We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Arqueologicas Chichen Itza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Villas one night so that we could see the night show at Chichen Itsa and beat the tour buses to the ruins the next day. This hotel really fit the bill. I loved the quiet and the small hotel feel. It was a nice change from the huge resort where we were staying in Playa del Carmen. The rooms were charming, squeaky clean and nicely updated. It was an easy walk to the ruins and we were able to tour in the early morning before the heat and the crowds arrived. We enjoyed the pool and the open air restaurant. Unfortunately, the light show at the ruins was closed for repairs. That was disappointing, but everything else exceeded our expectations. I didn't miss having WI-FI or TV for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizbeth49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 774 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the villas one night, for our visit to the ruins. We based our vacation around Merida, and did not want to make the Chichen Itza ruins a day trip. We arrived around four pm and were informed that the light show at the ruins were not happening that evening for some reason... that was disappointing.
So we pretty much just hung out at the hotel, which appears to cater primarily to tour groups and buses, and Club Med. The food was just OK. My biggest gripes: No coffee service in the lobby or the restaurant and none in the room. And the wireless was a complete joke, virtually useless. When I finally managed to connect it was too slow to bother with anything other than email.
The best part: we were able to walk to the ruins in about ten minutes and were the very first ones through the gates the next morning, so we had pretty much an unobstructed view of the ruins and grounds until the first tour buses started arriving about 10:30 am. Got some great shots. And the checkout was at 1pm, so we had time for a leisurely walk back to the hotel for showers before we hit the road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent choice if you want to staid calm and just walk to see the chicken itza ruins.
But to calm for middle 30 people.
Pool need improve with cleanness
Rooms doesn't have wifi.
Comfy rooms but no tv no phone.
You don't have to stay just pay for a trip from you come.
Nice people but doesn't take care of you If you need a drink or have some food practically have to go inside the restaurant and ask it.
Prices are ok!. Food ok! Good value thought

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urdanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and sister/brother-in-law in December, for one night. The hotel in itself is lovely, and very conveniently located, just a short walk to the rear entrance of Chichen Itza. This allows you to skip the crowds altogether! The rooms are nice and quaintly done up. The hotel has a pool as well, which we didn't use.

The food, however, was awful. We ate lunch and dinner at the hotel, pretty much because there is no other option in the area. You could go across the street to the fancier hotel, but you must have reservations (which we didn't).

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel, if only for the cleanliness and the location, especially if you are staying just one night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurfette17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice location in easy walking distance to impressive Chichen-Itza and that's what makes this hotel ok.
It's very dated and our room smells musty and wasn't completely clean. It feels slightly cramped and it could in general do with a general refurbishment all over. Pool and bar/restaurant area looks nice and the hotel have potential to become really nice.
Food in the restaurant is nothing to speak of, very bland and expensive for what you get.
I'm disappointed with this hotel and expected more.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A little more expensive than we prefer, this is a nice hotel. The staff is not very outgoing, but not rude, either. The atmosphere is very nice, the rooms are pleasant (we got a family suite) and although we did not eat at the restaurant we regret not doing so, the food looked good and the prices are reasonable. Access to the ruins is easy. The light show at night is not running at this time, I do not know if they plan to restart it. I recommend going right at 8:00 am to the ruins, we were the first ones there and had the place essentially to ourselves for an hour. The lighting is best early in the day and late in afternoon. We were fine without a tour, had some brief descriptions in a guide book and used our imaginations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VT_Herring_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, the staff is very nice, but the food is average, and costs way to much. This whole region feels like a big rip off. It's nice to be so close to Chichen Itza and great to get to the ruins so early before the crowds. But a cab ride into town costs 7$ each way and its only 3 miles away. The locals only pay 2$. There isn't much to do in town, but the they're are more options for typical local food at local prices. The food at the hotel is way overpriced (almost $40 each person for a small not delicious meal!) it's like they served us buffet food at gourmet prices. 3$ coronas? I get those cheaper at hotels at home. Very bummed about the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichen Itza
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
469 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
206 reviews
23.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Arqueologicas Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Arqueologicas Chichen Itza

Address: Km 120 Carretera Merida Valladolid Piste Tinum, Chichen Itza 97751, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chichen Itza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chichen Itza
Price Range: $47 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Arqueologicas Chichen Itza 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Arqueologicas Chichen Itza is located 74 miles from Merida and 124 miles from Cancun Airport, is set in a beautiful area of lush vegetation within easy walking distance of one of the new seven wonders of the world.​Villas Chichen Itza is situated at the rear entrance to the archaeological site, within a small enclave of three hotels. A walk from our Hotel in Chichen Itza to the ruins takes less than ten minutes and enables guests to take advantage of the cool mornings and explore the archaeological site before the majority of visitors arrive in the afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villas Arqueologicas Chichen Itza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Arqueologicas Chichen Itza Hotel Chichen Itza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing