We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Chichen Itza
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience Chichen Itza
from $47.00
More Info
from $38.40
More Info
from $54.40
More Info
from $48.00
More Info
Reviews (24,885)
Filter reviews
24,885 results
Traveler rating
17,440
5,479
1,370
398
198
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17,440
5,479
1,370
398
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide seven wonders an umbrella playa del carmen ball court mayan culture bucket list toll road main pyramid buy souvenirs vendors selling bring water lots of water rented a car long trip hour drive amazing site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 24,885 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We bet the crowds and arrived before it opened, so we were very few people during the first couple of hours. Amazing area and very interesting history! A good guide is vital, to learn the most about the area! Not to be missed!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank expatDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just one more place ruined by Tourism, making a fast buck off of pigeons (no offense to the lovely birds!). Oh, the HORROR! The HORROR! I mean the horror of tourists flocking like birds to see Mayan ruins and a re-constructed Pyramid. Don't get me wrong. There is some worthwhile education here but like many famous National Parks in the U.S., tourism has ruined the enjoyment. Vendors adorn the site both inside and out trying to extract some nourishment from those who want to purchase proof of their visit, maybe to adorn a refrigerator with pretty magnet. There are hundreds of things to buy if not thousands. Me? Yep. I bought a nice little pipe. Heh! Heh! Heh! On the one hand it is great for the local Mayans to take what they can get from tourists. I mean, get while the getting's good, so the phrase goes. Same as you see at many National Parks in America, like I saw this past spring on a trip through the Southwest. And who can blame the Native Americans, mixed race or not? It's a bit difficult to enjoy this classic and famous remnant of a once highly developed civilization when vendors are hawking their wares in droves. It makes me feel a bit ill at ease. So, try to make the best of it. Hire a guide to learn something and try to retain a bit of information. Don't be shy about asking questions? Study up before you go, so at least you have some basic knowledge. And, there is a real gem nearby down the road returning back to Valladolid but I will keep that a secret here. Don't what the flocks to ruin this emerald!!!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Journey755877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is absolutely spectacular, but the people attending you at the entrance will try to rob you. They are very strict with what form of payment they take, and their attitude is horrific. If you go, make sure you are not being attended by this guy pictured.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank florini879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the 7 modern wonders of the world, this site is overflowing with visitors and vendors. We rented a car and it was a 3 hour drive from Playa Del Carmen. When we arrived at 1015, the parking lot was not full but it was full in the afternoon.

The pyramid is the main attraction but not the only one. Do not miss the two Cenotes, the big arena of Ullamaliztli(Aztec ball game) and the excellent temple of warriors.

I am giving this site 4 star because there are way too many vendors selling the same things. While the souvenirs look good, the constant hissing sounds from a toy, constant clapping by tour guides and other tourists dulls the experience a bit.

We spent four hours here including a very good lunch followed by a visit to the beautiful cenote nearby.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Gukki2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

spectacular archaeological zone, in the middle of the jungle, in the middle of the peninsula, a visit to the past of the
Mayan world, don't just visit the castle, there are other ancient palaces worthy of being admired

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank LuisArmandrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews