to the resort. Just a general raking of the path to keep the potholes filled would be a tremendous improvement. This path is a huge negative memory.

Having a peaceful and tranquil jungle setting is nice. But, for the resort to be so secluded they should offer more things for their guests to enjoy. The spa was always closed, so we couldn't even pass the time with a few treatments. The lagoon was drained and the water sat in it stagnating and creating a perfect breeding ground for the ungodly amount of mosquitoes at this resort.

Guests can only use WIFI in the lobby which is quite a hike from the rooms. We were afraid to walk anywhere in the dark after encountering a scorpion at our room door the first night (don't freak out, scorpions are common in this region - and this was not the hotel's fault at all). But, there was also stagnant water circling the lobby like a mosquito-riddled moat, so good luck enjoying the internet.

Parking is also very hit or miss. I would say there was three actual parking spaces and the rest was a park-where-you-can-find-space situation on the side of the roads or in a nook out of the way.

Other than these issues, it was a pleasant stay and I would return happily if I couldn't get a decent room at Mayaland or somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sngglebnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
472 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is set in a peaceful jungle location in several acres just a few minutes’ drive from Chichen Itza. The remote location is its great benefit with access via a 1.5km gravel track before reaching the central reception area. The suite accommodation is spread around the site although on our first visit we elected to stay in a double room in a larger three floor block close to the restaurant and lovely swimming pool (complete with gentle waterfall cascade). This does not detract from the feeling of isolation with each room having a balcony overlooking the jungle canopy with the only sounds being jungle noises in the evening and birdsong in the morning. The rooftop has great views of the surrounding tree canopy with no other buildings in sight as far as the eye can see apart from a tantalising glimpse of El Casatillo at Chicken Itza in the near distance.
The rooms themselves are very spacious. We had a two double bedded room on the first floor of the block. The rooms are equipped with fridge, air conditioning and ceiling flan and to complement the isolation – no TV!
Bathrooms are lovely. High quality fittings and rain shower plus nice toiletries and spottlessly clean.
We also had a meal in the restaurant which has a good selection. Although the meals we had were not particularly large, the food was well prepared and nicely presented; prices were not unreasonable given its location. Price of the hotel also included a light breakfast the following morning which consisted of plated fresh fruit salad plus toast and jam, juice or coffee. Other menu items were available at extra cost. We paid around £60 for the room and breakfast which we considered to be outstanding value in view of the quality of the room and its surroundings.
The experience was so good, we diverted back to Okaan for the last night on our holiday which coincided with Valentines day. This time we booked a ‘king bungalow’ located to the rear of the site. These are rondel shaped buildings topped by a thatched roof with each building housing a ground and first floor unit. We opted for the first floor room and again this was excellent. The king bed had a romantic canopy and the bathroom was extremely spacious with twin basins and a huge walk in rain shower. There was an outdoor private seating area perfect for a glass of wine. It represented good value at around £100.
A lot of work and expense has undoubtedly been undertaken on the site and it was a shame that on both occasions we visited there was a lot of unused capacity in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le Tarn
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We are a very well travelled couple in our early 60s
A rather strange experience as the hotel in the middle of the forest/jungle was practically empty and we had an incident when one member of staff left his golf cart on a slope with no brake and it started to roll back into our rental car. Luckily my husband had the presence of mind to leap out of our car and into the golf cart to stop it. Otherwise, serious damage on a rental car!!
The restaurant menu was fairly pedestrian, but the cook and manager gave us breakfast at 7.30 (should have been 0800) to enable us to visit Chicen Itza early.
Very comfortable beds and rooms and as the other reviews have stated, interesting architectural details

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

we stayed there only one night, and regretted we could stay longer. the hotel is beautiful, and we didnt have time to check out the pool. it looked so fabulous!
Also dinner at the restaurant was very nice, we enjoyed every bite.
the rooms are beautiful, very clean. Great service. We were helped with our bags by a staff member driving us (and the bags) with a golf cart to the suite. Enjoyed it, recommend it !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinaahimsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
21.9 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oka'an

Property: Hotel Oka'an
Address: Km. 122 Carretera Merida - Pto Juarez., Chichen Itza 97757, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oka'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Oka'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing