We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for the Ruins”
Review of Hacienda Chichen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Chichen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed two nights as a family of four, so that we could visit the ruins.

The Hacienda is very regal and the grounds are stunning. Nice pool. Rooms nice and airy. We had one big room for the four of us which was fine, although the beds were a little on the small side.
Food was good- had most of our meals there as there is little choice generally in Chichin Itze. Food was very good and prices reasonable.
We paid the concierge for our Ruins tickets and they send someone to get them early. You can then go through the private gate into the ruins as it opens at eight, and get a good two hours before the coach tours arrive.
Good tip is to head straight for the main pyramid and work back- we got some fabulous photos with no one around.
Highly recommend this hotel and the ruins as a diversion for a couple of days from the beaches. My kids enjoyed it and found it interesting. Any longer and we may have hit their teenage limits.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank emb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 734 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed 3 days and 4 nights. At this hotel we met very friendly people. We had a great time here. Very clean and friendly staff. What we liked about the hotel was that it had its own entrance to chichen itza. We were there before it was opened to the public. Every night there is a trio that plays guitar to the guests at dinner time. It's a trio of a father, brother, and son. I definitely recommend you to hear then out. We will definitely be back here. Best hacienda ever.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank debora118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is an update to my original review from August 2010:

Just came back from a fabulous week at the Hacienda Chichen. This was our third time staying at the hotel in eight years and we'll be back again. This time we went straight to the Hacienda from the Cancun airport and didn't even combine it with a beach hotel, like we did the prior two times - we just love the beauty, privacy and the atmosphere of this hotel so much. We were a couple traveling with a friend who kept changing his plans - Johana at the sales office was so amazing, accommodating my multiple calls and requests. Jose Luis at the front desk was equally gracious, working with the owner to accommodate a last minute change to our plans.

We spent the week based at the Hacienda, making short day trips around to various cenotes and Mayan historical sites. Here are some tips about staying at the Hacienda and visiting places nearby:

- Plan to spend at least three days at the Hacienda - one day to see Chichen Itza, another day to visit a cenote and other Mayan ruins and a day to spend relaxing at the Hacienda. You'll want to spend a full day by the pool, as there is hardly anyone there before 2pm and that's when it's the sunniest and cleanest. The music symphony of birds (and crickets and frogs at night) is so amazing and relaxing. The hotel's grounds are amazing - it does take them 4 full-time gardeners to maintain the grounds beautifully manicured.

- The pool is cleanest in the morning. Because of the gorgeous canopy above it and because it's in the jungle, it does tend to get insects on the surface but the staff cleans it in the morning. Also, if you ask them, they'll net it at any time, so it's nice and fresh. The pool's diving board and the cool crisp waters make for some amazing dives. We challenged a British family to a cannon ball competition, which was loads of fun for everyone.

- Hit Chichen Itza in the morning starting at 8am because you'll be done by 10, when all the big tour buses start unloading. The Hacienda has its own private entrance that is a 2 minute walking distance from the grounds. If you give the front desk money the night before, they send someone over in the morning to the main entrance to get tickets for you. We also loved the guide they got us this time, Juan, - he was much better, more informed and with better English than the guide we got ourselves the first time around. The guide met us at the Hacienda after our breakfast and the tour started right away. The Hacienda is so close to Chichen Itza (and yet, you don't see or hear any of the crowds), that the main building and the cottages were all built with stones from the Observatory building, which at the time was a pile of rubble.

- Spend some time exploring the history of the Hacienda. Jose Luis at the front desk is very knowledgeable - he told us about the history of the Hacienda. It was built in the 16th century and served as a siesel ranch and then a corn ranch. We also walked over to the organic garden, where the gardener was so sweet and walked us around and showed us all the various plants they grow there, as well as their uses and their Mayan names.

- Ask the staff for recommendations on what to see and where to drive. We especially loved the cenotes at Dzitnup, where the cave water was clean and crisp and there are a couple of beautiful openings in the top of the cave, letting the sun's rays in. We first went to visit the Mayan site of Ek Balam, an hour away from the Hacienda - it is gorgeous and has a completely different feel than Chichenitza. We were able to climb the main pyramid - the Acropolis, which awarded us with an amazing view of the Mayan ruins and the Yucatan jungle.

- Take some time to explore Piste, the village near Chichenitza - we would go to town every other night. Further down the road on the left side, a bit past the main square, there is a lady holding the humble but oh-so-delicious Polleria Suamy, which makes the best grilled chicken in the world. She keeps her recipe secret and for years my husband has tried to reproduce her tender and juicy chicken at home without luck. The place looks very simple, but we've eaten there many times, including with a friend who had never been to Mexico before, and loved it every time. The place is popular with locals - we counted about 10 or so "to go" orders from locals every time we ate there. It's a 5 min drive from the Hacienda. They don't serve beer but we found that if we bought our own beer at Oxxo, they would not mind.

- Yaxkin spa: We had a few treatments there and loved it. I had the facial and the hair treatment. While these are not substitutes for a facial at a spa in the US, they are incredibly relaxing - the facial, scalp and foot massage, complete with the wonderful fruit and honey smells were incredibly relaxing.

- The restaurant has excellent cuisine and we ate there for breakfast, lunch (they can bring it to the pool) and often for dinner. The salsa is to die for, as is the ceviche. They have the best margaritas - they are made with real ingredients, not the bottled sugary slush they have at the Cancun hotels. Also try the "chaya with pineapple" virgin cocktail - yum! For breakfast, don't miss their incredible papaya jam that comes with a lot of the breakfasts. It's not too sweet and is so delicious that the chef gave me the recipe for it and gave me a small jar of it as a goodbye gift.

- The Hacienda has a foundation that supports the local Mayan children. If you're headed there, do pack some school supplies in your bag. We brought pens, notebooks, pencils, crayons, etc. You can also sponsor a lunch for the Mayan kids. I also understand that part of the hotel proceeds go to support the Mayan foundation set up by the hotel owner.

I have lived and travelled to a lot of places in Mexico and can say with confidence that Hacienda Chichen is one of those rare gems that showcase true Mexico in a laid-back and beautiful colonial atmosphere. It's one of our most beloved places in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hammock and sleep with the windows open and the fan on so you can hear the won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendly_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for being a customer of Hacienda Chichen Resort. We love to hear that you have had an incredible one week stay in our hotel and, we are honored that you select us time and time again to be your preferred choice in Chichen Itza. We look forward to serving you for years to come!

With sincere gratitude,
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We drove from Cancun for a one night stay here to take in the ruins the following day. It was definitely the way to go to beat the crowds and would do it again. The rooms are not elegant (we had the basic room) but we really just wanted the night to "park" and take in the sights the next day. The AC didn't work in one of the rooms which took away time from the beautiful pool, but I have to say the staff made it RIGHT by giving us a different room which was bigger. At times things aren't perfect on vacation, but again the staff made things right. We did go into town for dinner which I was glad we did because it was less expensive….but breakfast the next day was good but pricey at the resort. They arranged a guide to take us through the ruins and we really loved that. It was worth the expense. Our guide was Juan who is a native of Piste and was a wonderful man who enjoyed passing along his knowledge and pride of the Mayan heritage. Hats off to you Juan, you were a pleasure to get to know!! The other staff at the resort were helpful and friendly. The gentleman at the desk gave us ideas on finding cenotes on the way back to cancun to take in for the rest of the day. Very fun time. But again, expect a little rustic for your overnight stay (we had a lizard on the wall when we went to bed!) :-0

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your comments, we truly appreciate it. It's our goal to make your experience as pleasant as possible.

We hope you can visit us soon!

All the best,
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This property has an exceptional and unique location, ideal to beat the coach trips around Chichen Itza. The rooms are well equipped, beds are pretty hard though. The situation is idyllic with birds calling and lush greenery. Sadly the restaurant is less than great, the food is bland and the restaurant staff at best are disinterested. Such a shame. Recommend staying because of the proximity to the Ruins, eat out though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for visiting our hotel. Rest assured, we will work our hardest to provide you with quality services for years to come!

Sincerely,
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Hacienda Chichen, a beautiful and atmospheric hotel on gorgeous, lush grounds and practically on top of the ancient ruins. We found it quite easily following the directions on the website (we were coming from the cuota (toll road) from Cancun), and although we just stayed one night, I would gladly have stayed longer at this beautiful hotel. The staff were lovely and so helpful, and our room was charming, spotlessly clean, and comfortable. We wanted to get to Chichen Itza early, before it got too hot, and Jose Luis at the front desk was very helpful in setting up a guide for us. The hotel also has its own, private entrance to Chichen Itza, and because we used that and were there almost entirely before the tour buses arrived, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We never saw the main entrance and avoided all of the tourist claptrap that I'm sure is involved there. As a result, we literally came upon the site from the jungle, which made for a remarkably private, unique experience that I certainly didn't expect to have at one of the most popular tourist destinations in Mexico! Our guide, Juan, was a treasure - he was incredibly knowledgeable and genuinely enthusiastic about the information he was sharing, and his personal stories of growing up in the area and playing baseball in the ancient ball court as a boy added a very personal touch. We could not have asked for a better Chichen Itza experience, and the hotel made all of that possible. We also ate incredibly well at the restaurant - despite being of Mexican descent and having traveled elsewhere in the country, Mayan food was a new and wonderful treat for me, and the dishes we had at the restaurant were just wonderful. I recommend the cucumber lime soup in particular!

My only comment to the hotel is that they could do more to advertise their spa to the guests. We wouldn't have had time to take advantage of it anyway, but there was no brochure about it in our room and I wouldn't have realized it was there if it wasn't in the name of the hotel! I'm sure it's lovely too - maybe next time!

Thanks for a wonderful visit - I hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

It is great when customers send us words of praise. We try our best to please our guests and it’s compliments like yours that help us go to work with a smile on our faces! Thank you for your preference, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Best wishes,
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Beautiful tropical setting. Accommodation scattered throughout the grounds. Like all/most visitors, our small group stayed overnight, so that we could visit Chichen Itza in the morning before the crowds and the heat. Fridge in room allowing room to keep some drinks. Bed comfortable, bathroom unusually designed but very good. Overall, room very well appointed.
Restaurant was good - reasonable menu choice, staff friendly and helpful.
Arranged a bird watching tour onsite which was with a local Mayan man that worked at the hotel. He is a great character who took us round the hotel grounds, pointing out birds and providing us with plenty of information about the Mayans, their history and their folk stories.
All of the staff that we encountered were friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank EgbertHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We are glad to know that everything went well during your stay in our hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us your sincere feedback.

We forward to continuing to serve you in a near future!

Sincerely,
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
310 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
469 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
342 reviews
23.9 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Chichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Chichen

Address: Carretera Merida-Puerto Juarez Km. 120 | Zona Hotelera de Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97752, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range: $142 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Chichen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly boutique hotel, the Hacienda Chichen is committed to sustainable tourism and is devoted to Mayan culture and local community welfare. The resort consciously promotes an eco friendly environment rooted in Mayan tradition, which presents guests with plenty of romantic charm. An ambiance of 'home away from home' welcomes the Hacienda Chichen guests. The property's close proximity to the adjourning Chichen Itza ruins is a major plus for those travelers wishing to avoid the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Chichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Chichen And Yaxkin Spa
Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Hacienda Chichen Yaxkin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing