We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never expected to see this before I died!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kukulcan Pyramid

Kukulcan Pyramid
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.00*
and up
Chichen Itza by Night and Day: Archaeologist-Led Tour, Lunch and Light and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This impressive pyramid dominates Chichén Itzá's landscape, standing an imposing 24 meters high.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Never expected to see this before I died!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was remarkable and it's always a special treat to add culture to any vacation. I think this location, though inland and not a short trip from Playa del Carmen, is incredible!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pamsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,193
    340
    58
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is just amazing. it is really breathtaking to see it, hear it (the buzz when you clap...) and learn the history.
we took the tour as part of a group, but we left then after the pyramid because it was too much for us. I think it is not necessary to take a tour guide, anything can be found on the site on on the web, and you can see whatever you like as long as you want.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Technology of the old world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

These pyramids are awesome, but you don't get to climb them unfortunately. The site is magnificent, especially if you have a great guide like we did. The observatory and mural of the dragon are a must see. As is the games court.
The only down side are thge vendors constantly running after you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SashSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A World Class Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Situated on a huge area, the structure is breathtaking! On one side, half was left in its original form, and the other half was rehabilitated by archeologists. The steps seen were uneven and of differing widths. We were not allowed on the pyramid for this reason.

This is a highly visited site, so don't expect to get a picture with just the Pyramid in its glory.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Top 10 things you need to know before hand...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I love the ruins of Mexico.
We just toured around the Yucatan / Campeche areas in January, visiting all the ruins we could, including the biggies like Coba, Tulum, and Calakmul. Needless to say I was very much looking forward to seeing one of the planets wonders.
The first thing you should know, is to get there first thing in the morning. Any time after the tour buses arrive, and you will be fighting for room EVERYWHERE in the park.
Next, is parking. Don't be afraid to bring a car into the park, as there is plenty of parking, and security patrols that will roam around protecting the cars. You will pay a parking fee for this, but it is well worth it. Some free parking is available down the access road, but this is a long way from the entrance and not secure at all.
Getting a ticket can be a tedious process. The lines are long if you get there late (like we did) and each bus load of 100 tourists will mean at least 40 minutes in the line for a ticket.
When you get your ticket, note that there are 2 prices advertised on the board. One price is for the basic entry, and the other lesser price looks like an add on (which we thought was optional, maybe for a guide??? There is no explanation for what this applies to) we just bought the basic ticket for 2, and then when we went to present them at the gate to gain access (after waiting in a long line twice now) . At this point we discovered that the "extra option" is actually a mandatory charge for the national archeological department to help them fund restoration and excavations throughout Mexico. The ticketing person does not speak English, did not explain that this was a mandatory cost, and meant yet another wait in a long line to buy the "extra" charge.
Once you have your tickets, make a bee line straight for the entry, and be aware, pushy bus drivers will jump past you to get their tours straight to the front of the line as some sort of privilege. Do not let them. If you do, you and everyone else will slide back down the line by at least 100 places!
My advice at this point is to make a sort of block with the people you are traveling with and do not let anyone past!
Bathrooms are also at the ticketing area, as is a museum that was not open on the day we arrived. Really the whole place seems very disorganized, and forewarned is forearmed.
Once inside the park, you will be delighted to see some of the best kept ruins Mexico has to offer. However, depending on the time you arrive, you may find yourself in some ancient Disneyland kind of place, with 5,000 or more other tourists! We arrived around 11am in January, and felt like ants being moved along with the flow of tourists.
You will enter the park down a long wide pathway, with vendors trying to sell you everything from wooden skeletons, to nicely carved jaguars, as well as T shirts and blankets. A this point you will have a hundred offers for personal tour guides, at varying prices. we did not use a guide, but managed to overhear all the other groups guides at each stop. I'm not sure I would recommend a guide as they are expensive unless you travel in a large group (we were just the 2 of us). I don't feel we missed out on anything to be honest.
Once you have come to the end of the entry path, you will immediately see the imposing figure of the main pyramid. Boy it is impressive, and very closed off. You are not allowed to climb this one, and tourists are encouraged to keep well back.
Surrounding this main structure, are the many minor structures that made up the city all those hundreds of years ago. It really is a very impressive attraction, but just spoiled a bit by the disorganization of the administration, the many hawkers selling their wares and shouting at you, and the sheer number of tourists flooding the place. I can imagine it would be one of the eeriest places on the earth with no one in it! I for one would love to see that!
Food is available at a kiosk located by the large sacrificial ceynote, with a few tables to sit at. You won't get a meal, but snacks are fine.
We spent about 2 hours in the park, and felt this was definitely enough. We managed to see everything, bought a couple of souvenirs, and found our way out (make a note of the direction you came in, relative to the main structure, as all the corners of the park look the same!).
Leaving was a much easier process, with a quick picture at the gate on the way out, into the car, straight out down the side road and off to Cancun.
All in all, a great sight to see, it really was only spoiled by the huge number of people and the overly commercial of the "in your face" vendors. Very highly recommended but pick your time...!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank KiwiKirkNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kukulcan Pyramid also viewed

Chichen Itza, Yucatan
Chichen Itza, Yucatan
 
Chichen Itza, Yucatan
 

Been to Kukulcan Pyramid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing