We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true standout”
Review of Hacienda Chichen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Chichen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true standout”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I recently passed a few wonderful, relaxing and culturally enriching days at Hacienda Chichen, close to the Chichen Itza archaelogical site, enabling us to avoid big crowds that flock to that extraordinary place by the bus load. The hotel is really special, earning ticks of approval on virtually all fronts: the accommodation; food and dining area; delightful historic ambiance; the gardens and pool; staff service; and the ease and cheerfulness with which travel arrangements were made for us. As we were not driving, however, we found travel from Cancun to the hotel by bus a little problematical, finally deciding to take a taxi. thankfully, my wife is a native speaker of Spanish, so after much negotiation, we managed to agree on a fair price, similarly for the trip back to Cancun airport. We will recommend Hacienda Chichen to anyone contemplating travel in Mexico

Gary and Lida Lewis
Australia

Room Tip: Every semi-detached room seemed to have something good to recommend it, especially the ones hidden i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our beautiful hacienda. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our hotel property and service exceeded your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon!

With our thanks,
The Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    233
    83
    30
    11
See reviews for
167
375
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The rooms at Hacienda Chichen are cool, pleasant, and clean. The hotel was lovely: the rooms are semi-detached and each has a separate pathway to its door from the main path through the gardens. Our room was large with ample room to open two large suitcases. The air conditioning was effective- nice and cool after a warm day at the archaeological site. Well-designed and beautiful bathroom- shower had an ample supply of hot water.

We ate dinner and breakfast the next morning at the on-site restaurant, excellent Mexican-gourmet food, small wine list, but a fairly good list of cocktails. Advice: Be sure to make reservations for dinner, or you may find that there isn't a table. Best seats are on the veranda, overlooking the gardens.

The Hacienda is located close enough to the ruins so that you can get up early, have breakfast, and walk there for when Chichén-Itza opens. This is important because if you get there before the tour buses arrive, you almost have the place to yourself and can get some great shots of El Castillo without any people in front of it!

The gardens are beautiful, with huge shade trees and a variety of flowers in bloom.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a small suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeepleWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Chichen Resort. We are thrilled to know that you had a pleasant stay, and that you found our hotel a great, and charming place to stay close in Chichen Itza. We know there are many choices when travelling and your preference is much appreciated.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Hacienda Chichen Resort and Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We drove here from Cancun to stay one night so we could have Chichen Itza to ourselves in the morning. I would recommend this hotel, it was lovely. Gorgeous gardens and grounds and we had dinner & breakfast on a lovely balcony.

Room Tip: All the rooms were dotted around the beautiful gardens. We had a master suite…..lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your visit, it was truly a pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your nice feedback and your beautiful photos.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We came to this hotel from Hawaii in March with our 10 yr old daughter. From the moment we arrived we we're treated like family. After our late check in, they had our perfect dinner table waiting on the railing overlooking the beautiful grounds of this historic Hacienda.
Our suite was perfect for the family of 3, spacious, clean and very comfortable. The grounds of the Hacienda were lovely. The pool peaceful and inviting. The staff made our daughters 10th birthday very special by singing Happy Birthday in Mayan, Spanish and English, lovely. The location of the Hacienda could not have been better. We loved the accommodations so much, we are still talking about it months later and wondering when we can plan our next stay. Next time we are going to stay much longer. It's the staff that really made the difference and went out of there way to make us feel right at home. ~Aloha~

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Palipu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We can hardly express how happy we are to hear that everything was perfect in your stay, and that the friendly atmosphere you perceived from the moment you arrived at the hotel until the moment you left, made you feel right at home. Glad you liked the birthday surprise for your daughter. We will do our very best to continue to meet your expectations!

Thanks again! We look forward to serving you for many years to come.
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night with the aim of getting to the ruins when they opened at 8am. We arrived prior to check in and they were unable to accommodate an early check in. The front desk was very busy trying to check in multiple guests and deal with bills from the restaurant. Many people interrupted while we were trying to check in. It was very disorganised and we were left having to ask where can we wait until our room is ready? We were told the pool but given no indication of where it was. It was 40degrees and the pool area has no shade, the pool was also slimy and so not conducive to swimming. Despite the heat and the hotel being fully booked we only saw a couple of kids in there. We ended up in the restaurant where there were fans, the food was decidedly average. When we were able to pick up our room key we were asked to make a reservation for dinner and told we couldn't sit on the terrace because it was fully booked. I don't know what happened but when we turned up for dinner there was no-one there and they sat us on the terrace! The room itself (Pollack Suite) was nice and of good size. Decor a little tired and bed not that comfy. There was no TV or safe but there was a mini bar which would have been able to hold your own drinks. We walked easily to Chichen Itza that afternoon and managed to get in without a ticket - there was no one at the gate and we didn't actually realise we'd wandered in. The ruins are quiet in the late afternoon with fewer visitors. There are some shops near the entrance that sell souveniers and snacks. Back at the hotel the staff kindly provided us with a corkscrew and wine glasses. Dinner at the restaurant was better than lunch. Breakfast was also OK. We went to the ruins early and then back to the hotel to check out. Unfortunately our pick up wasn't until 3:30 this meant another 3.5 hours in 45 degree heat without anywhere really to wait. There is a small airconditioned library but it has a bad odour and is not pleasant and a terrace that has fans but is not cooling at 45degrees!!! If I had my time again I would not stay at Chichen Itza at all and just visit on a day trip and deal with the crowds. However, it may be a different experience if you do not have to wait so long in the heat pre and post check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your visit. It's a pity to hear that you didn't enjoy this incredible natural paradise, perhaps this was not the type of property you were looking for in Chichen Itza but, if you wish to visit us again, please allow yourself, the opportunity to experience all the beauty, magic, and authenticity that our Green Wellness hacienda offers, we are sure that you won't regret it!

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Last time we stayed at this hotel was 15 years ago and it's still as nice. A little oasis in the increasingly touristy destination of Chichen Itza. The food is delicious and the staff are so friendly. It was a great place to take our two kids.

Only comment that the spa was really nice, but overpriced for what it was. At those prices you expect a state of the art purpose built spa, but in this case they had simply converted a room. The treatment was great though and the ladies were so nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda_Chichen, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Chichen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We truly appreciate your comments, and we are grateful for the trust you have placed in us.
Please come back soon!

With much gratitude,
Hacienda Chichen Resort & Yaxkin Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A lovely boutique hotel just a few minutes stroll from the main ruins, allowing early access before the tour groups.

The rooms are fairly simple, but comfortable. The small terrace restaurant overlooks the very green garden, where woodpeckers and other birds going about their business can be seen. The food is not particularly cheap but very nice. We were too tired to go and find a less expensive option and once the food arrived were glad we had stayed put.

Walking past the other couple of hotels near the ruins we were very glad we had chosen the Hacienda - the others seemed bigger, less peaceful places.

We hired the hotel guide for an early morning bird walk, not the cheapest, but if you like birds then worth it. We saw parrots, orioles, motmots and lots of pygmy owls amongst others.

Would definitely stay again and just wish we had had the time to spend an extra night in order to have a quiet day by the nice pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerreauxEagleOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
452 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
313 reviews
23.9 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Chichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Chichen

Property: Hacienda Chichen
Address: Carretera Merida-Puerto Juarez Km. 120 | Zona Hotelera de Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza 97752, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichen Itza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Chichen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly boutique hotel, the Hacienda Chichen is committed to sustainable tourism and is devoted to Mayan culture and local community welfare. The resort consciously promotes an eco friendly environment rooted in Mayan tradition, which presents guests with plenty of romantic charm. An ambiance of 'home away from home' welcomes the Hacienda Chichen guests. The property's close proximity to the adjourning Chichen Itza ruins is a major plus for those travelers wishing to avoid the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Chichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Chichen & Yaxkin Hotel Chichen Itza
Hacienda Chichen And Yaxkin Spa
Hotel Hacienda Chichen Yaxkin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing