We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Chichen Itza
from $47.00
More Info
from $54.40
More Info
from $38.40
More Info
from $48.00
More Info
Reviews (24,935)
Filter reviews
24,935 results
Traveler rating
17,469
5,495
1,373
398
200
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17,469
5,495
1,373
398
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide seven wonders an umbrella playa del carmen ball court mayan culture bucket list toll road main pyramid buy souvenirs vendors selling bring water lots of water rented a car long trip hour drive amazing site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 24,935 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

spectacular archaeological zone, in the middle of the jungle, in the middle of the peninsula, a visit to the past of the
Mayan world, don't just visit the castle, there are other ancient palaces worthy of being admired

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank LuisArmandrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Chichen Itzu was very educational and interesting. We had a fabulous guide with a wealth of information. We had plenty of time to wander and explore after the tour. A CD with information was offered for sale with pictures and information not received on the tour. We can no longer climb the ruins and it is roped off due to vandalism. There are vendors every where that can be a bit bothersome.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank DebrahB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We have always wanted to visit Chichen Itza and now we have. It was one of those places youwant to visit from the time you read anything about it. To see something that is so old and full of history was amazing. It is a trip that will take your breath away when you see it. The trip from the cruise ship was long, but very worth it. The driver and guide were very knowledgable and friendly. The only downside is all the venders trying to sell items, but I understand they are just trying to make a living. We even bought a few things to bring home. This is definately a trip that should be taken if you are able.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank VARetiredAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

The ruins and history is absolutely fascinating. Doing a bit of research before hand to get up to date on the history of the Maya gave me a better appreciation for the site.

For what it is - 5 stars. Have to remove a star for the absolutely insane amount of hustlers trying to aggressively sell their souvenirs. While I believe supporting local economies is great, we simply could not walk around the ruins and enjoy the experience without being interrupted every minute.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank polonium11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We had a very informative tour guided by a young man named Jonathan. We were hooked up with him from our hotel, Hotel Arqueologica. I suppose you could check with that desk to see if he was still available for you. I don't know what we can say about the ruins that hasn't been said. It was awesome walking around and seeing the fruits of labor of these obviously very intelligent people from centuries ago. A must see!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews