We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chichen Itza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chichen Itza

Chichen Itza
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chichen Itza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was the second Mayan ruin we visited, but by far the best. We booked our day trip through Amstar. The tour bus was cool and comfortable and our tour guides were so knowledgeable and spoke very good english. After touring the ruins we had a Mayan feast that was delicious and included native entertainment. Following our meal we were driven to a nearby Cenote The Cenote was 65 feet deep and absolutely beautiful. We were able to swim in it which was very refreshing and a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this trip. It is well worth your time and money to visit Chichen Itza when visiting the Mayan Riviera.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,921
    4,086
    949
    265
    105
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A truly amazing place, we had a guided bus tour from Cancun and his knowledge was phenomenal. Stopped for lunch at a Mayan village, and had great food - although I understand that it maybe a little spicy for some! Swimming in a senote was a great experience, and that's all before we got to the site.
The pyramids and buildings are enormous, and mostly in great shape. Make sure you get a guide here - there's so much to learn!
A once in a lifetime experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastiv site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

It is a wonderful site and well worth the trip. Go there early! We drove in to the parking lot at 8.15 and thought we had missed something because it was empty. We walked through most of the site with only a few other tourists there. When we left at noon there was a 30 m line for the bathroom and packed with buses.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Chichen Itza & Flavio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great time. Flavio was awesome, the ruins were awesome, the infomation was awesome the exras were awesome. Not a singe bad thing to say...except there are too many venders at Chichen Itza... but besides that enjoyed it all!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank live2strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“WAY TOO COMMERCIALIZED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a very long day. The tour was not well planned out. We left at 7:00 a.m. and they did not stop for lunch until almost 3:00 p.m. Everyone was very tired, hungry and hot.
There were several stops along the way ...some unscheduled for markets where the tour guide was obviously getting commissions for stopping the bus there.
By the time we got to the actual grounds, every one was exhauseted.
And we were only given an hour of free time to raom after the guide took us on the tour. The tour itself was very good which is why I rated this a 4. Lots of history and explanations of the Mayan culture. But everytime you turned around they were trying to sell you something else. MARKETS everywhere....which IMO ruins..the ruins.
Another good part to this tour was the stop for a swim in a cenote...very welcome reprieve of the humidity and heat.
I would not do this again and have told friends when they go to the area to do Tulum or other ruin sites...less travel, less commercialism, and you still get great Mayan history.
Others in my group enjoyed this...they were people who enjoyed shopping and very commercialized tours...this tour is not for people who like nature and history unspoiled...or at least not super commercialized.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cdngal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichen Itza also viewed

Chichen Itza, Yucatan
Chichen Itza, Yucatan
 

Been to Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing