We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Chichen Itza
from $50.00
More Info
from $70.00
More Info
from $64.50
More Info
from $54.00
More Info
Reviews (22,680)
Filter reviews
9,649 results
Traveler rating
6,533
2,257
571
197
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,533
2,257
571
197
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide seven wonders an umbrella playa del carmen mayan culture ball court toll road buy souvenirs main pyramid bucket list vendors selling lots of water long trip rented a car bring water hour drive amazing site
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 9,649 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Before you buy one of those pricey excursions. Go to the Ado bus website and see if a bus leaves from close to your hotel. Definitely get a guide you need the history.

Roundtrip from Tulum 2.5 hours
476 pesos
$24 USD

Entrance was under 300 pesos $15 USD

You can take food in. Freeze some bottled water/juices from your hotel. Theres a restaurant on site and store. Theres lots of art vendors inside. Whatever price they tell you divide by 3. Don’t go above it. Stand firm walk away to the next if they don’t budge. You have plenty of options.

Thank martinaj751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The Maya city of Chichen Itza was a lovely day out from Cancun, seeing the amazing Step Pyramid was awesome and there’s a number of other sites there including one of the largest ancient Maya ball game courts in South America, where when played back in the day the losing team Captain would also lose his head!!!...all explained to us by our Tui guide in the pictures/wall hieroglyphs!
We also visited a traditional Maya village and they were truly lovely welcoming people who still speak in the Mayan dialect, they have and own very little in material things and only had water and gas piped into their village over a year ago, yet they seem to want for nothing and live such stress free lives!!
But the day hasn’t ended yet as we were then taken to a cave to swim inside the cave Canota waters which was so exhilarating, the whole day was excellent and most importantly none of it felt rushed.
Full marks to the TUI rep who was so informative!!
All in all a great day!!

Thank DJKJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Wow... everything I thought it would be and more. The temples.. the playing field, the carvings.. it was just magical. I wish it was available to be seen privately with no one else present in total quiet to take in the complete grandeur of the place. It such a marvel of the world, but yet.. with so many people and ofcourse I was one of them, and the vendors surrounding the perimeter.. does take away from the presence of ... what I cant explain. It was just awesome but wanted to experience so much more of it.
It's worth seeing.

1  Thank MuskokaMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Imagine hordes of people congregating on the lawns between the great pyramid or any of the other sites; or taking in a game at the stadium. Magestic. For viewing only, not climbable with limited information. Lots of visitors.

Thank 346ronp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Chichen Itza was such an awesome and interesting place to visit. Not only you learned about Mayan culture and architecture, you will be awed with what the Mayans knew back then. The only negative part of this attraction was the intense heat and sun shining on your head. A hat and adequate hydration a must! I thoroughly enjoyed the tour but was not impressed with the included Mayan buffet. I’m pretty sure Mayans did not have frozen vegetables (broccoli) and pesto spaghetti back then. Lol. Plus drinks are not included with the buffet so be prepared to pay 45 pesos for a coke that’s smaller than the size of a can (or just bring lots of water!!)

1  Thank donnapiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I toured Chichen Itza, booked through Cancun Discounts and was very pleased. It was around $45 on sale for a 14 hour day that included lunch, and many extras. While most of the tours are a bit shorter this one takes back roads and stopped in several Mayan towns to view historic sites, churches etc. The bus had 2 guides and a Mayan student on board. The guides were Mayan but spoke perfect English and Spanish as well, as the group was mixed. At Chichen Itza we were turned over to a knowledgeable and entertaining active archeologist who participated in many years of excavation work at the site. On the way we had a buffet lunch and a Mayan ceremony at an agricultural coop. After Chichen Itza they stopped for a swim in a sinkhole park, and one last historic church in the evening before our return. If you ignore the endless souvenir salesman at Chichen it was a great trip. You will be exhausted at the end of the day, but don’t miss it!

1  Thank spacepilot500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

My husband and I attended this tour this week. We were part of a tour that came from Cancun. If you book The Tour expect to be gone from 7 a.m. till about 8 p.m. The bus ride there and back is 3 hours each way but we booked through Thomas More excursions and the bus played movies during the trip to keep the kids entertained. Our tour guides Carlos and Jesus were amazing! On the way there they gave presentations about the culture of the Mayans and then at the actual site explains a lot about the layout of the temples. Also be prepared to tip them. The cost of the Excursion does not include tips like with other vendors.

If you are traveling with children be sure to bring them something to do while at the ruins. While my husband and I found the cultural history amazing, our children were too young to understand. So just bring them something to be entertained if you're traveling with a tour group since everyone has to stay together.

Also, be prepared that there are hundreds of souvenir vendors inside the gates. Be warned that the majority of their merchandise is imported and not locally made. Your tour guide should be able to help you if you have questions about souvenirs.

Bring lots of water, sunscreen and snacks. It is a very long day!

Thank 716jenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Maybe I was templed out, I've visited some outstanding ones, Uxmal, Palenque, Monte Alban, Tonina, Yaxchian - this place wasn't a patch on any of them. The thing that totally ruins the place though is the huge, tourist market place throughout the site, it totally detracts from the site and the ruins. We went early to avoid the crowds but it was still a nightmare, a tourist hell hole. The charge for entry was expensive by Mexican standards and I thought the site wasn't kept in good order, for example trees, grasses growing out of the ruins.

We didn't get a guide at the site, maybe getting one and hearing more about the history would have been a better experience.

If you love markets and places where the are loads of tourists you'll love this place. If you can't stand that stuff you'll hate it. Give it a miss and go to a far better site!

1  Thank donnamgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

The guide Siw was very knowledgable and with a background in Archeology it is a bonus. The drive time to the pyramids in only 2 hours but the pick up's for all the hotels add on an hour.

The guided tour was amazing a suggestion would be to allow people to take pictures whilst the explanation is happening as the time at the main pyramid is limited to 45/60 mins. Some of the vendors do accept credit card but make sure you have 15mins to pay as the internet connection does take a while.

The vendors are the Mayans who use to live there and it is there only source of income. There is a Cenote too if you get a chance to go to the end its a must do.

One handy tip if your a vegetarian please take some snacks and food with you the food at the Centoe where you swim is a traditional Mayan meal and i didn't particularly like it.

Another suggestion would be for the guide to let everyone sleep as much in the morning as it is an early morning start and to give her explanation after the pit stop.

Thank Hina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The ruins were incredible. How things were built and the purpose for why they were built makes you understand how advanced they were in their time. As the stories were told, I could truly imagine being there.

Thank dlmurphy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews